Thread: Fishing on the Gold Coast

Talking Fishing on the Gold Coast

Hi!

It's me again, back to annoy.

Sneaking suspicion Mr Chicken might have gotten me a new fishing rod for Mothers Day, so best be trying it out on the weekend, right?

[The answer is yes]

Anyone have any suggestionations on where to go? I was thinking The Spit? Or somewhere down like Fingal Heads or Brunswick Heads or something?

Anyway, any advice on location much appreciated.
    Pobbs > 28. Strictly recreational fisher.
    Mr Chicken > 3 in Janaury! Likes to reel the line in, fish on the end or not.

Re: Fishing on the Gold Coast

Gday Pb perhaps Marine stadium which is the area down the end of the spit next to the boat ramp. Probably won't catch a record breaker but might be able to get Mr bok bok onto a fish. He can have a dip there as well.

Avast ye matey!

If you do hit NSW you will need a fishing licence

A mate fished the seaway last week and hooked 3 flathead he could not get into the boat on his own. Lost all 3, but shows they are there in numbers and size. Best fished during the week though, the plethora of jet skis and boats on the weekends usually turns the fish off the bite.

Hi Pobbledonk, I've fish the Spit many times with good success. Are you into bait fishing or luring? If bait, then I'd be fishing the Sand Pumping Jetty. Here I get Trevally, Dart, Tarwhine, Bream and Kingies there and if you're lucky you'll hook up but if you're chasing these guys you'll need a flying gaff as it's extremely high. If you're just going to chase the Treva's, Bream and Dart then use a paternoster rig with size 4 hooks and you should be getting nailed. For bait use peeled Prawns or Pipi's. If you want more info I have a few reports up from early last year.

Good luck,
    Tom

Quote Originally Posted by dogsbody View Post
    Gday Pb perhaps Marine stadium which is the area down the end of the spit next to the boat ramp. Probably won't catch a record breaker but might be able to get Mr bok bok onto a fish. He can have a dip there as well.

PML Dave, Mr Bok Bok?

Fingal lighthouse was always a safe bet, but it used to cheese me off that I drive all that way, get a NSW fishing license and find my best casting platform was occupied!

My last successful trip was a very easy approach fishing from the rock wall at the back of the public park alongside Broadwater Tourist park. The old steam train in the park is almost right out in front. Night time the bream would come in shallow and find my chicken strips soaked in anchovie oil. Just sit patiently .... If chicken man can do that, you should have a body guard there for good measure.

Good luck!

G'day!

The old steam train has been gone for a couple of years. But it was situated at the end of Smith Street/North Street approach to the Broadwater.

There are also some fishing platforms north of the Broadwater Caravan park up towards the Grand Hotel boat ramp.

Ray de R

Quote Originally Posted by RayDeR View Post
    G'day!

The old steam train has been gone for a couple of years.

Ray de R
    That's about how long it's been since I fished it - thanks for the clarification, but it is a good time of year to be thinking about those XOS breeder bream that come into the broadwater this time of year.........every year

If you want a punters chance head to where the trawlers are at the spit and head north about 20m to a sandbank that feeds into the shallows. Always fish , as the trawlers throw a lot of stuff in the water. Pelicans hang there too and look pretty cool against the backdrop , probably worth taking a camera.
    Gold Coast , Queensland. Paradise!

Thanks Fishy-bobs!

Yeah I've somehow also managed to score a night down there too so TWO DAYS OF FISHING *swoons*

So! I might try The Hock-A-Lugy day 1, and those Broadwater tips Day 2.

It's like Cheese on Toast. *rubs belly*

Quote Originally Posted by Leighton View Post
    If you do hit NSW you will need a fishing licence
    Believe it or not, but NSW ammended the law so that an adult assisting a child under the age of 18 who is using a single line with a single hook does not require a license.
    A win for common sense !

Don't help me though, my young bloke has been watching pop too much and fishes with up to 3 !!!

PB, if Mr Chicken catches a fish, send me a pic & I'll put him in Bush n Beach magazine

For a more relaxed location to Fish, go to Currumbin. A place called Winders Park. It is on the North side of the creek, before you go under the GC HWY bridge towards the alley.
    Drop into Brad Smiths on the way & get some fresh worms. The little fella will have a ball on the bream.
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Quote Originally Posted by Heath View Post
    Believe it or not, but NSW ammended the law so that an adult assisting a child under the age of 18 who is using a single line with a single hook does not require a license.
    A win for common sense !

Don't help me though, my young bloke has been watching pop too much and fishes with up to 3 !!!

PB, if Mr Chicken catches a fish, send me a pic & I'll put him in Bush n Beach magazine

For a more relaxed location to Fish, go to Currumbin. A place called Winders Park. It is on the North side of the creek, before you go under the GC HWY bridge towards the alley.
    Drop into Brad Smiths on the way & get some fresh worms. The little fella will have a ball on the bream.
    Thanks heaps! I will send you a pic for sure.

You know, that Winders Park sounds fantastic. *high five*

So I find myself sitting on a pontoon at Winders Park having caught live bait that's currently on my line as per random old mate walking by's instructions. Guess I'll just wait and see what happens?

I take my kids to varsity lakes ,5 mins from robina town centre ,easy and comfortable timber decking ,plethora of fish for the kids , and you cant miss out ,take fresh loaf of bread ,feed it out burley fish up , ALL YOU NEED IS 1 SMALL HOOK NOTHING ELSE, roll up small hard moist ball of bread put it on hook cast where you have been feeding them ,

Quote Originally Posted by childers View Post
    I take my kids to varsity lakes ,5 mins from robina town centre ,easy and comfortable timber decking ,plethora of fish for the kids , and you cant miss out ,take fresh loaf of bread ,feed it out burley fish up , ALL YOU NEED IS 1 SMALL HOOK NOTHING ELSE, roll up small hard moist ball of bread put it on hook cast where you have been feeding them ,

Hey childers is this spot open to the public? would love to take my little girl there for her first fish! that spot looks perfect pleaase let me no. cheers mate