Thread: changing v19c from inboard to outboard

changing v19c from inboard to outboard

Hey lads, i have been toying with the idea of buying a haines v19c, the one i have my eyes on currently has a mercruiser on the back of it. If i bought this rig i would bolt an outboard on it, so i would love to hear from anyone who has done this conversion on the haines or similar hull. Any ideas and costs involved would be wicked cheers buca t.
    NO SEA TO ROUGH, NO FISH TO TOUGH... TEAM XTREAM FISHING.
    YALTACRAFT FISHERMAN 2000 " ANGLER MANAGEMENT"

Re: changing v19c from inboard to outboard

So you would go from a relatively inexspensive Inboard motor, admitedly with a leg. To a high priced outboard.!

How come?

I would kill to have another mid mount inboard with a keel!

Bung a pod on and go for it.
    Lot more room inside with an outboard on the bum
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

3-4K for the pod + engine + odds and ends hard to gauge the actual price untill you pick an engine.

I you want someone south of brissie to gie you an actual quote, PM me and I will send you the contact details of a guy who speialises in this stuff

Retired Honda Master Tech

Dont jump straight in, i know legs are a pain in the butt and inboards have there issues ( namely lack of deck space) but as Roughasguts stated , gees they ride well !!!!!!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

I did my 19C from Mercruiser to outboard and i have never looked back.

If you have the time and money for the up keep on the sterndrive then keep it. But if you want ease of opperation then the outboard is the way to go.

The difference in ride IS noticeable though! With the stern drive they will tend to plow through the water with all that weight lower in the boat toward the midships. So it was softer riding. But now its light and is so much more fun to cruise around in.

Personally I love the clean look with the sterndrive but the extra space without that box does make a difference.

I have a 150 2stroke on mine and thats plenty of power. Even with 4 people on board. (the sterndrive was 188 hp)

Aaron

Gidday Aaron

Long time no see, sounds like you need to get out in the 19C more mate.

Bucat

If the Haines is a good one and the motor and leg is dead, or there abouts, go for it, has worked well for Aaron.

Fair bit of $$$ involved as Garry has indicated, personal choice.

Motor, mods to boat, pod, will add up. Would the trailer still be suitable?

Do you have any pics of the intended?

Bill

Have a look at F& B Mag for April, Yatala Yamaha did a conversion.All the details are there, explaining the proceedure.
    David

Hi Bill,

Never enough time to use the boat!

How is your 19C???

cheers for your input lads, would a modified transom be the go instead of a pod. I have heard of a few dramas with aftermarket pods cracking ect espescialy with a big outboard on the arse end. I realize this may just be bad workmanship, has anyone heard of such dramas.
    buca t
    NO SEA TO ROUGH, NO FISH TO TOUGH... TEAM XTREAM FISHING.
    YALTACRAFT FISHERMAN 2000 " ANGLER MANAGEMENT"

Quote Originally Posted by Homer_Jay View Post
    Hi Bill,

Never enough time to use the boat!

How is your 19C???
    Going well Aaron

the 200 opti just had it's 2 year ( 180hr ) service.

Like you mate don't use it as often as I would like, especially offshore.

We MUST do a 19C day up the banks/hards this season.

Quote Originally Posted by BUCA T View Post
    cheers for your input lads, would a modified transom be the go instead of a pod. I have heard of a few dramas with aftermarket pods cracking ect espescialy with a big outboard on the arse end. I realize this may just be bad workmanship, has anyone heard of such dramas.
    buca t

If the boat is good, why change it?

The boats are best fished with 2 on board, mods will not really improve that aspect, leg or outboard.

In relation to pods, putting the wrong one on can dramatically change the characteristics of the hull, you don't want to do that.

Hull extension, if that's what you decide to do.

Your getting a few hours up on her now!

Will have to do a trip for sure. I just have to get this fuel issue sorted out with mine. Gotta get some confidence in her again!

BUCA T

I reinforced the transom quite alot. Like you I had visions of things cracking or pods falling off. All I can say is so far so good. You would have to make sure your transom is solid to start with.

Aaron

the pod will help with flotation hunt around there heaps that have been done in NQ most build the pod out of ally then glass over. if you have trouble give us a yell . that would have to be the most podded boat in nq. and sort after. check the stringers though

Quote Originally Posted by Spaniard_King View Post
    3-4K for the pod + engine + odds and ends hard to gauge the actual price untill you pick an engine.

I you want someone south of brissie to gie you an actual quote, PM me and I will send you the contact details of a guy who speialises in this stuff
    spaniard king 3/4 k for a pod ill move to the goldie and specialize for that price try 1300 might be more accurate