OK. I am currently looking at getting a 4wd to tow a boat. Price wise is aroudn $5000 mark and below or near. What brands are most reliable
pajero, cruisers, patrols, landrovers - etc.
Are there any known faults, - car wise is 1991-1996
tim
OK. I am currently looking at getting a 4wd to tow a boat. Price wise is aroudn $5000 mark and below or near. What brands are most reliable
pajero, cruisers, patrols, landrovers - etc.
Are there any known faults, - car wise is 1991-1996
tim
get a cruiser with the 1HZ motor. cant go worng.. they do a bilion kms
if u can aford get efi n not the carby models that are around.. you will be greatfull later when u have that little bit more reliable power
Gday mate I am a little confused by your advice.A1HZ motor is a diesel,yes it will go forever serviced properly,it is a bit of a slug but very reliable motor.
You then mention EFI versus carby?these are petrol engine fuel delivery systems not deisel (Although you can get electronically controled injection on a diesel)
Tim how big is the boat you are looking at towing?
For your budget a cruiser in the age bracket you mention will be very hard to find a good one.You can pick up a GQ patrol for that sort of money or maybe just a little more.
The pajero isnt a bad truck and if service history is good than it could be a good choice.
Good luck in your search.
If you always do what you've always done
You'll always get what you've always got
GQ Patrol for that sort of money. Diesel 4.2 would be the better option but the GQ petrol version is also a good reliable though can be thirsty.......
5K would buy you a very nice Series 1 Discovery V8 on LPG 3.9litre (I have a 95 model). I would factor in about $750 for a new distributor (including HEI module) from Performance Dizzy's in Melbourne to change the Lucas system and never look back (like I have done) because it turns the spark system from British Lucas to Australian Bosch and that was the only problem with the motor. They are a good tow vehicle. My 95 has a 4000kg legal tow capacity, and late 85 with ABS onwards 3500kg but realistically up to 2.5 tonn is not a drama. You may be up for new shocks and springs on anything you buy that old too.
Also look at the Jackaroo Turbo Diesel. # tonne towing and 126 odd Kw with great torque. They did a SE model that was a little more refined.
boat and trailer is only 1.5 tonnes
currenlty tow with a toyota lexcen , i want 4wd to do occasional beach work - not towing the boat though.
...I dont get you matey...your thread started with a 4wd tow vehicle?
If you just want the 4Bee for beach you can get almost anything depending on size requirements....
maybe he means that he dosen't want to tow the boat on the beach
kendell249 ur correct,
I want a 4wd to tow the boat on normal roads, etc to boat ramps with a bit more grunt then the normal sedans. Offroad wise, will only be the 4wd itself.
Have looked at the cruiser as they are the duck's of 4wd. I was even told that a pajero is a poor mans cruiser.
Price wise , i have a budget of around $7000, Can you guys advise on what i can get.
The Pajero is hardly a poor man's cruiser - they are totally different and for different applications. In any event it seems that you are aware the best 4wd to buy, so well done.
You cant just say cruiser flat out, different models have different problems. For that money you can get an 80 series. Thats the best cruiser ever. Mates 1 has 500 000k's on it and he still flogs it and does skids/burn outs. Im even getting rid of my 02 GU to buy an 80 series.
$7gs may get you a decent petrol 80, which will be a better vehicle on the sand but will cost you more in fuel than a diesel. The petrol will much more readily tolerate a wider usage pattern than the diesel, which very much prefers to be worked hard and often.
The 60 series are not to be despised, whatever cruiser you buy, how the previous owner/s have treated it should be your prime consideration.
For that money you will be buying a vehicle with plenty of k's, service history and work done to the vehicle by previous owners will save you plenty $.
yip.. Plenty of kms i the key work.
thinking of an old prado, but km wise is 250,000 and onwards - any problems with 1997 -1998 prado 3.4 with high Km
Anything else is too expensive.