Slow trip

Thread: Slow trip

Slow trip

hey guys
    went out yesterday, we left at 9pm on friday night to beat the rush at the ramp, we pulled up on adelaide at 11pm had a fish for a while caught 4 nice trickys and then tryed to have a sleep but the land breeze was blowing about 15knts so with all the slaping on the boat didnt get much sleep.
    at 5am we started to head over to potter reef to fish mark X, which is a area were theres lots of nice bombys in 34 to 28m, the first drop was a nice bomby in 32m it came up to 26m then droped, on this one bomby we caught 6 trickys and 6 trought, 4 of which were over 60cm jason even caught his pb trout at 68cm.
    at 10am it was time to find another bomby,and after this first bomby hopes were high for a good day. thats when it all hapened the motor wouldnt start so i checked the fuel filter and the motor was geting heaps of fuel i got it started but it was runing sick it couldnt even pull the anchor off the bottom so we had to pull it off by hand.
    with the motor runing sick we could only do 6ml/h so i started for home. i called the vmr and told them i was coming in and could only do 6ml/h i was hoping they would tow me inso i could get home a bit quicker but they said if i have trouble they will come out, so i was 30 mile out doing 6m/h it was a 4 1/2 hour trip home. when i got home i had a look at the motor being a v6 i was only getting spark on one side so i came home on 3 cylinders, but at least we got a feed.
    The pics are my tricky that took both hooks, jasons pb trout and the lawn of death

Re: Slow trip

Hey great feed...............Definatly a quality catch. Not a fun trip home by the sounds.but a great report
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Hi BL,

Bad luck on the motor issues. We launched at Lucinda about 6pm, and had the same sleepless night you did. You got some nice fish even though your time was limited, so that is a good thing.

great report Jamie, shame about the motor and hope its an easy fix, looks like a good feed of fish

Ausfish Platinum Member Fish_gutz's Avatar

nice feed there, bad luck about the engine drama`s , hope it all gets sorted without hurting the pocket, did you have the lures out on the way home! cheers Andrew

I wouldn't be surprised if the shift assist switch hasnt stuck dropping one bank (3 cylinders)

Retired Honda Master Tech

Nice feed there mate, Adelaide is my favourite reef to fish as there is so many quality fish to catch within the one reef.

Nick

Jason's got the right shirt on!!!...your numbers definately came up on that trip ...cracker of a trout by the way!!!...im glad you boys got home safe ...thanks for posting the piccies and report

Mrs Benno1
    Sunny

thanks guys
    garry i spoke to my mechanic today and he said it sounds like the switch box so you may be right.

andrew i only decided to troll about half way home, but lucky we didnt catch anything because as i got in the mouth of the harbour the motor started to run out of fuel, so a trip were i use 60-70L i used 135L so i only had 5L left.

nic i love adeiaide and potter for that very reason, but the best thing about potter is the car park was full but there was only 5 boats on potter.

Quote Originally Posted by Alchemy View Post
    Hi BL,

Bad luck on the motor issues. We launched at Lucinda about 6pm, and had the same sleepless night you did. You got some nice fish even though your time was limited, so that is a good thing.

how did you go dave?.

Ausfish Platinum Member levinge's Avatar

Top Effort matey, bad luck about the donk, but at least you made it home safely.

You'll have to let me in on that bommy spot matey!!!
    Fillet and Release Squad

no worries brett, next time your up this way i'll meet you there.

Ausfish Platinum Member levinge's Avatar

Queens Birthday weekend matey I'll be based at Cardwell Beachcombers cabin 11
    Fillet and Release Squad