Any dual cab ute that can tow 3.5t?? - Page 2

Thread: Any dual cab ute that can tow 3.5t??

Re: Any dual cab ute that can tow 3.5t??

Quote Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
    no way i would spend 100k on a lousy toyota, what a damn joke
    have a look at a few US 4bs, much better than what we have over here, $ is getting good and 3k to get it here, i think the chevs towing rate is 4.5t
    Don't know what they did to you Mate, but I like them. Their Bobcats are faultless (I have 5 and have put one out to pasture after 4,500 hours), and their service is extraordinary, IMO. We have 4 of their cars in the family, and have owned others, and have never, ever had an issue!

Quote Originally Posted by backlash08 View Post
    they are nice Tim, are these guys on Bris town south side somewhere?

The phone number's a Brissy number. I don't know where they are, the fella (Ryan) who sold me my last couple of Toyotas sent me the pics.

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Ausfish Gold Member

you could go down the goose neck path

You could by a second hand landcruiser HD with a turbo, and then cut it down to a dual cab. that would have all the towing capacity you need.

Creative conversions do nice work with dual cabs there are in Brendale and the owner is a keen boatie. I have a 4.2td gu patrol and I am sure the max tow wieght is 3 ton

Quote Originally Posted by The-easyrider View Post
    Creative conversions do nice work with dual cabs there are in Brendale and the owner is a keen boatie. I have a 4.2td gu patrol and I am sure the max tow wieght is 3 ton
    Interesting site that. I wonder if they could take an off the shelf dual cab (navara or colorado etc) and beef it up to 3.5ton towing capacity. At this stage I am inclined to say f-it and just tow the larger boat with the navara. The boat ramp is only 5 minutes down the road, and the boat is only 200kg over the limit. Its just not worth spending the coin on a vehicle that can tow it. So I am left with the choice of either going with a smaller boat, or the big boat and exceeding towing capacity, or going rack storage.

I really dont want a wagon cause the thing would always be full of shit and probably stink and be dirty all the time. At least with a tray I can just hose it out once a year

Ally trailer, higher towball weight would get you close. You can get an engineer to uprate some vehicles so it is worth asking.

Tow overweight knowingly, nah the insurance company could wreck your life and bank balance for a minor bingle in which someone gets hurt - just not worth it.

Cheapest option if just going a few km is a tractor . Seriously highly rated and cheap to register and insure but not so good on the freeway!!!!! Keeps the neighbours kids entertained as well then buy any lightweight ute you want and save money driving it everyday without andy of the wear and tear.