Idiots. - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Idiots.

Re: Idiots.

Quote Originally Posted by TimiBoy View Post
    This is a can of worms, Andy.

I agree it's not smart, and if one of the kids came off, potentially a very sad outcome. I'd do it with my kids, but out of sight, and VERY VERY VERY slowly. 20 mph? Too fast, too stupid, too friggin' brain dead. But what speed is too fast?

tim
    Sorry bout that, meant 20kph. Still fast enough to cause death.

Quote Originally Posted by castlemaine View Post
    I was driving down the coast one weekend, 100k/h, when I spotted a car with driver, passenger and 2 year kid (sitting on the lap of the passenger). Everyone had seatbelts except the kid. I was so pissed off I ran Crimestoppers, and they said they'd get in touch with the driver and give them a warning. Maybe you should contact Crimestoppers too, as the licence plate is very visible. Great fun to ride on the sideboards but if it goes wrong it's nasty.

Agree. Make a statement to Police and give them the pictures.

The idiots driving the cars should not have a license. A car is never a theme park ride. People belong in seats with belts on - always.

White Pointer

Quote Originally Posted by countbaysea View Post
    A quick email of the pic to the cops. The nice number plate shot should track them down quickly.
    but it won't do anything check out the data on the picture next time you get a speed camera fine
    "light gear big fish big fun"

I'm with you FNQ,
    Gone are the days when I used to drive around town in karumba with a carton of prawns for a drivers license, with bare muddy feet, loaded guns bashing around in the back and the boys hanging off the roll bar in the tray........ Bring back the 'Real Australia' I say, the communist democracy we live in today sucks. (But unfortunately probably necessary)
    CHARTER BOAT, WHAT CHARTER BOAT?

Youre Damned if you do and your damned if you dont.

Dad was probably trying to let the kids have a bit of fun.

Havent you all let your kids grab the steering wheel from the passenger seat and have a steer? or put them in some kind of remotely dangerous situation just to broaden thier horizons and to let them have a good time?

I know i have! My daughter is still alive, call it luck, call it fate, call it whatever you like. I like to call it growing up! Thats what Kids need to do! Shouldnt it be a bit fun with the odd calculated risk thrown in on the parents behalf? Buy them a trail bike and have a few restless afternoons! Let them play footy and wait for them to come home with a busted arm.

Or theres the other end of the scale. wrap them in cotton wool, dont let them ride a bike near the road. Teach them to play basketball instead of footy and whatever you do dont let them near the baitboard on the boat with those sharp bait knives around.

If we all took photos and sent them off to the cops for things we have seen along the way we might as well have a badge and a set of cuffs ourselves.

IMHO its better to let people use thier own judgement with what they allow thier kids to do and not the laws.

Im no statistician but the chances of injury hanging off that 4x4 at 20kmh were probably pretty remote (anyway 42.6% of stats are made up) and the kids will probably remember the experience for a lifetime

It kind of looked like fun to me. Just like the fun the garbos had before they got replaced by the governments truck.

Rod

Im all for letting kids have fun, and addrenalin and finding their own feet - thats why mine love rock climbing (always with a line), full contact tai kwon do (after many years of training to be able to do that relatively safely), tubing behind the boat, water skiing, boating generally, swimming in the sea etc, but there is a line. To me the line is having them outside a vehicle or having a seat belt off (when on private property) when doing more than walking pace....perhaps its because I have seen the results of literally thousands of motor vehicle accidents (private property and road) in the last 20 years in my job and I dont much like those results.

I too have let the kids drive my truck - again on private property - but in first or second gear going slow that is very safe.

Even the back of the ute is better than running boards. The potential there is for them to go under the rear wheel - surely they can have fun doing other stuff that it still challenging and still involves an element of risk (but a more controlled risk and a lesser risk of catestrophic injury).

Rod, if it were you hanging off the side of the car, I would probably have a chuckle and say to myself that you are a ########. It is YOUR unwise descision to break the law. However, in this situation these are kids. As a parent it is your responsibility to look after your kids. If you dont want that responsibilty then dont have kids, simple as that. If that child falls off that car and rolls under a tire (remote as it may be) then its no longer going to be fun. Not to add that if there were an accident on fraser it may be 2-3 hours before you make it to a hospital.

