Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Okuma Epix baitfeeder

Re: Okuma Epix baitfeeder

Okuma = absolute S#it
    Maybe, but it's cheap s#it

More seriously, you can't compare an Okuma Epix with a Stella for quality, but then the Stella is 4-5 times more expensive!

Personally I've been lucky with all my Okumas so far (I have 4), so I'm happy to recommend them as an option for someone who's not willing to break the bank.

I'll vote sh!t.
    Oh and their warranty service - sh!t.

Once bitten - second time pay the extras and get a real one.

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    I'll vote sh!t.
    Oh and their warranty service - sh!t.

Once bitten - second time pay the extras and get a real one.
    i agree totally mate, i had a high speed v system i paid about $320 for and the bail arm just fell off ! what a piece of crap, the warrenty fixed it but then all the drag just fell to bits and jammed the spool and the rep didnt wanna know about it. absolute rubbish i ended up selling it for $100 cause thats all they are worth. ill never buy another okuma

I got mine back from the warranty repair (anti reverse bearing thingo- common as) and there was a rude note telling me that the spool was fused to the shaft, the crankcase was full of sand and to never send it back for repair.
    Now the above may indeed have been an accurate statement about the condition of the reel, but the thing was only a year old, and I certainly don't play favorites with my gear. That reel was alongside older shimanos etc that still havent been serviced (event was three years ago). My gear gets washed off in truckwash along with the boat and everything else, then gets a drink of inox. I've got a cheap ($40.00) shakespeare 1000 something or other that I've been trying to kill for years and it laps up the maintenance regime I give it and still looks reasonable.
    I'll pay the extra $50 every time - it works out heaps cheaper.

If any Okuma reps want to have a sook - I've still 'proudly' got the repair ticket in the original reel box downstairs.

I got myself 2 abu 6500c3. I think shimano 3500b and penn slammer 560l are too big for me, as I fish near port of brisbane most of the time. By the way i also have 2 Okuma reels , One is dead another one is nearly there. Thanks.

Ok Guys...

First, Okumas are really made for a "every now and then" fisherman... not the fisherman who is out almost every weekend.

No, you cant compare Okumas to Stellas or ever Stradics... totally different standards.

I hate coming to threads and hearing "its just sh!t" and every man and hes dog needing to say it aswell, Yes, They are made to a price and you get what you pay for. Ok?

Bandit.
    Cheers, Bandit

Tracker Avalanche V18 DC - 175 EFI Mercury OptiMax
    Quintrex 475 TopEnder - 60 EFI Yamaha 4 Stroke

Yeah its horses for courses here, don't try to compare an orange with an apple.

I really like my okumas and have four baitrunners, I think they are great value and mine have had some abuse, but no problems so far. If something goes wrong I'll just chuck it.

Still, they are not shimanos which are much nicer. Not shimano price either. Penn you can stick.

Not O.K. B.B.

Never heard of a stellar or a stradic baitfeeder.

I'll compare an okuma baitfeeder - against a shimano baitfeeder. Result Okuma is Crap. Only a little bit cheaper, but a whole lot more crap.

Compare an Epix EFs 80 against a triton speedmaster - Oh Okuma is crap.

Any of their well saturated adds in any form of fishing media would have one believe that they are every bit as good as the name brand product, and their pricing points are not that far behind either.

The end result is that you've now paid too much for crap which is even worse than if they'd priced themselves against the bottom feeders of the tackle market - where they should be.

I hope I haven't been misunderstood by anyone here - IMHO Okuma is crap.

GBC,

Some people like Okumas, some dont... and thats fine.

Im not going to argue, but I do think it is time to step down off your high horse.

Bandit.
    Cheers, Bandit

I have an Okuma baitrunner, appart from some paint that has peeled off it is one of my favorite reels and have had no problems with it and I don't even look after it that well,

I'll go clean it now

Quote Originally Posted by BarraBandit View Post
    GBC,

Some people like Okumas, some dont... and thats fine.

Im not going to argue, but I do think it is time to step down off your high horse.

Bandit.
    So you enter the thread picking fights and now you don't want to argue? Make your mind up would ya.

The poster asked our opinions of the reels - I think he might know mine - but after two posts we're still guessing what yours might be? Or even if you've ever used one much less seen one?

I've paid good money and been burnt - please give the thread starter your experiences.

GBC,

Im not looking to pick a fight, nor am I going to argue.

Yes, I have a Epix 20... I use it for trout bait fishing and light saltwater, It is an ok reel for the money but I own alot better... Its is the reel that I use when I dont mind getting afew knocks on it. I find the drag fine, but the finish on the reel abit plasticy for my likes, it is also alittle long for me... I much rather a Twinpower/Sustain/Stradic looking reel and I do own those also. As for a rod I use with it, nothing speical, just a $80 IM6 rod I got from my local tackle store... I use a T-Curve with my Twinpower 1000FB most of the time.

Mate, Ask around, I am an honest person and I dont pick fights. I will say this, you are looking for a fight but I suggest you look elsewere. I was simply saying, that people come onto a thread to read things that are not rude, offencive or anything in that matter... it is fine to tell your opinon, and even the bad things about a reel... but there is a right and wrong way to do it.

I dont like when people turn threads into a thread of hate... TS asked for opinions not arguments or agressive responces.

This is the last I am going to say on the matter.

Bandit.
    Cheers, Bandit

LIfe is short, Fish more often and don't fight !!!!

I have 3 6500 baitrunners and 1 epix and just bought a penn live liner. the 6500's i've had for years and have caught everything from bream to 10kg reds out wide the epix and penn i bought on my last trip to bowen. we fished the plane wreck and around Glouster Is for about a week and then chased crabs,jacks & barra for a couple of days up the creek. the penn & 6500's are on par with the 6500's holding a bit more line and a bit stronger in the bail area and the penn slightly smoother in the drag when putting some serious pressure on deep fish. the epix well it's still sitting in my brothers boat in bowen ........ I hope he forgives me in time.

BigE

What are you saying Big E, that you accidently forgot it? Or it is sh!te?..lol

When I first read this thread, I thought I might as well ask what you guy's think of other Okuma reels, but I don't think I will bother now.

Late last year I purchased 2 Okuma large eggbeaters and a TD20L trolling reel. I will be thinking now everytime I'm hooked up will they fail? we shall see.

I guess any reel/brand can have some issues, but it's good to people's own experience good or bad. That's what I like about Ausfish, plenty of info.

Lee