Cd Player

Thread: Cd Player

Cd Player

I have a 1997 Toyota Landcriuser ute.I bought a Kenwood CD player.Pulled the old tape deck and look at the wiring there.never saw so many wires for a radio.A guy told me you can buy adapter's / plugs that can plug CD into original wire loom.
    Was going to try some sterio places as well.

Re: Cd Player

They have all the adapter wirring looms in europe like that. But not really here in aus. In your kenwood manual there will be a wirring diagram. Go to supercheap or auto bahn etc.. And get these clips where you put 1 wire 1 way and the other next to it the other way and then close and click the top closed. It bridges and protects the joins.

So just look at your wirring diagram and it will have colours to connect to.. Easy as.

Those adapters are for factory standard radios and so.
    Somehow I do not reckon a tape player was standard in a '77 cruiser.
    Might be easier to pay the $100 for the stereo shop to install or get to know someone who can install it for you.
    Pity your on the northside. It usually takes about an hour to do.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

just tap into the loom ( with soldered joint) behind the plug.

Use a test light to find the battery positive wire and the acc. wire run your own earth.

Then take your speakers out to see what colour wires are there and hopefully the same colour is in the radio loom. Every now and again manufactures are good at changing the colours on you but.

neil

Hey Finga, Its a 97 cruiser. Not 77. Otherwise we'd be removing an 8 track player .

I vote that you use the wirring diagram that comes with your new stereo and these click together joints. Then you can learn like the rest of us. Earth first. Then speakers etc and possitive last. General rule.

I just pulled my good stereo out of my truck so I can sell it. Have a garbage bag full of cables now. Frigin heaps of wires.

Head unit, 2 amps, stacker, subwoofer, splits etc... It was crazy under there.

Got a price from Dennings sterios,$35 just to wire it.Calling in tomorrow.It would take me a few hours for me to work it out.