-
Re: Ballina Tomorrow
I think he had a bad turn,i know the bloke driving did,that was very hairy it put the wind up me!!,when it settles down if you want we'll go for a arvo/evening missing to reardons
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Sounds good Mal. Just let me know when. Hope this weather pisses off soon. Might stir up the jewies on the wall though with the fresh coming down the river again.
-
No problem,as soon as it settle it's on,might have to dust off the beach rod and hit north wall i reckon there should be big jewies around,a mate of mine got a 7kg snapper off north wall last time it was like this.No work no fish it would send a man to drink
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Scott was gunna txt you this arv n tell u 2 get some feathers organised. Mal...got a rum in my hand as I type this msg
-
Ausfish Gold Member
I just bought a couple the other day. How do you rig yours up. I havent used them much at all, the first one i bought last year only lasted a couple of casts before the rocks ate it.
mmmmm rum
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Simple mate, swivel a meter of 70-80lb leader slide the feather on and tie on a 10/0.
-
Hey Ballina fellas, Dont want to hijack the thread, but can I ask a few questions.
I am going to the area for a week next week to the inlaws who live near broadwater. In the past I have had no problems smacking flathead on plastics everwhere up in that section of the Richmond. Its an awesome fishery and massive too. I have heard the jew get up that far too, but yet to land one.
( I reckon I hooked one in a deep hole near one of the bridges north of Broadwater, got blown away on a slickrig, with 6lb fireline and 12lb leader...had no chance.)
What sort of effect will the rain you guys have had have on the general fishing??? Will that area be OK, or will I need to change areas.????
I am also keen to have a chop at the jew too. Any tips or locations in the current conditions would be greatly appreciated. You can PM them to me if you like. I only fish once a year down there, so any tips are appreciated.
cheers Steve
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Steve thats an easy question to answer at this stage...any fish that were in the river will be at the river mouth and within a km of the bar...provided they arent dead. My guess is given the temperatures that should be an issue at present...I could be wrong tho.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Cheers Mark. Didnt know if you had the hook trailing back a bit further or not. Easy as. Hope there isnt another fish kill but we should be safe this time of year. Time will tell though. Maybe another one might spark some action to try fix the catchment and stop them for good. Prob not though.
Steve just bring the beach rods and you will have some fun from the headlands, beaches and walls. Weather is forcast to clear and the swell will be down by mon / tues.