Thread: Lake Lenthal - FCFSA seeking new members

Lake Lenthal - FCFSA seeking new members

Lenthalls is starting to fire again with catches of Barra around the 60 - 70cm mark becoming a more regular occurence.

Fraser Coast Fish Stocking Association is keen to continue this momentum, although we are at the stage where we would very much like new members to join the association and have their say in the ongoing stocking of this unique impoundment.

As the Southernmost Stocked Impoundment containing Barra and a renowned Bass fishery, Lenthalls is a unique resource, for more information please check out our website at http://fcfsa.sweetwaterfishing.com.au/

Membership is $20 per annum or $30 for a family, please contact me if you are interested in joining or would like to know more.

Members too far away to attend regular meetings are still welcome and have the opportunity to vote by proxy on important issues via email, as well as being invited to any events such as Stocking Days.

Hope to hear from those of you interested in getting involved in making this fishery all it can be!

Tony Mayfield
    Secretary FCFSA

Fraser Coast Fish Stocking Association Inc
    PO Box 987
    Hervey Bay, Qld, 4655
    FCFSA@ausfish.com.au

[edit] I've attached a membership form which can be printed and sent to FCFSA at the address above along with your payment. Please include your email address on the form as we can keep you up to date most easily via email. Thanks for your interest!

Re: Lake Lenthal - FCFSA seeking new members

If the memberhsip gets you unlimited access to the dam all hours so that the secyurity guards cant kick you out just as its getting to the perfect time of the day, im keen!!!!

Otherwise sorry but that Big Dan ruined that dam.

Quote Originally Posted by Herby13 View Post
    If the memberhsip gets you unlimited access to the dam all hours so that the secyurity guards cant kick you out just as its getting to the perfect time of the day, im keen!!!!

Hi Herby,

Membership gives you no added benefits other than the enjoyment of putting something back into a past-time that you enjoy.

Re Access hours to the dam - This is a decision that was made by Wide Bay Water, and is apparently not a permanent thing. As soon as I hear a definate date for when the opening hours are removed I'll very happily post the details on here.

The temporary part time Rangers that were previously responsible for the Dam have now been replaced by a (new) single permanent full time ranger, which I believe was one of the criterion WBW wished to have in place prior to removing the curfew.

Obviously we are all keen to fish Lenthalls at dusk/dawn periods as it is a fantastic topwater fishery, although hopefully we won't need to be patient for much longer

Hope that helps clarify the status quo!

Be that as it may Herby......But what has to do with the FCFSA.......your argument is with the Wide Bay Water Corp, they certainly have an E-Mail address
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

hey tony, never been out there, what are the open / closed times..???
    deano..
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.

Gday Deano

Public access is now available from 6am-4pm daily

Full info is at:
    http://www.widebaywater.qld.gov.au/r...enthalldam.php

This is the best place to check any info/requirements for accessing the Dam. In fact just accessing the link now to give you the URL I noticed there's new info re Lenthalls Dam Water Supply Reserve Trust Land Protection
    And Use Model By-law 1999. (quite a mouthfull)

I don't know if that will have any impact on fishing access to the dam, however will endeavour to find out a.s.a.p

[edit] I just read through the By-Law and in my personal opinion it doesn't seem to contain anything limiting access other than access to areas not specifically designated as an access area (e.g. signs/gates)

I shall contact Wide Bay Water on monday to clarify.

Thumbs down Re: Lake Lenthal - FCFSA seeking new members

Tony from what I have read unless you have a wipper snipper outboard or a big computer controlled one you can't get on the dam anyway?

And with a 6 knot limit why restrict it to tiny or large out boards

If I can't take my yamaha 20hp 2/ on their precious dam they can get

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Quote Originally Posted by darylive View Post
    Tony from what I have read unless you have a wipper snipper outboard or a big computer controlled one you can't get on the dam anyway?

And with a 6 knot limit why restrict it to tiny or large out boards

If I can't take my yamaha 20hp 2/ on their precious dam they can get
    Gday Daryl,

This one's been discussed a fair bit in the past, and like it or not that's the restrictions Wide Bay Water have decided to implement in the interest of controlling Water Quality (there primary objective I believe).

Old tech 2 strokes up to 6hp, or 4-Stroke and Direct Injection 2-Stroke engines up to 60hp. This equates to all 2 & 3 Star OEDA (Outboard Engine Distributors Association) rated engines.

Full details are at http://www.widebaywater.qld.gov.au/r...enthalldam.php

Personally, I cannot use my current Bass/Barra boat at Lenthalls either, however thats one of the primary reasons I have my electric only boat. If you get the chance to fish there you might see why it's worth the effort I would hope

Lenthalls is not a particularly large dam and doesn't take a lot to get around, even in a kayak/canoe.

