View Poll Results: Should we be looking at a different date?

Voters
12. You may not vote on this poll
  • should we look at a different date?

1 8.33%
  • 10th 11th 12th

1 8.33%
  • 24th 25th 26th

11 91.67%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 75 of 95 FirstFirst ... 25656667686970717273747576777879808182838485 ... LastLast
Results 1,111 to 1,125 of 1414

Thread: SOMERSET SESSION Midyear Muster 25th July

Re: SOMERSET SESSION Midyear Muster 25th July

thanks reaL Daryl a great weekend mate, enjoyed it loved your stew and port

shane

Quote Originally Posted by stevelcqld View Post
    lol.. I thought that they must be on seeing how they took off around 5.45.. with not sight or sounds of them by 9.30... Still Roo could have called seeing that mobiles worked...

Bet that drive home was a quite one... :-(

Thanks also go to Daryl for arranging the discounted fees..

In my defence, your honor, I swear to this court that indeed I had no mobile reception in that part of the dam. the fact that I didn't turn the phone on is irrelevant. I gave her 3 good nudges to get her fired up, but she wouldn't start...a bit like my computer in cold weather...needs some tender loving warmth and a good kick to get going in the morning.
    Was a quiet trip home....except for the odd snore from the passenger seat.
    Thanks all for a great weekend. We had a ball. I think we'll become regular visitors to somerset, those "Craw" are delicious and the fishing,once it fires up, is great.
    The poor ute has a Speckle finish now with ash bonded to the paintwork, I gave it a quick blast with the pressure washer last night but it failed to budge the bulk of it. We'll give her a proper wash tonight and need to make time to properly clean off the bonded crap and build a few coats of wax back on. next time we'll park it out of range from Pyro's fire fallout. I reckon that fire was hot enough to change local weather patterns...maybe thats why the fish fired up the next day!

Cheers Roo.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo View Post
    In my defence, your honor, I swear to this court that indeed I had no mobile reception in that part of the dam. the fact that I didn't turn the phone on is irrelevant. I gave her 3 good nudges to get her fired up, but she wouldn't start...a bit like my computer in cold weather...needs some tender loving warmth and a good kick to get going in the morning.
    Was a quiet trip home....except for the odd snore from the passenger seat.
    Thanks all for a great weekend. We had a ball. I think we'll become regular visitors to somerset, those "Craw" are delicious and the fishing,once it fires up, is great.
    The poor ute has a Speckle finish now with ash bonded to the paintwork, I gave it a quick blast with the pressure washer last night but it failed to budge the bulk of it. We'll give her a proper wash tonight and need to make time to properly clean off the bonded crap and build a few coats of wax back on. next time we'll park it out of range from Pyro's fire fallout. I reckon that fire was hot enough to change local weather patterns...maybe thats why the fish fired up the next day!

Cheers Roo.
    Oh what a load of Piffle. Maybe you should have bought me a cup of tea down, i would have got up for that.
    There will be a lot of ' would you like a foot rub Kim' and 'Can i do the dishes for you Kim' and 'Here let me mow the lawn this time Kim' to get you off the hook young man..... now what's for dinner bitch
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'

PIFFLE!!!!
    You have the hide to ask me how to spell it then use it against me!!! Ha! nevermind dinner, How you getting home?

hehehehehehehehehe.
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...

Quote Originally Posted by Roo View Post
    PIFFLE!!!!
    You have the hide to ask me how to spell it then use it against me!!! Ha! nevermind dinner, How you getting home?

mmm, gather the beast is at pottsy.....you go bloke, looks like kimmys cookin porkin or she be walkin.....
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.

Noice Deano...did you think of that all on you own ????
    The one down fall of sharing a car to work, we were leaving an hour ago and I'm still waiting...........

You tell him kimmy

shane

Man.. did I start a fight !!! But I have a feel Kim would win !!! lol

Sounds like you all had a wild time !!

Can someone please give me a quick report on the Red Claw crayfish ?
    Are they still plentifull ? Suggested locations ?

I'm heading to Somerset this weekend for a quickie........

