-
Iluka 26th June- 11th July
Hello all heading down to iluka for two weeks from 26th June , taking the boat and wondering if anyone could give me any advice on where to go, what time to fish, what lures/sp's to use and the likes. will be mainly chasing bream, flathead, tailor and anything else around. also if theres been many crabs being caught. any help would be great......
-
Re: Iluka 26th June- 11th July
Mate best bet is to drop into dizzys tackle on the way into town, if the fish are around they will let you know where what and how, its in their best interest you catch fish.
This time of year all headlands will have tailor they respond to pillies and slugs/hardbodies/sp's you can cast from the rocks from a boat or troll all work well bonito will respond if they are around too. Dont be afraid to fish between 9am and 12pm you dont always need to be there at dawn and dusk. The wall will fish well for bream and tailor try both sides.
Night time will bring the bigger tailor onto the beaches/headlands, fishing the walls in the river is good this time of year for bream and jew using cut bait live mullet or even sp's.
Fishing off Woody head is usually quite good at this time of year with sp's for snapper the usual colours work here lots of people use nuclear chook but most of the usual colours work ok, floating a pillie or a livey while there may attract a pelagic as there can still be some hanging around.
Do see the people in the shop they are helpful and you dont need to buy anything to ask questions if the info is good you will buy something the next time.
-
Thanks johnlikes2fish will be sure to call into dizzys. also are there many fish around further up the river and along the beach......
-
Hi you can fish up to Mclean and through the waterways around Yamba and in the fresh along the Esk there is heaps to explore the river has lots of rock walls drop offs holes etc, most people start at Collis wall or Middle wall these are great spots for bream and jew as well as flatties, all the beaches between Iluka Beach and Evans Head (along Shark bay) hold fish just look for gutters holes exposed rock etc. Fishing the beaches will return bream (big baits) tailor (cut bait gar or pillie as well as slugs poppers and hardbodies) and jew (live mullet, luderick or tailor lures of all kinds).
The key to Iluka is to fish to the conditions there are so many options if I dont catch fish one way I move or change species, when the longtail werent on this season we switched to bream fishing and got up to 50 fish a session with the good fish in the 800g-1.2kg range.
I will be there around that time if you feel like catching up for a fish or chat get in touch.