-
Ausfish New Member
Nice trevally from Bay rock
We decided during the week that Sunday was the day-morning to head out for a day fishing. Picked up the mate at 4:00AM wanted to ensure that we got a park at Coast Guards, which we did.
Headed out to West Point to sea if there were any Doggies around but no luck. We had the squid light over the side and caught dozen or so Slimey Mackeral. So after a couple of hours we decided to head to the Pipes but was beaten there. So over to Bay Rock for some trolling, with no luck. As this was my first trip out there we run around with the sounder going found some nice structure over with the anchor and in with the bait. Heaps of little Travelly then mates rod goes off and after 10 minutes we have 1m Catfish next to the boat, hook out and away he goes. Then little bit latter my rod goes off then once again 10 to 15 minutes later I land a 85cm Travelly not sure if it is a GT or a Golden Travelly. Have caught Tealeaf and Bludgers but this in a first. Anyway not to much longer the bait that was not frozen was all gone and so it was time for us to do the same, back at the ramp at about 11:00am. Worked out to be well not to many at the ramp so home we go to start cleaning.
Jeff
-
Re: Nice trevally from Bay rock
Golden Trevally, nice fish.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Looks like a Golden to me, very nice eating fish to, dont let anyone convince you its no good!
-
Nice fish - good report.......thanks..........Geeb
-
Ausfish Addict
good size golden mate well done and yes they eat very well, by far the best out of all the trevally species.
You can tell a golden trevally from their big juuby lips, so you see will have a real gold colour about them, other's like yours will only have a slight tinge.
Also, when filleting, as they get bigger, they have what looks like borer holes right through there flesh, don't worry about these, every single one I have caught over the 2-3kg mark have these holes. Don't know what causes them, but it doesn't affect the taste nor quality of the flesh and won't make you crook. Its funny though, you'd normally associate something like that with the fish have worms, but a worm or any other parasite has never made itself known to me.
-
Ausfish New Member
Thanks for that Scott, it will be in the pan tomorrow night for dinner. Thought it might of been a Golden Trev as the gold colours started to come up when I cleaned it.
It took awhile to land as the rod I caught it on wasn't a heavy rod for skull dragging fish up.
Jeff