Thread: jewfish in the day

jewfish in the day

any chance of gettin one in the day and on what squidgies

Re: jewfish in the day

Having tried, unsuccessfully for jewies during the day myself, I have the following two stories.

Fellow Lennox teacher. North Wall, 2 hours after sunrise and 2 hours after high tide. Jarvis Walker cheapie 12ft combo. 15lb line and 25lb leader. 4"soft plastic.
    Hooks jewie. runs 200m. Comes in runs 40m. comes in. Mate tries to follow it to pull it in on a wave. Loses sight. Wave washes jewie up on the rocks in front of him.

Another mate, Andrew. 10ft graphite spin/Penn 850/25lb/50lb trace. On crutches after keyhole surgery to knee. Casts lure from top of North Wall. 5pm, mid-tide. Good fight after the jewie takes hard body fished under boiling white foam in bright sunshine. 19kg fish landed.

My best was 4 kg on a bream rig with 2/0 and Woolies banana prawn. Slow and the Alvey reel handles gave my knuckles a good bash on the first run.

Regards, Rob.
    Ballina.

Got a couple of nice ones during the day.
    Squidgies 110mm paddle tails.

I got 2 at around 10am in the morning in the passage a few weeks back, one went 95cm and the other was 60cm, got them on SP right on low tide. Both still swimming to catch again another day....

I pulled a 25lber in the Noosa River on a small bibless minnow at about 4.30pm

got the one in my avatar on 7 inch nuke chook at around midday off the goldy.

Would love to achieve this, I've never caught one on a line after 7 am though.
    Plastics or lures seem to be the go!
    Got a few on the spear tho!
    I'd be concentrating on areas of relatively quiet water at tide changes.

Got one 12-15kg or thereabouts in the brissie right on midday on a white atomic 7" jerkshad it was the same day schapelle corby was sentenced heard the verdict on the radio while fighting the fish. will post a piccie tonight.

Cheers Lochie