Thread: brissie river sunday morn (with new pics)

brissie river sunday morn (with new pics)

Haven't had a chance to fish for ages and this week end was to put an end to that. This flush out will be fantastic for the river but the timing wasn't that good. So Sunday morning was ear marked with threadies in mind until I saw seasbreeze. Bloody hell. Cant take a trick . Anyway got up this morning and thought I'll grab a rod and go and have a flick around Colmslie land based, maybe I'll still find a threadie. Found that coffee coloured water had more life than i expected. There was a lot of bait holding around the pontoons.and it just felt good to have a rod in the drink. Wasn't long before I had more first encounter with a good sized muddie but i found it hard to land with a small hand gaff .Muddie no 2 came along. had them both to the edge of the pontoon but didn't have a chance of landing them. Felt full too by the weight . I was really surprised by how many bream were on the chew but i found them a little hard to deal with on the 6 O' circle. Young bloke was fishing light with bream gear and pulled a few at 23-25 released . I hooked a bigger one that was again released so at least it was a bit of fun, and all before breakie Cheers
    Last edited by chief; 25-05-2009 at 08:35 PM. Reason: Added pics

Re: brissie river sunday morn

Good job Chief, I have found that area to be a bit over fished now. I was there the other week at night and there was 20 or so people there cast netting. It show's that you have proven me wrong mate. Once again, brilliant job considering the fresh.

Thanks Tom

Nice work chief, thats a great bream.

Tom thats because the prawns were going off down at colmslie the last few weeks.
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!

It's a bloody good way to spend the morning isn't it cheif! What did you use for bait? Livies? I can't wait to get out agin.

Cheers, Mick.

Great stuff Chief
    great 2 c theres still alot of bait.
    Im heading out this arvo 2 c if theres any jew around!
    Cheers Simon

chief, good work on the fish pitty u didn't land the muddies, i know what u mean about the wether i got up early sat and sunday 2 go but wether was no good. I'm keen 2 go i don't like missin my weekend fish. c u tuesday.

Simon good luck mate, i wish i would have thrown the boat in this morning and had a fish .It turned out not looking that bad and the wind turned up that bit later. certainly some bait around and they were very flighty. Could have been the poor visibilty spooking them.

Kurt.. Mate should have taken a landing net with me but i thought the small gaff would be all i need to lift a nice threadie onto the pontoon . Towards the end of this week there is deffinantly a sickie coming on . I have to get a decent sesh in and hopefully we'll get a good looking day.

Tom.. no one there this morning mate, just a couple of walkers stopping for a chat.

Quote Originally Posted by chief View Post
    Tom.. no one there this morning mate, just a couple of walkers stopping for a chat.
    If only I wasn't doing Assignments I'd be down there right now flicking a few placcies around . Looks like I'll have to until this coming weekend to go hunting some Bream.

Thanks Tom

good work on the bream in the fresh, cant wait till the water clears up

Chief, you could pull a bream out of the tree in your backyard! love ya work. I would have given it a miss with all the soup. Cheers Andrew

good one chief.

i'm itching to get down the river again.hopefully the weather and river will clear up enough for me to get out next weekend.

i didn't think they'd be on the chew with all the fresh about....just goes to show the river is one awesome piscatorial playground.

shame about the muddies.i'm gonna drop the pots next weekend too.good to see they're still around.

cheers mate.

dave

Just finished work early tosarf and couldn't get those dirty water bream out of my head so i grabbed a hand full of HBs and went back to the pontoon. Fished the bottom of the tide this time and put a few casts around the pontoon. No bream but came up with 2 cod on the slack water . Water quality is still terrible actually understandably worse than yesterday mornings high so thats maybe why the bream were a no show. Still nice to pull a few out of the muddy water. Cheers

on ya mate
    figjam :wink:

Re: brissie river sunday morn (with new pics)

Top work on both lil outings chief...you sure do love it mate, me too

Re: brissie river sunday morn (with new pics)

Well done mate. Can't wait to try for a few threadies I reckon they will be back with avengence in the next couple of days. Also mate have you ever thrown some sp around to poo chute?