Any dual cab ute that can tow 3.5t??

Thread: Any dual cab ute that can tow 3.5t??

Any dual cab ute that can tow 3.5t??

My mind has started drifting to the 7m boat as opposed to the 6m version I was initially interested in. Only problem is that the d40 navara wont pull it legally. I really dont want a chev or an F truck (ie dont want a 6l engine!) and dont want a wagon. Is there any other dual cab options? I cant find one..

Re: Any dual cab ute that can tow 3.5t??

nope...except the F truck

Quote Originally Posted by ak73 View Post
    nope...except the F truck
    Thats what i though. Looks like if I go down that path the wagon is the only option...

Could you get a converted wagon?

The Land Rover Defender 130 will tow 3.5t legally or so the website says!
    All I want is to catch MORE legal fish!

Quote Originally Posted by shrunken pojie View Post
    The Land Rover Defender 130 will tow 3.5t legally or so the website says!

True. The LR 130 will tow it - but it will be S--L--O--W and the ergonomics are crap unless you are as deformed as it is.

3.5T for a 7 meter boat seems heavy. What is it?

White Pointer

3.2t is the actual weight, or at least thats what the salesman told me. Tournament 2250 is the boat. Probably cheaper to put it in rack storage than buy a new car..

Quote Originally Posted by TheRealAndy View Post
    3.2t is the actual weight, or at least thats what the salesman told me. Tournament 2250 is the boat. Probably cheaper to put it in rack storage than buy a new car..

There's a lot length and power options between 6M and 7M and your just have to lose 250Kg and tow vehicle options open up big time.

Let us know.

White Pointer

You could try one of these puppies...

3.5t, no wuckin' furries! On a petrol GXL a shade over $100k, I reckon...

But you could also get similar done on a 100 series, or even (cough) a patrol?

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

they are the 4, I have "been there, done that"
    F truck, Chev, rover or convert cruiser, can always go for a Canter style duel cab but would rather the rover (and that is saying something)
    the other option which I thought about but did not progress was a 5th wheel gooseneck trailer option, you then look at GVM as opposed to std tow capacity and it would work well if one could be bothered, I figure the wagon option and put up with it - cheers - Craig

Quote Originally Posted by TimiBoy View Post
    You could try one of these puppies...

3.5t, no wuckin' furries! On a petrol GXL a shade over $100k, I reckon...

But you could also get similar done on a 100 series, or even (cough) a patrol?

they are nice Tim, are these guys on Bris town south side somewhere?

no way i would spend 100k on a lousy toyota, what a damn joke
    have a look at a few US 4bs, much better than what we have over here, $ is getting good and 3k to get it here, i think the chevs towing rate is 4.5t

Just remember the max towing capacity might be 3t or 3.5t and so on.
    Towing a boat or what ever at that maximum weight all the time will wear out the
    the vehicle a lot quicker than if you buy something that has a greater towing capacity.
    There was a good thread on exactly this senario not so long ago.
    Graeme

Ok I'm a rover owner.

A TD5 Rover with a re-chipped CPU is certainly not slow or under powered.

the 4.2 DT Patrol will do 3.5ton.

I have a mate that has one for sale, but the back has been chopped ( ex-wagon ) and full length alloy tray put on. Yep, he lengthened the chassis.

22K would pull it up.