Thanks & Regards,

Craigie

Quote Originally Posted by craigie View Post
    Sounds like you all had a wild time !!

Can someone please give me a quick report on the Red Claw crayfish ?
    Are they still plentifull ? Suggested locations ?

I'm heading to Somerset this weekend for a quickie........

Thanks & Regards,

Craigie
    yeah very slow lots of traps out there but i think the colld has slowed them down

Talking Re: SOMERSET SESSION Midyear Muster 25th July

Quote Originally Posted by gunna View Post
    Great weekend. Terrific to meet everyone. Pity about the bassin!!
    Gunna, you left a bit too early mate, they fired up Monday and this week has been the best in living memory PB 50

Quote Originally Posted by Tropicaltrout View Post
    Well just a small post, the bassin got better today shame it was the day we had to come home!!!!Will tack on pics and stuff when the mob get home.
    Oh yeh , just got home late yesterday, had to go to a surprise 30th.
    Gift was a fresh Bass gutted, gilled, scalled, marinated in lemon and lime juice, rubbed with salt, filled with lemon and lime slices, wrapped in foil ready for the oven or BBQ.

I thought it was a good idea but the fat controller was up me for being late, then; "WHAT ARE YOU THINKING WITH THE FISH?"
    "You can't give her a fish!"

Bloody sheilas, are they all mad? Well present Kimmy excepted of course

Quote Originally Posted by nipsta View Post
    what a great weekend had by all the photos will speak for them selfs but the funnys thing was a blokes boat prolems right in frontof our camping spot he got a stand ovaition from all the sessioners once they got it going well done when free entertainment just shows up for us all to watch and i think i worked out why he did go out it was to hide from darryls mate as they had been called to remove them from the park i guess if there out on the water then bit harder to find lol
    I spoke to the manager about those clowns;
    There are now five more idiots on the black list
    and they were locals

Quote Originally Posted by park View Post
    Great to meet you all but the bassin didn't get much better for me yesterday! For a nine hour session I only managed one good hit and a half hearted bump. Again, I didn't find anything in the way of a school with more than 10 or so fish and only found a couple of schools that size for the entire day. I mainly fished the lower reaches and then up above the power lines for the last few hours of the day.

Shaun
    But it was worth the trip back hey Bro? Park had to tear himself away yesterday. Once we found the A legue school again in Double D Bay.

Thanks all for a great Weekend that for me turned into a great Week with no hassles and no complaints. Maybe Life begins at 50. and
    :tongue: to all those who said we wouldn't catch Bass in July
    Did I mention PB 50? and yesterday Deano and I stopped counting around the 30? I expect we caugh about 50.

I think the no amplified music policy worked a treat.
    Just the conversation around the fire was great.
    There was of course the special dedications from Callop, of course of course
    and no one can talk to a horse of course except maybe Shane, of course the horse can't talk, if

Well more from me latter I have a truck in the driveway and boat in the shed full of stuff to be sorted. I just parked the lot last night. Oh Crap there are still a couple of live red claw in the live well / ice box. There is a camera full of pics some where and I do have to make a visit to the tackle shop for some little gold ice jigs!

Golden Boy fired well all week Nagg, as expected he did required some minor surgery in the hook department. (Small splitties and trebles on the shopping list). I stripped the bloody fire wire of the new rig it just did not come good. (Braid on the list) Besides the fact I left the heavy spool on the reel and didn't put the light one on after spooling .
    And it seems short soft rods are the go ,well for jigging Bass at least :wink:

To the shed.......

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Yep, yesterday was an absolute cracker with Darryl and Deano! Best session ever for me on Somerset and I seriously lost count of how many fish I caight during the day.

Had a ball with the boys early on when we had the fish to ourselves, with both boats helping relocate schools as they were moving around quite a bit. Matt fraser turned up testing some protype MF50 & MF60's which we all put to good used throughout the middle of the day. The action slowed up somewhat then but that's when I caught my biggest fish away from the main schools.

