Tailor Dawn Or Dusk - Page 2

Thread: Tailor Dawn Or Dusk

Re: Tailor Dawn Or Dusk

Hey Lindsay,
    Have the bait crew(Drew,Cedrick etc) had any action up your way prior to last week. Have not had news of their activities(or yours) for quite a while.
    Cheers Stevo !!

Good evening all,

I've finally gotten round to getting a Bribie beach permit again and was thinking about running down the outside a ways in search of some tailor this weekend.

Any news or experience with fishing that part of the world?

At this stage I'm open to heading out for a dawn or a dusk patrol so I'm happy to take any advice or suggestions.

Btw - can't believe the weather today, and by the look of things tomorrow will be even better - if only there wasn't bills to pay I'd be out there till my clothes fell off my back.

Anyway, thanks in advance, and thanks for the replies regarding salting - very helpful.

G'day Steve,

Good luck with them, I heard tailor are coming on at Caberita, there should be some greenbacks making their way up.

I'm definitely going to buy a second hand 4WD for beach work, dont want a new one.

What tyres are good for beach and general road wear?

Peter,

Don't do much beach work - in fact can't remember the last time I've been off the black-top.

My pajero is on its second set of standard bridgestone dueller H/L and I can't fault them on the road as far as road noise, grip and wear (~60K).

I'm sure there are hard-core 4wd people all over the country cringing at the thought, but as I said, I'm not really all that often on the beach.

Not sure if it does but hope this helps.

No worries Steve, its all good,

Good luck with tailor hunting

Go night time if you can mate.

The most success for me has been in the early evening, and at first light on the sunshine coast. But i have caught heaps on fraser in the late morning.
    I prefer good flesh bait at night, a Slab of fresh mullet, or whole poddy mullet, butterflied if dead. However a few mangled pillies in the gutter can act as berley early in the evening.

There was bugger all caught on the spit area on Thursday night and only a dozen tailor caught on the sand pumping jetty same night from the period of 4.00pm to 3.30am then I went home with 2 bream.

I've been religiously attacking tailor and bream for about a year now on the beach. I've found that although the dawn service is a big part of the religious experience, for me it's not necessarily when you catch the most tailor. Often they come on a little later -- could depend on the tide, whether or not there's red weed floating aroung (which they hate getting in their gills [apparently]), the current, if there's bait fish around -- whatever. But one thing I've noticed about the early birders is that they'll often leave an hour after dawn if they don't catch anything -- and I stay and come home with the fish.

Stevo, not really much of anything being caught off this beach on lure or bait. I think I've caught one chopper since xmas and the bait guys that leave 3 or 4 rods in rod holders all night are only finding 1 or 2 choppers at best. Heard of numbers of tailor being caught one night north of Teewah a couple of weeks ago that were all 3kg, but size and quantity haven't been verified.
    Has been a lot of complaints about the lack of tailor here the last 2 - 3 years and the lack of fish generally - largely because there is a general lack of fish.

Good to see the netters are on the beach at last - wouldn't want any cats getting hungry.

Cheers Linds, you will have to come down this way and give it a burl mate, there has been a few round the Goldy and northern NSW on bait and lure, tides are looking good for Wednesday onwards through the weekend.
    Cheers Steve R !!

I'll be fishing Monday arvo from 3.00pm to get my spot and stay until 2.00am or stay until 6.00am

Bream and hopefully tailor to be had.

It's definately afternoon/evening for me on a rising tide.

I've caught hundreds of tailor in the past and I reckon 98% of them have been caught late arvo. The rising tide seems to be preferable.

Maybe that 98% is due to the fact that I'm not an early riser & prefer the evening shift.

When targeting tailor I fish with two rods, in rod holders a few metres apart.
    I usually hold one rod & keep an eye on the other.

I have a hole dug in the sand up the beach near my gear and if/when I get tailor I bleed them immediately & leave'em head first in the hole.

I whack the fillets off before leaving the beach then I skin'em when I get home.

I carry a thin chopping board in my tackle bag & when the filleting time comes I scrape up a bit of a sand castle & press the board firmly onto it - makes an improvised table.

I like to carry some frozen WA pillies with me in a small esky. By the time I'm ready to fillet the tailor the pillies are mostly finished. So the fillets have room in the esky for the trip home.

Too easy...
    "...a voice in my head keeps telling me to go fishing..."