-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: Ballina Tomorrow
From the bait in the water yesterday that doenst suprise me Matt. Took the jew hooks off yesterday arv and put the mack/tuna hooks back on. Might just sneak another 2 weeks in. Apparently still LT's at woody.
Scott cudnt believe 1 chopper from flat rock in 2hrs. Plenty of bonnies bustin on the Nth side but they didnt want to play either.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Thanks for the motivation Matt. 30kg $hite. I would like one of those. Have you had any luck this year.
Mark, I think flat rock must have been the only spot without fish the last few days going from what was at nth wall and how Rob went at Lennox Point. A bit strange. There must be tonnes of bonnies and little mac tuna from flat rock to the peg. They are feeding on the surface all day but like you said they arent playing much. Was hoping to fill the freezer with some bait. I also dont mind the bonnies for sashimi. Give me a yell if you want to put some livies out, i am still keen as. Not much on at work next week and the tides look good.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Greetings!
Five nice fish from 1-2.2kg in 40 minutes. Could have been more but it was a beautiful morning and i didn't want to rush things. All on a Rooster popper.
Mate off the point in a boat and friends got a good bag, including a Moari Wrasse, 3 Kingies and a Mac. Tuna. Unusual stuff.
Lots of big sharks around the North Wall at the moment.
Regards, Rob.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Seriously if there hadnt been a few other regulars at flat rock...all catching nothing....I woulda swore someone had diped all my lures in sheep dip earlier in the day!!! Scott will see what ive got on for the week in the morning. Rob, have the flat tails moved into the river yet...?
-
Ausfish Gold Member
And the weather screws us again....use to like fishin off the rocks in the rain, but grew outa that!....grew soft at about 30ish i reckon
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Yes! Soft, soft soft!
Missus has just got a new job so more money.
My birthday Wednesday. No fishing for me until Saturday cos of work and family commitments, but...... I can have another, smaller Penn Big Game or Rovex Bario for my birthday!
The 15-30lb Big game was great for the tailor butn they were out gunned!
Needed the heavy rod to throw them up on the rocks but the fight was little one sided and with a lighter rod could have cast the 47g popper further and easier.
Very good value rod!
Have a look at the Bario guys. Same blank as the Big Game. (Is that right Mattooty?.)
Regards, Rob.
Ballina.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Bloody rain !!!! I hope this means the gods will be nice too us and give us a good season next year. I was told the Jewies were think south of ballina at that reef i cant spell the name of. The pro rekons he had 100's under the boat but ran out of livies and they wouldnt touch anything else. Shouldnt be too before they come in a bit closer.
Another rod Rob. You will need a bigger house soon.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Unfortunately not this time.
Rovex and Penn Big games come in 6-15kg. Doesn't matter whether they are 10ft or 11ft! No point in getting a shorter rod of the same test. Most disappointing!
Do they just cut 1ft off the 11ft blank to make the 10ft?
Any ideas as to a graphite composite rod in the 12-15lb bracket for $100-150, anyone?
Or a similar blank that i could make up?
Regards, Rob.
Ballina.
-
Hey fellas
that reef would be reardons scott apparently they get like ants down there this time of year ha ha, it would be good for an arvo night fish down there when the wheather settles.i went out of ballina up to lennox sunday,there were acres of slimes and small bonnies,did'nt get any macks but a few trevally,and squire.there were a few people at the iron peg
cheers mal
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Thats the one Mal. He was using live pike and they wouldnt touch anything else. Put out slimies and yakkas and they went untouched. All the jew were about 10kg so not that big but i would be happy with that. He also pulled in a few snapper and trag.
You got a feed by the sounds of it. With all that bait around there must be some good fish out there you would hope.
I was one of those at the peg looking out at the boats wishing i was out there. I have been heading to the peg to get little mac tuna for bait and getting a few bonnies for sashimi. On sunday there was also a heap of choppers. I think everyone went home with a few.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Unfortunately its not "just" the rain more often is the 25-30knt SE and 3+m swell that accompanies the "rain" that makes swimming a livie out uncomfortable. Scott had hoped for a better season for the last 2 seasons but hasn't worked.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Yeh the sea is a mess and the weather is forecast to get worse. Still i am happy you got me out giving it a go. I have learnt a lot that has already helped in other areas of fishing. Cheers. The wait for next year will just make me keener and the odds have to be good for next year if it has been 2 bad seasons.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Dont panic Scott lots to do before next year!! jew season now!...a
-
-
Ausfish Gold Member
A jew would be nice. I have never put in the time to get one. Will fix that this year. Hopefully a lot bigger than the one i got last tues night.
Yeh no more barrels Mal. I wonder how that old bloke went and if that ambo was for him. He wasnt looking good was he.