Kevlacat 5.2 vs Bar Crusher 560/620/640 for offshore fishing. - Page 2
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Kevlacat 5.2 vs Bar Crusher 560/620/640 for offshore fishing.

Re: Kevlacat 5.2 vs Bar Crusher 560/620/640 for offshore fishing.

Quote Originally Posted by bennyboy View Post
    I have 2 friends one with a 640C Bar Crusher with a F200 Yammie, the other with a 2100 Offshore Kevlacat with twin 90 Etec's. They are talking about selling one boat to get a BIG boat and keeping one of the two for smaller distances. The Kevlacat is getting the chop because the Bar Crusher outperforms it in the rough and is cheaper to maintain.

Business class I would check your facts re hull design and cutting methods
    Ok for starters i am not a cat lover thats for sure so lets get this one straight first......... But if a 2100 KC doesn't outpreform a 640BC in rough conditions then thats really poor for the KC owners as Bar Crushers i believe are not the best ride IMO.and there design for a flooding keel does not help as much as what they go on about in stability either, especially if you are comparing it to a multi hull..... I have been in a 6.4BC but not a 2100 Kevla. Only the 5.2 and 2400 Offshore. and IMO the 5.2 KC road better then the 6.4 BC so don't even ask me to compare the 2400 with it (which i believe the 2400 offshore is actually a 6.6m boat too).

Yes the BC is cheaper to maintain which i believe is why the KC is going, but not becasue of ride surely, but if so then the 2100 must be a pig to ride in compared to the others which is a possibility!!!!!! HAve you been in the 2400 or the 5.2 and if so do you think the 6.4 rides better then these?? What big boat are they looking at going to?

Quote Originally Posted by Maccas View Post
    Have been reading a bit about Bar Crusher boats and I wondered how the ride in rough seas and the stability at rest compared to the KC 5.2 as I have never been in a Bar Crusher.The idea of the water in the hull at rest sounds good for stability but does it work as well as a cat. I get seasick and was a real problem when I had a mono but since I have had cat I rarely get sick What are the differences in ride in rough conditions. Has anybody been in both or even a Surtees as they work on a similar design idea.

Maccas
    Behind good horse it is always big dust

KC are good boats and would like if i could go to spot in KC but fish and sleep out of any another boat like BC, riptide, fisher mustang etc,etc but i do prefer to own bar crusher , rip tide , fisher, stabicraft,
    mustang ,etc

myway

Quote Originally Posted by business class View Post
    but the big difference is , like most cats we can cruise at 21-23kts both ways almost everytime I go out.

I understand with the whole small platey up against the BC is no comparison but......there is no way a 5.2 will do 21-23 knots in a 20knts plus wind if there is some swell and sh#t weather around...... remember he is talking about a 5.2 here, and if it was doing that sort of pace she will be hitting very hard or she will do what they do best..... DBF (dip,broach and flip) .

Trust me Business C, I've been out in Fly_1's KC many times coming home from fishing comps in 25kt plus winds and he still drives it hard at around 22kts. Yes, my bourbon and coke can keeps filling up with salt water. Yes, he is concentrating 110% to drive the boat. Yes, I keep telling him the donks are water cooled not air cooled but I sure wouldn't want to be doing it in his old Fisher or a BC.

Hey GBC,

I only said that I would like to know what others thought of Bar Crusher boats as I have no experience in them. I love my KC and would not sell it until I wanted to downsize as well as having something cheaper to run. But that's not going to happen anytime soon.

I reckon the advantages of the KC5.2 far outweigh the disadvantages for me at this stage especially the stability which as I said has cut my seasickness down to only the odd time and it is usually a big swell (3m+) that causes the problem. I know I go out in my cat when I wouldn't bother if I had a mono and wondered if anything has changed since I bought my first cat 21 years ago.

So apart from barcrusher is there anything mono, glass or ally that comes close to a KC 5.2 for ride and stability. Say up to 6.5m mono?

Cheerrs,

Maccas

Quote Originally Posted by MyWay View Post
    Behind good horse it is always big dust

KC are good boats and would like if i could go to spot in KC but fish and sleep out of any another boat like BC, riptide, fisher mustang etc,etc but i do prefer to own bar crusher , rip tide , fisher, stabicraft,
    mustang ,etc

myway
    Stabi Craft i can understand but MUSTANG... come on!! !!!!! i want what you are on .

Quote Originally Posted by Maccas View Post
    Hey GBC,

I only said that I would like to know what others thought of Bar Crusher boats as I have no experience in them. I love my KC and would not sell it until I wanted to downsize as well as having something cheaper to run. But that's not going to happen anytime soon.

