Thread: t"ville cape cleveland

t"ville cape cleveland

took my young falla for a trip over to the cape this arvo & what a trip it turned out to be!!!
    heading over "nice" it was glassed out. once we reached the cape the trolling lines went straight in & we continued this for about a hour. i was using the tld 20, 50lb braid matched onto a 20-40lb tuna power the lure was a x-rap deep diver. luke was using a spheros 8000, 30lb braid on a 8-10kg uglystick.
    nothing no macks around at all & my brother was out there trolling big wolfies as well but he went home empty handed. so stuff this it"s time for a change we swaped over to the metal slugs mine a 40gm gillie, with the td 4000 spooled with 20lb braid on the dropshot. luke"s a 40gm spanard on a beastmaster rod & i have forgot what the reel is anyways it"s spooled with 30lb braid.

came up onto the mark & both slugs went to the bottom, cranked the hell out of them back to the top without a hit, back down & about half way up smack i am on! the first run has alot of speed but after seeing around 10kg of spanard he has a big head shake & out flys the slug. 3rd drift over the mark bang on again this time it turned out to be around 10kg golden trev, 4th time over bang yet again different fight this 1 & i was very happy to see a 3kg trout laying beside the boat.

luke getting a little s^&**y by now & wanted to come & shark my spot, wind faster i told him & on the next drop he gets wacked. now he had this 6-7kg golden trev swimming about 10ft under the boat within 10mins, thats when this huge dark shadow started following it. it turned out to be 1 very large groper so he asked me to take over so he would not loose it, it"s his fish cause he did all the hard yards.
    same as the queenie he got on his next & last drop which i reckon was around the 10kg mark, fought it till we see color & after 10-15mins of some fast runs his arms could not take any more. time was getting on so it was even a smoother trip home.

low was .47 & the high was 3.44mtrs... big run comming around the corner at the cape so where was the macks???

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

Re: t"ville cape cleveland

Top session there Ronnie

The little fella has done very well Ron, he looks chuffed as he should. Good read mate and some quality fish mate.
    Marty.

Well done Ron, looks like you both had a good day out on the water. The winds have been down lately so makes it easy to get further out.

Jeff

Quote Originally Posted by No Barra View Post
    Well done Ron, looks like you both had a good day out on the water. The winds have been down lately so makes it easy to get further out.

Jeff
    jeff,
    good day? nah only out for 2 hrs, got out there at 3pm & left at 5pm.
    first hour was trolling than 1hr with the slugs thats when we got the fish!!!
    back at national park ramp at 5.35pm.

ron.

what a great day with the young fella, coral trout for tea yum

Mate, awesome pics. Good on the young fella. Looks like he might start to out fish dad soon

Got the boat out around maggie this afternoon chasing a few fish, but the fishing scene was pretty quite

Now thats a good Townsville report

well done

Quote Originally Posted by Playdo98 View Post
    Mate, awesome pics. Good on the young fella. Looks like he might start to out fish dad soon

Got the boat out around maggie this afternoon chasing a few fish, but the fishing scene was pretty quite
    was the water still calm or did that change come in??

ron.

dropped the boat in around 1pm to pretty much glassed out water and came back in a bit of slop around 5ish.

He is definitely a chip of the old block there Ron, better watch out matey..
    Fillet and Release Squad

brett,
    while he is living under my roof he has to still share the fish LOL.
    thanks mate.
    & where is your report, i see the boat gone for the last 3 days???

ron.

Great fish there mate. I was hoping for a coral trout in Cairns but not at dark i found out. Good to see the little tacker hooking up. Cheers

Ron,

Sounds like an absolutely magic for more than one reason, talk about memorable, well done.

Kendall

Hey Ron, report is up for you mate..
    Fillet and Release Squad