Cooper STs V Goodyear wrangler MTRs 31/10.5x15

View Poll Results: Cooper STs v Goodyear MT/Rs

Voters
20. You may not vote on this poll
  • Cooper ST

10 50.00%
  • Goodyear Wrangler MT/R

4 20.00%
  • None of the above....something better, but why???

6 30.00%

Thread: Cooper STs V Goodyear wrangler MTRs 31/10.5x15

Cooper STs V Goodyear wrangler MTRs 31/10.5x15

Need two new tyres for the GQ wagon, have done some research and these seem to be all that is on the market $300 and sub that should suit (that I found anyway) there is just $10 per tyre between the two. Not after a true mudder just something relatively capable enough allround and has a strong sidewall, the patrol is no sports car on the tar or anywhere actually.

Another option was the bfgoodrich's but overall they seem to suit more the lighter 4wds more than the fuller sized ones.

Any comments welcome,

Re: Cooper STs V Goodyear wrangler MTRs 31/10.5x15

the ST Coopers IMHO cut the sand too much, worst tyre I have ever driven on sand, also tore several lugs off edge of rear tyre reversing up a rock face with no wheel spin

I stll like the Cooper ATR's in the LT version, excellent wearing tyre

looking at the BFG for my next set ???? Pootrol wagon

cheers Murf

In the road going tyres the 16" tyres are stronger than 15's.

I don't understand the BFG line??

Do you have a hercules dealer? Their terra tracs are getting a good name in the industry for sidewall strength and general durability offroad.

Hi FNQ

Had a buddy with the Coopers fitted and he was disappointed with there alround performance and wear rate.He had them on a vehicle that was always serviced at the right intervals inc rotations, alignments and balances etc.

Hope this helps.

GO THE BLUES !!!!!!!!!!!

DoNotFeedTheTrollsAandBelligerent

Bridgestone Desert Dueller 604V LT's or Pirelli Scorpion A/Ts.
    Not too aggresive, excellent on the sand or the blacktop.
    Just a couple of options, I used to think Wranglers were the best tyre 15-20 years ago but wouldn't choose them now.

4wd mag did a big test on Muddies.

I have always used Coopers, but the Goodyear MTR came out on top in my book because of the 7 ply tread and 3 ply sidewall. Very very puncture proof.

IF ya in the mud, ya usually in the bush, bush means sticks......

all IMO.

phill

i have 285 mickey Thompson MTZ like the step down from the directional claw (fully blown muddy)...can't fault them yet, but in 265's on 16's they make an ATZ which is a little more aggressive all terrain very nice looking tyre, a mate has them on and can't say a bad word about them, they have a 10 play side wall and minor side lugs which most less aggressive tyres do not offer and he hasn't torn any lugs or tread yet, and neither have i with the full muds. about the same amount of $ for what i think is a better tyre.

Seen lugs ripped off the coppers, can't speak for the Wranglers, but can speak highly of the BFGoodrich, MT and AT's. My personal vehicle has the AT's, but it has a relatively easy life. My preference in based on the fact they both AT and MT are used on the work vehicles (all landcruiser wagons and traybacks). They are absolutely flogged, regularly driven on sharp broken rock. They are the only LV tyre used on site, can only be impressed by their durability. So that combined with competitive price, I paid 335ea (fitted) for 265's, is the asis of my opinion.

Smile Re: Cooper STs V Goodyear wrangler MTRs 31/10.5x15

Quote Originally Posted by rhycebullimore View Post
    i have 285 mickey Thompson MTZ like the step down from the directional claw (fully blown muddy)...can't fault them yet, but in 265's on 16's they make an ATZ which is a little more aggressive all terrain very nice looking tyre, a mate has them on and can't say a bad word about them, they have a 10 play side wall and minor side lugs which most less aggressive tyres do not offer and he hasn't torn any lugs or tread yet, and neither have i with the full muds. about the same amount of $ for what i think is a better tyre.
    Yep,Mickey Thompson ATZ's are as good as any. No complaints here.

A mate recently put some Goodyear Wranglers on his Troop Carrier - thought he was getting a real bargain at $150 each,but when he got home he noticed they had made in China written on the sidewall.

I'm not sure if all Goodyear Wranglers are made in China,but some of thier tyres certainly are.

Im running Mickey Thompson ATZ 4 Rib. One of the more aggressive all terrains on the market. They also make a 5 Rib which is similar but has a centre rib for better on road handling.
    I havnt had them too lond but so far have found them awesome, very good on road, and great in mud and on rocky tracks. Obviously not as good on the sand as a highway terrain.

Thanks all for the replies, seems there is a far greater range of decent tyres out there than I thought, seems that at my level of understanding it's virtually impossible to feel sure I made the wisest choice.

The BFGoodrich something or other is back in as an option now, shouldn't listen to salesmen or at least I shouldn't repeat it.

My biggest problem is lack of competition up here, only one dealer sells mickey thompson, same dealer sells coopers, no one sells procomp etc etc

back tothe start again

thanks fnq

Well i'll go against the grain and say " Stay the bloody hell away from BFG at's !!!!" I have staked and rocked 3 of these and my mate done 2 of his in half an hour! This is the reason i went to the cooper stt's now i haven't destroyied one of these yet but have ripped plenty of luggs off , and i took abit of doing. They have problems though with balance and i'm about to change to some cooper st's to solve this i hope! I'll let you know the results in 3 or 4 weeks!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

I am happy with Wrangler MT/R's.

I have my second set of Good Year Wrangler MT/R's.
    Clocked 100000km on the last ones before they needed replacing.
    Good idea when purchasing new is to get a road hazard warranty from the dealer.
    This usually costs about $14 per tyre extra.
    If your trash a tyre beyond repair the dealer works out how much life/milage is left in the damaged tyre and takes the value off the cost of a new tyre.

Have a Patrol with BFG At's,, so far done 50 thou klms on them and reckon ill easily get another 20-30 out them without taking the mickey...been impressed with them
    Tangles KFC

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time View Post
    Well i'll go against the grain and say " Stay the bloody hell away from BFG at's !!!!" I have staked and rocked 3 of these and my mate done 2 of his in half an hour! This is the reason i went to the cooper stt's now i haven't destroyied one of these yet but have ripped plenty of luggs off , and i took abit of doing. They have problems though with balance and i'm about to change to some cooper st's to solve this i hope! I'll let you know the results in 3 or 4 weeks!

I too had heaps of issues getting Cooper ATR's and ST's balanced (3 separate sets on diff vehicles), one of the reasons for looking elsewhere

on the ATR's on the hilux he had to balance the alloy rims first then put the tyres back on and rebalance was it tyres or rims????

cheers Murf