I can't emphasize enough how much the last 4 hours of day fired up with the only downside being all the weekends competetion boats turning up to surround me for the last two hours. By then it didn't matter though and my shoulder was bloody sore so it was a good time to leave. I am actually sore all over today so that should give you an idea of how constant the action was.

Here's a couple of pics...

Attachment 49598

Attachment 49599

Big thanks to the boys and Matt Fraser for a great day out.

Shaun

Are you home permanently or did you just want to get away from those bass

So how good was it ........ we need a Daryl report

Chris[/quote]

Mate I am as happy a a dog with two tails .

The best Bass session in memory. I left there yesterday after a cracker session in the morning. Deano came out for the day and Park came back. Mat Frazer also turned up there 'as the word had got around and all the tried and noted fishers from the stations near and far had gathered at the', well you know how it goes.

Mat had some proto type MF 50 and 60 soft vibes he is developing so we gave them a work out and I landed a stonker on the the first cast with the 60. No doubt the pics will turn up around the traps.

But the ice jigs were definitely the go two jig. Deano lost one to a horse probably Bob 50 (as will be seen in my pics) Bob the Bloody Big Bass,
    he is a double D Fortunately Parky had another small ice jig and Deano was back in the game (green and gold)

I did manage to loose a demo lure during the week for Mike Delisier who had them to try and I will no doubt cop some curry over that some where. It was hit big time! Probably Big Bob getting back at me. Micheal Cordial also turned up during the week and was pulling out Bass like a fat on free jelly beans.

Now

To the shed.........
    There are things living in my boat! well I hope they are still living . and camera full of MAAGNIFICENT photos some where!

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Quote Originally Posted by darylive View Post
    Gunna, you left a bit too early mate, they fired up Monday and this week has been the best in living memory PB 50

Oh yeh , just got home late yesterday, had to go to a surprise 30th.
    Gift was a fresh Bass gutted, gilled, scalled, marinated in lemon and lime juice, rubbed with salt, filled with lemon and lime slices, wrapped in foil ready for the oven or BBQ.

I thought it was a good idea but the fat controller was up me for being late, then; "WHAT ARE YOU THINKING WITH THE FISH?"
    "You can't give her a fish!"

Bloody sheilas, are they all mad? Well present Kimmy excepted of course

I spoke to the manager about those clowns;
    There are now five more idiots on the black list.
    and they were locals

But it was worth the trip back hey Bro? Park had to tear himself away yesterday. Once we found the A legue school again in Double D Bay.

Thanks all for a great Weekend that for me turned into a great Week with no hassles and no complaints. Maybe Life begins at 50. and
    :tongue: to all those who said we wouldn't catch Bass in July
    Did I mention PB 50? and yesterday Deano and I stopped counting around the 30? I expect we caugh about 50.

I think the no amplified music policy worked a treat. Just the conversation around the fire was great.
    There was of course the special dedications from Callop, of course of course
    and no one can talk to a horse of course except maybe Shane, of course the horse can't talk, if

Well more from me latter I have a truck in the driveway and boat in the shed full of stuff to be sorted. I just parked the lot last night. Oh Crap there are still a couple of live red claw in the live well / ice box. There is a camera full of pics some where and I do have to make a visit to the tackle shop for some little gold ice jigs!
    Golden Boy fired well all week Nagg, as expected he did required some minor surgery in the hook department. (Small splitties and trebles on the shopping list). I stripped the bloody fire wire of the new rig it just did not come good. (Braid on the list) Besides the fact I left the heavy spool on the reel and didn't put the light one on after spooling .
    And it seems short soft rods are the go ,well for jigging Bass at least :wink:

To the shed.......

Good onya Daryl - You deserve the fishies for putting together such a great weekend - DOES LIFE GET ANY BETTER ! maybe if they were barra!

Glad you got good use of that outfit & jig ....... Maybe the jig should be retired
    That tiny little loomis / daiwa outfit was great to use on those bass hey ? ..... specially with the IJ - MAAAGNIFICENT

I guess we now have to turn our attention to the big girls ...... might have one more go at the bass though

Well done