Thread: Gold Coast 15/05

Gold Coast 15/05

Howdy all,

i fished a mark in about 27 fathoms out from the seaway with my dad and his dad in perfect conditions. Dropped the pick on a show and didnt move until the bite (and us) slowed down 5 1/2 hours later at around 1 pm.

got our bag of trag (good size), 10 pan sized snapper, couple of big maori cod, couple of hussar, a moses perch, and a few large tailor were kept.

the tailor and trag were quite prolific, biting consistently through out the day. besides 1 thumper snapper caught on a chook and one throwback caught first thing, the snapper did not bite until the tide had started to run out late in the morning.

two of the largest mac tuna i have seen were also landed on liveys, and during the snapper bite that water was alive with mac tuna a few metres under the boat, we also got buzzed by a large tiger during this time.

there was very little current and i found the best bait to be a pillie cut in half.

finally, i was also involved in a massive stuggle for over 45min with something that took a bait on the bottom on my plastic outfit, there was a lot of weight and very powerful runs that had me close to spooled on 4-5 occassions, it didnt feel like a tuna, i was thinking cobia but wasnt sure if they would still be around? it stayed deep for the duration of the fight. any thoughts on what the beastie could have been? i think i broke up at my leader knot

Re: Gold Coast 15/05

g'day twodog, your beastie certainly sounds like a cobe. good to hear you got a few snaps aswell, lets hope its a good season and some decent weather with it too.

schuey

mate, nows the time for monster cobes along the Goldy.
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Sound's like a good day on the water. I reckon you got done up by a large amberjack' they are one of the hardest fighting fish in the ocean.

cobes generally come to the top after a bit of a fight down low probably that tiger u seen or another shark

yeah i was thinking shark too but i thought it would have gone through the leader a lot quicker than that, and it broke up high rather than being bitten through or rubbed off

Well Done

Awsome session!

Cheers Simon

Any big Cobe, Jew or Cod can give you a lot of grief

Sounds like a great day with 3 generations out to enjoy it