Townsville Reef

Thread: Townsville Reef

Townsville Reef

Hi Guy's

What near perfect weather this weekend has been. Have been waiting many months now to take the big longboat for a run to Centerpede reef (91kms from the ramp). Arrived at 4.30am Saturday morning to secure a park at our undersized facility to find only 6 parks left. Launched and headed out to our mark in perfect glass sea's. Arrived about 7am with only one other boat on site. Water was very clear, with no swell and no wind, was a hot day. Drifted and fished around many bommies for half a dozen trout and a few red throats. Plenty of live bait around, but no surface action to be seen all day. Threw poppers-nothing, trolled - zilch. Night anchored on a mark near the reef in about 40m. Caught plenty of small stuff and a few more red throats. Cooked a few steaks, had a few beers and called it a night. Up at 5am, boiling a brew and discussing our options for the day. Decided to fish here where we were for an hour, have some brecky and start our moves. Well, we started to get some trout, then some more trout and red throats, and before we knew it it was 9am. As the hot bite slowed, we decided to have a feed, and as I had a big livey out swimming the last few hours with not a touch, decided to drop it 6ft off the bottom hoping for a nice fat cod. It was only down about ten minutes when this horse of a trout decided to woof it. Did it give me some curry. Anyway we pulled it into the boat for a photo and quickly released it (after piecing it's air bladder) and watched it swim strongly back into the depths. No weight, but was 120cm. One of the biggest I have seen and a PB for me. We continued to fish for trout and by about midday we had reached our bag limit.
    Cleaned up and headed home in still great conditions. The whole weekend was a pearler. Here is a pic of the horse......I mean trout.
    Lee

Re: Townsville Reef

That is a bloody horse Trout mate well done!! Cheers PBass

Freakin' horse allright! Congrats mate. What would it have weighed you reckon?
    "holy sh!t, did you see that?"

Lee,

That is a monster trout. Good to see it go back to grow some more

Cheers Gazza

Monster fish - congrats !!.....Geeb

yerh i would have probably release it as well mate
    very nice catch
    sean

I didn't even know they grew to that size. Excellent to see you released it to take the more normal sized ones. It's good carma I reckon and hope that helped towards the great catch for the trip.

I would like to think I would have done exactly the same. Now you have a photo of the big one that you released which should make a good story for the kids and their kids..........

Ausfish Platinum Member ronnien's Avatar

sounds like a very good trip indeed!
    & i bet he gave you some curry.

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

Thats is a great PB trout
    Top Notch effort mate
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Awesome mate, well done

G'day Lee,

That is a great fish. What tackle were you using? Also any pics of the other trout?

sore after that one?
    Southwind SF20 'Piscatoreous'
    Savage 14ft tinny "About Time'

OMG WOW What a horse congrats good on you for the release I have heard at that size there is a possability of sigatera. Cheers Shawno.

woah!!! thats an animal! congrats on the pb and release. greeeeeat fish. cheers trav

mate hell of a good fish, well done on releasing it. Wayno