I reckon the advantages of the KC5.2 far outweigh the disadvantages for me at this stage especially the stability which as I said has cut my seasickness down to only the odd time and it is usually a big swell (3m+) that causes the problem. I know I go out in my cat when I wouldn't bother if I had a mono and wondered if anything has changed since I bought my first cat 21 years ago.

So apart from barcrusher is there anything mono, glass or ally that comes close to a KC 5.2 for ride and stability. Say up to 6.5m mono?

Cheerrs,

Maccas

Eden craft 6m offshore for ride is my pick for you in mono, and will do everything you need it to and more. with a 225 on the back she will go like the clappers also. But with stability the only thing better then or equal to a cat is a Hydrofield but that is a Glass multihull also....

Quote Originally Posted by mirage View Post
    Trust me Business C, I've been out in Fly_1's KC many times coming home from fishing comps in 25kt plus winds and he still drives it hard at around 22kts. Yes, my bourbon and coke can keeps filling up with salt water. Yes, he is concentrating 110% to drive the boat. Yes, I keep telling him the donks are water cooled not air cooled but I sure wouldn't want to be doing it in his old Fisher or a BC.
    i agree 100 Percent with the KC rideing better then the fisher or BC...... and i believe you also with doing that, but i just ment it aint a matter of push the throttle and off we go doing 25knts in rubbish weather, it just won't happen!!!

Like any boat, both have pro's and con's, but with someone that has half an idea on how to get the best out of their cat at the wheel, the cat will kill the bcrusher everytime.

Just for my 2 cents worth.
    I just upgraded from my 6.25 cruisecraft to a 2400 KC. At the moment still fully coming to terms with Cat driving. But......... only had the boat 3 weeks and I think I am converted to Cats. The ride is unreel in the ocean and I am wondering what to do with all the extra deck space (thinking about a pool table as it is so stable).
    And so with that I will leave the mono/cat debate to go on for another decade or two.

Nathan

Quote Originally Posted by CCDrifter View Post
    Just for my 2 cents worth.
    I just upgraded from my 6.25 cruisecraft to a 2400 KC. At the moment still fully coming to terms with Cat driving. But......... only had the boat 3 weeks and I think I am converted to Cats. The ride is unreel in the ocean and I am wondering what to do with all the extra deck space (thinking about a pool table as it is so stable).
    And so with that I will leave the mono/cat debate to go on for another decade or two.

Nathan
    You sure it is called an upgrade there mate . Come on your making me with these coments. Can't wait till we go away mate so we can see who's boat will stand out from the rest and bye the sound of it the cat will be right up there hey. ... I am still be-wildered why they call them cats........... aren't they ment to land on there feet when in the air and not on the cabin

Matty

I did not even mention that a certain mono hull had to turn around on KC's first run south as it was to ruff.
    I heard that there is a problem with the new Honda for you. Have you got any paddles

Quote Originally Posted by CCDrifter View Post
    I did not even mention that a certain mono hull had to turn around on KC's first run south as it was to ruff.
    I heard that there is a problem with the new Honda for you. Have you got any paddles
    What problem is that?????

and don't say cause its not a zuke..... been there done that....... moveing on to bigger and better things

Thanks for asking me maccas - but I feel in this thread the honour is dubious

6.5m is a pretty big mono and sure there are plenty out there that will do what you want.

I have tried a barcrusher before - but it was the first series and pretty woeful.

All depends on how much you have to spend?

Genuine 3m swell in anything that planes is going to send anyone predispositioned to the odd chuck, over ther edge.

Good luck.

Quote Originally Posted by business class View Post
    i agree 100 Percent with the KC rideing better then the fisher or BC...... and i believe you also with doing that, but i just ment it aint a matter of push the throttle and off we go doing 25knts in rubbish weather, it just won't happen!!!

Matty

Mate it does happen mate! NO BS. Regardless of weather i drive my kc at 4800 rpm, it's the boats sweet spot any slower and it sits to low in the water and rides like a dog! You have to get them up and moving!! I 've had a guy who owns 680 fisher ( the original burt orange one) come for a trip with me and state that he could not keep up with me in this crap sea, and he drives his boat hard!! I think it's part of the secrects of cats that you need to keep them going fast so they sit high and ride soft! When you think you should be backing off because it's hitting hard often giving it more throttle helps the ride alot! It does scare the crew though!!! but after a few trips they get used to it!
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!