Thread: What is this fish?

What is this fish?

Caught this fish this morning just off Mackay QLD and wasnt sure what is was so i let it live another day. Could someone please tell me what it is. Being my luck it was probably something decent.

Re: What is this fish?

That's a Blackall - aka Painted Sweetlip aka Mother in Law fish

Slatey Bream, morwong (Diagramma pictum) not the best eating fish but good fun to catch theres heaps of them right up the coast

Quote Originally Posted by justjack View Post
    Slatey Bream, morwong (Diagramma pictum) not the best eating fish but good fun to catch theres heaps of them right up the coast
    That's what I heard too (not the greatest tasting fish!), so I gave it to my wife's mother-in-law . Kept a couple fillets for ourselves. Mate, will never give them away again ... they were good if not better than snapper IMO. Cheers

Certain times they are very iodiney. ........ but we never take the chance with the buggars just chuck them over.
    Good luck if you get a good one they are a firm fleash
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Quote Originally Posted by jtpython View Post
    Certain times they are very iodiney. ........ but we never take the chance with the buggars just chuck them over.
    Good luck if you get a good one they are a firm fleash
    I think the iodine depends on the location.

If you sniff the gills and they've got iodine you'll know it - definately would not keep one that did or they'll spoil the taste of the rest of the fish in the esky

[quote=castlemaine;1020580] so I gave it to my wife's mother-in-law .

What a fine son you would be giving it to your mother !

Ray de R

Slatey bream. Havent had a bad one yet. bleed them out straight away. Really nice kippered and served hot. keep the slateys for yourself and give mother in law the grinners
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

[quote=RayDeR;1020687]
    Quote Originally Posted by castlemaine View Post
    so I gave it to my wife's mother-in-law .

What a fine son you would be giving it to your mother !

Ray de R
    LOL, well picked up there Ray. My mother only eats fish in a curry or in a sweet & sour mix . I was a fine son but my brother is still the favourite . So strong fish is not a problem. Likewise I love fishing for Luderick but will only eat it a curry mix (I'm usually an egg-wash & breadcrumb fish-eater).
    The Slatey I caught (Peel Island) was beautiful white flesh, no iodine taste.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=131233

I think you will find that they do not freeze well. They should be eaten fresh.

slatey is very good for fish cakes.

Yes slatey fro sure. Slateys and Grinners are all in the same category, rubbish fish to eat. How anyone could say they taste better than snapper is beyond me...I tried to eat them up north years ago, when I was desperate for a feed LOL
    They didnt get the name Mother in Law for no reason. But hey, maybe is a personal taste thing, but for me no way.
    Flatzie

Fillet from the back of the head down to its bum and fillet back from there. They are not bad eating at all.

they are great bait

Quote Originally Posted by blueline View Post
    slatey is very good for fish cakes.
    I totally agree with that. Bought some once to make fish cakes with and they turned out unreal. The people still talk about them 2 years later.