Thread: Southern Gutters report on "Gutter Rat"

Southern Gutters report on "Gutter Rat"

Headed out from the Burrum ramp at 3:30am on Saturday with 3 mates. Upon leaving the last beacon we were met with a 10kt breeze which chopped the water up but wasn't too uncomfortable. Headed to our livie mark but couldn't get any so we slogged up to the 14 mile reef off Bundaberg. There wasn't much there so we made a quick move out to the 16 mile, and found a good show which we anchored on. Mitchy was first on with a cracker Grassy Sweetlip of about 3kg. We chipped away at a feed and managed a couple of Spanish Flag and more Grassies.

I dropped a really good fish and backed it up 5 minutes later with another good fish being dropped at the leader. It was a sign of things to come. The fishing slowed up so we headed to the middle of the Southern Gutters area and anchored on a small mark. Got a couple of nice fish including a Scarlet and Parrot, which redeemed my past efforts slightly. Made a move south a bit but wasn't much showing so we headed to the bottom of the Gutters and anchored on a flat piece of reef.

We had a hot bite going for an hour and managed to put some nice grassies, Hussar and Parrot into the esky. Leon caught a huge grassy of about 4kgs and Joel and I dropped another good fish each. The bite tapered off a bit and the Trigger fish were in plague proportions so we decided to call it a day.

The weather was absolutely sensational on the way home and it just kept getting better as we went so it topped off a great day.

Cheers Benny

Re: Southern Gutters report on "Gutter Rat"

They are definatly some cracker grassy's mate. Conditions are near perfsct. is that An elite?
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

good grassies

hey mate some of the biggest grassies i have seen have come from that area everytime i fish up there we seem to get good grassies. good to see a report from the gutters.

this one was from the same area

nice grassies ,magic weather for that trip

justin

Jt
    The boat is a Curtiscraft built in Gladstone. It was custom built in 1988. We have tried to find out info. on the hull/company but theres nothing available. The previous owner said the boat was copied from a Signature but I don't know whether that is true.

Snapperbasher
    Here's a couple more we got at christmas time. Your right about them being big up there we haven't caught anything under 2.5 kg

wow top grassies there mate

nice grassy we got some good ones as well at easter any signs of any reds or trout about

Ripper Grassies there mate. They sure pull for their size.

Whats the go with Grassies for the table?

I have heard a few people rave about them so last trip I kept one around 45cms. Never again, it tasted very ordinary (fed the rest to the hounds) and stunk when I bled and gutted it??

Would it be like that due to what it was eating, or are they all average table fish?

Nick

you sure it was the same species nick? they seem to be a little different to the ones we get up here?

Sure are some nice sweeties round there. Top job.

Kezza
    Callsign - Smells Like Fish! VHF Ch 21, 73 or 80

Backlash 74
    We didn't get any reds or trout, just a copule of undersized reds.

Nickstock
    Grassies would have to be one of the best eating fish out there. I ate some last night and my Mrs loved it and she doesn't really like fish. I honestly rate them better than Pearlies they are that good. I'm certain that you didn't catch a grassy because they are great.

Cheers Benny

jeez that gutter rat is a nice rig, mite have to book a trip out in the next couple of weeks. goood read benny