Mixed bag/ Squid and what not to do with Lures

Thread: Mixed bag/ Squid and what not to do with Lures

Mixed bag/ Squid and what not to do with Lures

Headed out from the harbour about 3.45 off to our rubble ground wide ............... but the weather was a sloppy SW so we settled to chase a few squid in the lights close to a shallow reef. Some good squid coming onto the boat kept us keen and managed a good catch.

And where not to face a freshly caught squid as one i just caught shot the oldman fully coating him in ink in the early morning hours.....Wasn't impressed.

Okay so the wind eased and we motored onto to our spot in the slightly sloppy SW .
    Gets to our spot and we see's some huge schools of bait being herded by big show's on the sounder while the brother in law in his boat started to troll while we anchored up. He scored a big yellowfin tuna and then he too anchored up seeing there wasn't any spanish to be caught at that time.
    First couple drops i scored a nice thick trout from the bottom

Then after that catches of blueys and Pink Hussars and surf parrots started to make our esky. then a metre long Cod hits the oldmans handline and after a long struggle he pulls him to the surface. After dehooking him and deflating him we held him with the gaff trying to revive him but to no avail....I don't like to take cod that big as they keep the pestilence down around the ground but we had to take him after 30 mins of trying to get him down.

! pm come around so we decided to pull up anchor and go for a troll before heading home.......... We had only gone 20 m beofre the X Rap gets slammed and we gaffs a nice spanish . then another straight after and then another...........

Then we lured a small spanish about 40 cm thats after i unhook the first set of hooks gives a massive flick and drives the second set of trebles straight into my thigh with a angry spanish on my leg slapping around i grabbbed the lure to stop it from going any deeper. After couple mins we got the spano off and unhooked the 2 other barbs but the third one was deep and we snipped the last couople bards and bandaged up to head to the hospital.

After a hours wait i was heading home with a lovely hole in my thighs and a feed to fillet.

Scored this pic on sunset while we were heading home yesterday on the water
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Re: Mixed bag/ Squid and what not to do with Lures

Good Fishin There Jt .f@#k That Would Of Hurt A Little Those Trebles In The Thigh, Sorry I Didnt Get To Catch Up On Me Way Out ,,,, Them There Reds Were Callin Lol

I didn't pass you did you go thru Halfway?
    Or North?
    VHF CHANNEL 21

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

great report,beutiful day,great fish,shame about the double hookup.

Great report sorry to hear about trebble hope it feel better soon. A few ales will help with the pain relief. Nice looking catch, the old cod would of gave a good fight on the hand line.
    Well done
    Ken

Well Done
    Wat an awesome session,
    Pity about the cod!
    Cheers Simon

Thanks for the photos again JT. It really made my day...... The colours on the trout are better seen here than on the phone. Did you when you hooked yourself???

It has to be a good feeling when you see colour other than silver in the esky.

Thanks for the report.

Wags

No i didn't cry
    Just so silly more to the piont................. Using the 80 mono's on the Tyrnon's for trolling brings the big spano's in with full fury and thrashing like crazy with the lure's in there mouths.
    Will get you onto the action in june hopefully
    VHF CHANNEL 21

Ausfish Platinum Member Fishbait's Avatar

Nice going JT - you know how to slay them - nice feed mate. Darren

Turned out to be a good day on the water cept for the hooks.

Great report JT, looks like you made the most of the trip alright. The old man sure got a touch up by the squid ha ha.

nick

Ausfish Platinum Member Midnight's Avatar

Gday,
    Always the trouble with fishin heavier gear, cranky fish boat side!
    I normally fish 24kg and you can sure drag 'em in, but they are normally a bit fiesty when you get them there!

I'm thinkin about going down to 8 or 15kg for my normal "eatin fish" trolling and leaving the 24+ for the billfish.

Myles

Dopey bastard
    Nice looking esky load though JT.
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

Gees what a big sook ,Jt...just grab the bloody hook with the pliers and rip it out,man and just keep on fishin'...

Nice feed there though,mate..I'm sure the pain went away after a bit of calamari, fresh trout and spanish and of course a few Jimmy's..

I'm hearing ya Scott. Was going to push it out the otherside but was too deep and had drunk my lst 3 jimmies Should have done the 2 wraps around the hook and pulled but the oldman was up me.
    What hurt the most was when i got into the car and my shirt got caught around the hookshaft where we clipped it off and near pulled it thru the otherside
    VHF CHANNEL 21