Thread: middle Reaches Brissie River

middle Reaches Brissie River

Well went for a fish with a mate of mine on Friday during the day.Was quiet till about midday. We caught heaps of herring and the fishing was hot for about 45minutes. My mate caught two jewfish one was 56cm the other 55cm and I caught my first daytime Threadie at 68cm and 2.4kg. We caught a huge pike eel and due to its gills protruding from its mouth we ended up keeping it and putting a fair chunk out on a handline with a 16o through it. We got a huge hit but it managed to snag us. One of the jews had a huge bite mark in it. Anyway the fishing went dead after that. My mate went to the same spot the next day and caught a 10kg cod- so maybe that was what took the other bait. Great day to be alive. Sorry no pics.

Re: middle Reaches Brissie River

Nice one mate! Sounds like a top session.

You got that Thready monkey off your back a while ago and now they are coming easy for you. You obviously know how to 'think' like a Thready now

And for your mate to get a couple of nice little jew and to backup the next day with a solid cod....Great days indeed.

nice report mate, a 10kg cod would have put up a great fight, cheers

...of all the liars among mankind, the fisherman is the most trustworthy. ~William Sherwood Fox.

Great stuff Duncan.
    Ur really slaying them now!
    Were u Lb or in a boat?
    Cheers Simon

landbased ratking. Yeah lizardman thats number 6 now for the threadie count. Still want that elusive jew, my mate calls me the threadie man and I call him the jewman we need to swap over now.

niice fish duncan, ive never managed any jew around the middle reaches were i fish so congrats to your mate, nice little thready u picked up too. they still fight well at that size on light gear. a 10kg cod!! thats a biggg fish very impressive, can i ask if u were fishing upstream of the city? i know of a cod hole in the mid reaches that hasnt been checked in a while that might need a visit.
    ta mate
    bballfisho

anyone care to share the where abouts or proximity of this place?be nice to hook on to a jewie..

Great stuff mate, Talking to Brad the other night and he was saying most of the threadie captures have been from farther up stream. The fish may be finding warmer water at the moment. your slaying these threadies mate. I've just got to get my act together and get some time on the water. Cheers, No photos of that cod floating around mate?

No Photos chief. I wasn't with him but all the locals were all raving about it.

Gday Duncan nice job again mate, your making me envious. I'm sure you'll get that Jewie,,,,,, soon.

10kg of tasty Cod, a pic or two would have been good for the memiors.

Avast ye matey!