Thread: I See Red, all night long.....(now with pics attached)

I See Red, all night long.....(now with pics attached)

Well, I ran into ozbee at the local tackle store and he mentioned a night trip out wide, leaving Tuesday Arvo. No worries, spoke to the boss, and after a bit of bribery with the promise of a few fillets I got the arvo off from work, plus Wednesday.

The spot we were off to was the same one Ozbee had been doing so well with reds, so expectations were high to say the least. It was easy to round up a couple of blokes and make our way down th Ozbee's place and the weapon for the night, his 680 patriot with his brand new 300 zuke on the back.

I was about a 2hr run out in 1.5m plus seas, but it felt like much longer and we couldn't wait to drop the lines down. Once the anchor took hold we found we swung a different direction, but still persited with a couple of drops which yeilded a couple of undersize reds and a couple of big mouth nannies.

Making a second attempt to anchor on the mark was proving difficult in the dark and we only ended up further and further away with each attempt. We had one more go and things were looking good, but this time the anchor didn't hold, so more rope was let out, and we backed up a bit to dig the plough in, only to end up in no mans land. We figures stuff it, lets just give it a go here.

Well the action was slow, and the crew was dwindling in number, people dropping out to have a kip, but as soon as the tide stopped the fishing kicked in, with reds and nannygai coming in consistently, I would say the bite was hot, but it was very consistent which is what your after in 70m of water, nothing too quick cos your arms will fall off.

We ended up with 42 fish all up, between 5 anglers, 22 big mouth nannies, 11 red emperor, 2 spanglies, 1 red throat, and a quick drift in the morning produced 6 trout.

Ok to answer a couple of questions below:

Bait used was mainly squid, with a few hussar that were caught during the night, plus a few mullet.

Biggest fish of the night went to Ozbee, with a 12kg Emperor and Max with a 12kg big mouth nanny.

Patriot went really well, rough fuel figures worked out that it does 1.4 km per litre, 0.4km better then the etec, though they are only rough at the moment, Ozbee is still waiting for the NMEA cable to go to the GPS. It was a bit bouncier than normal due to having no tabs, the blokes doing the install on the new donk busted a transistor and ozbee is waiting for the part to come in so it can be fixed, so now she porpoises a bit, and gets a bit of a list about her every now and then.

now pictures:

There's one with the first red of the night for both John, and max, a double header of nannies for me, Ozbee's BIG red, and Max hiding behind the big nanny. Also is a shot of the 2 eskies a 300ltr box/seat chockers, plus on with 1/2 doz trout caught that morning before heading in. Then of course the obligatory lawn of death.
    Last edited by Scott nthQld; 21-05-2009 at 06:54 PM. Reason: Added pics, more info

Re: I See Red, all night long.....

*waits patiently* ...how did you find the ride in the 680 in those seas Scott???...i can only imagine what its like too try and pull up a fish from 70meters of water!!!...who caught the biggest fish???...what sort of bait were you guys using???...many other boats around or did you have the place to yourselves???...great read Scott...juuuust need some piccies now

Mrs Benno1
    Sunny

Re: I See Red, all night long.....

Great going Scott looking forward to the pics
    persistance always pays off
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Re: I See Red, all night long.....(now with pics attached)

Some fantastic photos there Scott, well worth the trip wide. With that many snodgers, looks like it's standing room only in the boat !! Thanks for the report.

Awesome session!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lucky buggers.

Massive session
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

tell you what though, I'm still hurtin, sore arms, back, cuts n shit covering my fingers and hands, sore hip and groin from the rod butt......I sometimes wonder why I put myself through this....then I just look at the photo's and want to go and do it all again.

If anyone wants a serious work out for both strength and cardio, find a big patch of red fern in 60plus metres, drop down a squid and pull up a few of these buggers.

Oh yeah, fish on the floor was when we had to repack the esky, still had to sit on it to shut the bloody thing

great pics
    ozbee is right onto with the snodgers now did he share the marks or was it blind folds on
    making me ichy to get back into red country (3 weeks and counting)

some top shelf fish guys top effort

justin

ozbee i am in next time!!

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

nah, no blindfolds, not that there's much to go by, you can't see land so land marks are out....lol

Nice haul of red there , looks like a fun trip. Cheers Andrew

Top quality catch there lads its times like them when you wish it would never end, even tho your arms are burning and the rest

Great stuff Scott and Ozbee! I need to go exploring some more I think to see if I can find the reds in greater numbers.

Great stuff, hope we find some of those this weekend.

Let you know.

Top effort matey...
    Fillet and Release Squad