Blackfish Rod

Thread: Blackfish Rod

Blackfish Rod

G'day all.

Can anyone offer my some advice as to what brand of fishing rod would be the ideal one to have for catching Blackfish, aka Luderick?

I know it has to be 9ft but does it need to be a fast or slow taper? etc.

I'm on a budget also.

Thanks, Peter

Re: Blackfish Rod

In the Fishing World report they are using the following equipment

"The use of a centre pin or 'pin' has shunned by some who prefer the easy casting of a threadline reel, but the 'pin' offers a far better option for controlling your line in the drift. Line needs to be moved on and off the reel regularly......... The other advantage of a 'pin' is the powerful direct drive control when fighting a hard pulling fish on light line..... The Alvey Luderick Special 475B is a very good dual bearing 'pin' with a side cast option"

"When choosing a rod go long and light. Wilson and Shakespeare make several quality off-the-shelf blackfish rods in different lengths. One good option is the Shakespeare Agility 10foot 4 graphite rod. If you can beg, borrow or buy a Daiwa Pressa Dry 5.15M interline rod you will using the Rolls Royce of ultra-light weight functional estuary rods.................."

As stated by SleepyGreg in your other thread "Blackfish - Aka Luderick"

"The reasons for the longer, slow taper rod are many. They have a soft mouth and dont embark on long runs, more a tumbling turning type of fight and the rod is necessary to cushion that type of fight"

Thanks, Tom

Thanks Tom.

I thank you for your suggestions, but I'll stay clear on Alveys all the same. I can never get them to work. Egg beaters is the only option for me. I'll look into the rods though.

Cheers, Peter

Ausfish Platinum Member mattooty's Avatar

Bondy, you're really shooting yourself in the foot before you begin by shunning the alvey. There's a distinct lack of casting if you're fishing in the river and it is the easiest way to go from a straight feed of line to striking when you get the unexpected down.
    However in saying that I'm sure there are a few good quality small baitfeeders on the market and these would be effective. Its not rough and tumble fishing so buying cheaper gear will not adversely affect your fishing as much as other styles.
    In regards to rod, a slow taper 9-11ft rod is ideal in the 6-10lb bracket. I've got 2 rods, both slow taper that I use. One is a wilson and the other a shakespeare, neither of which i can remember specific models of. When you strike often you have to lift alot of slack line out of the water before you even connect with your float, and this is where your longer rod will shine. Just be sure to let the fish have line when it needs it and have a net within arms reach.

Gary Howard makes an off the shelf blackfish rod, and also an estuary special that is very similar - does both in one and two piece. They retail for $139 and should last you many years. His Workshop is at Brendale, but these rods are also carried by quite a few of the local(brisbane) tackle stores and the major boating fishing and camping chain. They are good quality and very suitable. I have used a small spinning reel with mixed feelings...IMHO they put too much line twist in your main line...which results in wind knots and tangles. They also dont allow direct constant contact with your float. My preferred reel is an Avon Royal, though I think these are now marketed under another name by shakespeare, I also have the Alvey blackfish special, and much prefer these reels. Also casting a well set up blackfish rig with a threadline reel inevitably results in the bait tangling up with the float unless you use the correct technique, which is usually learnt using a centrepin.

There is an Avon Royal in good nick for sale on e-bay right now !!
    I have the old Steelite centrepin, go the old gear !!!, made to last !!

Thanks Mattooty, SleepyGreg and hooknose,

I appreciate your comments. Blackfish are such a unique fish reminds me like the silver and black drummer in NSW caught on cunjevoi off the rocks. Memories I wont forget, cuts on barnacles to boot.

I'll save up for a dedicated blackfish rod but in the meantime I'll have to compromise abit. Thanks for the guidance people.

Best bait for black drummer was ab gut and peeled prawns....never did get many on cunje....and was too bluddy hard to get. Though I know guys that used it exclusively.

I used some ab gut at times. the old cunjevoi stayed on a bit longer. I was fishing from them down near Catherine Hill Bay and a remote section past Caves Beach - the other side of Newcastle...bloody fantastic spot hardly a soul and yep, it was remote you could even see the large blue grouper swimming up to the surface, there were more than one.

I'd like to back the blokes up on the use of an Alvey for blackfish aka luderick.

For beach fishing I always go the eggbeater style of reel. For river & estuary its either eggbeater or a baitcast but never an Alvey as I've never really been keen on them.

HOWEVER, for blackfish its the opposite. I ALWAYS use an Alvey blackish reel and hate trying to catch blackfish with any other kind of reel - it just don't feel right.

'Ole mate sleepygreg makes a good point about 'direct constant contact' with your float. When fishing ocean platforms for luderick the rise & fall of the swell and prevailing currents means you're always adjusting the amount of line slack between the rod & the float.

With a centre-pin Alvey reel it is easy to do this and you can get a much better sense of how your float is behaving and you'll be more likely be better prepared for the inevitable 'strike' when the time comes.

I learned to cast with the Alvey blackfish reel that didn't have the sidecast option (trying to be a purist). Better to cut straight to the chase and get the side cast model - more versatile & straight forward to cast.

The sidecast ones give you greater casting distance & more accuracy (and less dud casts). Once you get the hang of it, its easy as...!

If you use an eggbeater reel for blackfishing you'll forever be flipping the bloody bail arm back & forth & messing around with the reverse winding switch - too messy with way to much mechanics & unecessary bulls_iting involved. Not worth it.

If you gunna do it, do it properly. For blackfish "face the challenge" buy an Alvey & learn to use it as you can't beat 'em for this type of fishing. You'll enjoy the fishing more if you do. And you'll be an expert before you know it.

Then the other blokes who are using Alveys on the same rock platform as you won't give you weird looks, as they would if you were using an eggbeater.

You gotta look the part..! (and learn the ettiquete)
    "...a voice in my head keeps telling me to go fishing..."

Depends where you wish to fish for tehm mate. My rod of choice would be a snyder magbream white tip for the rocks. and the eastuary. But for only estuary i would probably go for something like a cr4126 or lighter.

for reels, alvey or centrepin is the only way to go. Alvey have half a dozen models dedicated to blackfish. check em out. You can also get some ones privately made. they can be good too.

They fight bloody hard around teh rocks by the way.

Owen

Thanks people.

Does anyone know how long before the niggers come back after the rain and run-off on the gold coast?

Cheers, Peter

Cant answer that one Peter. My local knowledge only runs from South west Rocks to Narooma. But assuming similar behaviours, I would think that about half a dozen flushes from the coming high tides (assuming no more rain) should see them back on the chew.

Thanks Greg. You might be spot on with the tide flushing provided there is no more rain inbetween.

I'll check out next week and see what's cooking with the tailor. I'm not going to let the rain and the odd foam bugger it up, but only if the sand pumping jetty on the Gold Coast is operating per normal.

Alvey Blackfish reel & Hawk Downunder DU 1042BF rod (found in a bargain bin) has served me for several years and at an inexpensive cost. Several hundred luderick and still going strong.
    IMHO a good whippy bream rod will also do the job and centerpin/Alvey is the way to go. If you're fishing snags you'd want to keep the pressure to the fish.
    Going to try imitation weed this year, will let you know how I get along.