There were 2 temporary rangers whose nick names commenced with big.
    I have always found Big Dan to be very friendly and cooperative when he was acting ranger. There was another ranger who was very officious in his interpretation of the rules. This I think was due to his love of the place and wish to protect it and not just to be a mongrell.
    I can understand people being upset after driving down the rough access road and being turned away but there are large signs at start of access road advising conditions of entry.
    The rangers were just employees of WBW and carried out their wishes.
    It is a shame that WBW has taken so long to reestablish the camp ground and relaxation of the curfew times.
    Re the motor restrictions I think that WBW have been quite progressive in their thinking. It would have been quite simple for them to make it an electric only dam. In fact it would be nice to see the same restrictions on Wivenhoe.
    Sorry to get off the main topic.
    I have been a remote member of the FCFSA for a few years now and would encourage others to also support them and if you havent fished Lenthalls yet go for a run and have a look.Just be aware that the dirt access road can get rough so dont go if your trailer is flimsy.
    Ray
    Last edited by rayken1938; 16-05-2009 at 06:35 AM. Reason: extra info

Cool Re: Lake Lenthal - FCFSA seeking new members

Quote Originally Posted by TonyM View Post
    Gday Daryl,

This one's been discussed a fair bit in the past, and like it or not that's the restrictions Wide Bay Water have decided to implement in the interest of controlling Water Quality (there primary objective I believe).

Old tech 2 strokes up to 6hp, or 4-Stroke and Direct Injection 2-Stroke engines up to 60hp. This equates to all 2 & 3 Star OEDA (Outboard Engine Distributors Association) rated engines.

Full details are at http://www.widebaywater.qld.gov.au/r...enthalldam.php

Personally, I cannot use my current Bass/Barra boat at Lenthalls either, however thats one of the primary reasons I have my electric only boat. If you get the chance to fish there you might see why it's worth the effort I would hope

Lenthalls is not a particularly large dam and doesn't take a lot to get around, even in a kayak/canoe.

So Tony it is a no go for the Pearl ? I thought you had one of those computer controlled flash one homosexual outboards?
    So you need one of those E Tecs like Trevs . You would still want the battery charged to get home .

So it is Daisy Duck on Lenthals?

On Wyvenhoe MacDonalds and others you can access as long as you only use the electric. I wish I still had me old Sea Gull blue smoker that would qualify hey?

So can you confirm I have to remove the New YAMAHA 20 2/ but can use the ol sea gull .

Where do I send me 20 bucks mate
    First Motion will be to have meetings at a pub!
    Last edited by darylive; 16-05-2009 at 10:10 AM. Reason: add stuff!

The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Where do I send me 20 bucks mate
    Thanks Darryl,

I'll attach a membership form which you can download and post along with payment to:

Fraser Coast Fish Stocking Association Inc
    PO Box 987
    Hervey Bay, Qld, 4655

First Motion will be to have meetings at a pub!
    We're a step ahead of you on that one, our General meetings and AGM are held at Kondari Resort, Urangan, Hervey Bay.

Yes Daisy is my "Boat" for Lenthalls (using the term boat loosely)

Here's the full details from Wide Bay Water's site:
    ================================================== =
    From 1 December 2007 boating restrictions at Lake Lenthall will allow:
    • • Speed Limit 6 knots - no wash and no skiing
    • • 4-Stroke and Direct Injection 2-Stroke engines up to 60hp. This equates to all 2 & 3 Star OEDA (Outboard Engine Distributors Association) rated engines.
    • • 1 to 6hp traditional 2-Strokes (0 and 1 star OEDA rated) permitted until January 2010.
    Wide Bay Water Corporation Rangers have been suitably trained by representatives of the Outboard Engine Distributors Association of Australia to identify compliant engines.
    Non-compliant engines (eg: 2 stroke carburettor and fuel injected outboards) are prohibited from using the lake. Additional restriction may be imposed on those engines that are clearly polluting the water (eg Smokey engines).
    ================================================== =

The old Sea-Gull (being less than 6hp) might be ok to use, providing it's running well and not belching loads of smoke/oil

Tony,

Do I have to remove the 20hp 2/ Yamaha from the boat?

The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Quote Originally Posted by darylive View Post
    Tony,

Do I have to remove the 20hp 2/ Yamaha from the boat?
    That's correct Darryl

i reckonif there serious about the dam then they would it like lake macdonald elctric only and they also allow you to keep ya outboard on that way there is no confusion about it and the water gets no efect on its quailty at all thats just my view not a winge just my view im hapy to follow all rules just belive that electric only makes more sense . And sorry ton cant help on that one to far away for me to be able to join and put the full effort into the stocking group as i would like when i live to far away but im sure they are a awsome group of people so if you live close join up it all helps

Many hands make light work and can let you do even more beneficial work, good luck with the membership drive. I hope you get some more committed people on deck.

As for the engine issue, I reckon there are a few places around that would love to have that level of flexibility.