Ballina Tomorrow
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ballina Tomorrow

Ballina Tomorrow

Got the day off tomorrow gonna go for a fish landbased just wondering whats the go. i was thinking south wall or even take the 4wd down the beach. Whats biteing?? any hints on what i should do?? i caught a couple of nice flat head out of the yak yesterday at mobs bay.

Re: Ballina Tomorrow

Haven't done well around here for what i have been chasing but have seen some massive bream at the iron peg. One caught last weekend that would have easily gone 42cm. It was a horse. There is also a report in the estuary section about a few flaties on sth beach. I got a small ( very small ) jewie on nth wall tues night but not much else. Maybe some sharks of the end of the wall when the dirty water comes out at low, well there was a couple of weeks ago, good fun but getting around the 6' mark i wasnt landing any. Should be some tailor around in the morning off the walls if you want an early start. If it was me i would prob start at sth wall for some tailor then head down the beach looking for some gutters, if no luck there try the wall again just before low. Hope this helps

Ahh took the live bait gear outa the ute today Scott....I fear the weathers screwed us this year!!!! Remember that lone strike until next year!!
    Plenty of Mullet up Sth Ballina beach Fishy was up there this arv. Will prolly head back tomorrow before rugby and try for a jew. Been plenty of choppers North of Ballina the last week with Schools at Black head, Skinnars Head and Flat rock. Caught flatties and bream at angels beach in the guuter at the corner near Skinners head and the also in gutter with rock in it about 400m Sth of flat rock. Fish (other than mullet) are still a little patchy on the beach

Not much down Lennox way to get excited about.

Mate I was on South Beach last Sat. Water was still dirty and weed and crap about. Got a few flatties in gutters on the low tide (as well as a few stingrays and some little dart, all on pilchards).
    If the weather has been good I would def check south beach out. with the erosion though maybe only driveable 2hrs either side of low? There's some nice formations there anyway. I am gonna head down for a few days sometime in the next few weeks if the weather holds up well enough

I was down there last week for work and snuck out to the north wall on Wed and Thurs afternoons. So so sad I had no gear with me because the water looked so hot....particularly Wed pm...high tide on dark, lots of suds....just screaming jew!! Saw a guy get a few nice tailor on metals both afternoons but not much else. One bloke I spoke to said he saw a guy get over 30 niggers inside the walls on both days....

cheers, Mike

cheers fellas i'm not an early riser haha might head down south and see what i can pick up, my rod is getting fixed hopefully its ready to go

Yea i fished the front of the wall a few weeks ago on the runout and there was mullet everywhere it looked like there should have been big fish around but it was quite......

Ahh took the live bait gear outa the ute today Scott....I fear the weathers screwed us this year!!!! Remember that lone strike until next year!!
    I thought as much, bit of a shame but there is always another year.
    Remember that lone strike !! hell i am doing everything i can to get it out of my head, missed chance. Bummer.

Ausfish Platinum Member mattooty's Avatar

Stonecold and deepfried, I've been the same. Haven't had the livebait gear in the car for a good month now. Haven't even seen a chop or shower of bait for double that time.

Yeh not a good start too my first year having a go. Plenty of small mac tuna on metals but nothing else. Still good to get out though and learn something new.

How did you go fishy. Any luck

Ausfish Gold Member

I'm going to give it a go around the Point tomorrow (Sunday).

Want to try out the newish Penn Big Game.

Might be some Greenbacks or Schoolies around.

Regards, Rob.
    Ballina.

Spun flat rock this arv for 3 hrs...........1 pissy chopper! just as well it was a fantastic arv to be close to the water

Spun flat rock this arv for 3 hrs...........1 pissy chopper! Just as well it was a fantastic arv to be close to the water
    Yeh same for me on Fri arvo, nothing but a little Bonnie. A bit strange for Flat Rock, i thought it would be producing the goods. Hit nth wall yesterday and pulled in a good bag of choppers on dusk. Pommy did well off Lennox point this morn, bigger fish as well which is good too hear.

Ausfish Platinum Member mattooty's Avatar

Boys, just had some serious motivation in the form of a 30 odd kilo spanish taken landbased near my local ledges. Confirmed fish and also confirmed that there wasn't a mixup between lb's and kg's.
    ITS ON....(just as soon as i finish this dam assignment)