Now what you dont see in that picture was that both 4wd are crossing chard rocks, so there is a lot of 4wd's squeezing past the small bit of beach that is avaiable. These idiots had only slowed down to pass the rocks, and they certainly sped up after they passed the rocks. The only reason I could take the photo was becuase I had stopped to let the other 4wd's pass.

In my opinion anyone who condones this kind of stupid behaviour either had not fully thought it out or has no regards for the life of their child.

I think the question is What are they teaching their kids? above the immediate risk to the kids. Cotton wool or not. These kids may get to 18 and be in a 4wd on bribie for new years with a group of others and decide to skylark in the 4wd as dad did back some years ago. Then the drunken driver just adds more speed as a thrill and tries a bit of a wiggle on the steering wheel and the rest may be a terrible outcome of a rolled vehicle and 2 crushed people while the driver survives as they had a seat belt on.

I hope they learn if they see this on the internet and keep this sort of stuff to their own property and at a safe speed.

The police have taken people to court before for evidence posted on the Web and I hope they get some sort of warning from the authorities.

The cops were everywhere on Fraser the last time I was there. So where were they this time? A hefty fine and loss of licenses are in order I think. How irresponsible.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

I saw the local cop twice, once driving up the beach, once at eurong having a coffee at the bakery. IMO not enough policing on the island. I am not taking this to the police, its not my job, plus I dont think they would do anything about it anyway. I just wanted to highlight the stupidity of some people and hopefully make some poeple stop and think before they consider doing these things.

Ausfish Gold Member

Looks like fun, and with most things fun there is an element of danger....

dob them into the police?? ...seriously.... GET A LIFE !
    .......Ash

Quote Originally Posted by ashh View Post
    Looks like fun, and with most things fun there is an element of danger....

dob them into the police?? ...seriously.... GET A LIFE !

Ashh
    You're right, it's non of my beeswax but if those kids got hurt (being selfish, here) it gives the 'Ban 4WD Group' another excuse to stop 4WDs on Fraser and like. Cheers

Not condoning anything, and if I caught my kids doing it I'd shoot them, but we used to be found doing 70 odd kmh up the beach on an upturned XC Falcon bonnet.

Not to mention urban surfing on the roof of an mq patrol down the gold coast highway.

I'm probably lucky to have made it through my youth on a whole number of levels, but I wouldn't change most of it.

I'm assuming they weren't going quick or doing donuts with the kids on the running boards when I say I don't think it is that bad?

Kids especially boys need to experiment, and I'm one of those parents that would prefer to have my son and his mates throwing up in my backyard and be safe than pretend it doesn't happen and have the cops show up on the doorstep one night? Of course I don't know if this is the right thing - just another choice to have to make as a parent guessing their way through.

Quote Originally Posted by castlemaine View Post
    Ashh
    You're right, it's non of my beeswax but if those kids got hurt (being selfish, here) it gives the 'Ban 4WD Group' another excuse to stop 4WDs on Fraser and like. Cheers
    It's so sad, isn't it? It used to be "Oh well, Boys will be Boys"

My Mate shot me with a slug gun after I told him if you throw a lot of petrol on a fire all at once it would put it out...

Firecrackers in termite mounds...

Shoving a stick in the spokes at speed...

Bonnet surfing...

Sling shots...

Home made explosives...

Horses...

Sneaking into that old blokes place in Stirling to play in the Army Tank (The sign said "Trespassers shot, survivors prosecuted" and we believed it, but did it anyway)

Now it's "irresponsible parents". Kids are growing up with no personality these days. They're into drugs at 14, and what's a Virgin? No fun in discovery any more, they shove it down your throat.

Do Gooders. Greenies. Same thing. They should all be peeled and rolled in salt.

**** BUT **** my Dad never let me do anything like the running board thing. Way past the boundary.

rant /off
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

not doubting Andy but all I have seen is a still pic...was the vehicle moving..no offence if it was stationary..and i bet that is what a copper would say.