View Poll Results: Should we be looking at a different date?

Voters
12. You may not vote on this poll
  • should we look at a different date?

1 8.33%
  • 10th 11th 12th

1 8.33%
  • 24th 25th 26th

11 91.67%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 86 of 95 FirstFirst ... 367677787980818283848586878889909192939495 LastLast
Results 1,276 to 1,290 of 1414

Thread: SOMERSET SESSION Midyear Muster 25th July

Re: SOMERSET SESSION Midyear Muster 25th July

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    thanks Roo,

We should start colating some SI pics, especially with barra vs snags vs highways etc..and posting them..It would make some good photos and something to learn here.

ok have a look at these

Thanks for that Trev, can you explain what we are looking at please mate??

I get the impression that we are looking at a school of bait fish??, but then again i don't know.

Both are left side shots, i assume that the dark shape on the white base (left side of pic's) are shadows, the white shape in the dark right side of the pic's is the actual target, wether it is a single fish or a school of bait?????

Help please?????

Pleased to see you finally got a sounder that works Trev, oh yes and one that does not fill up with water.

John.

Quote Originally Posted by Obi _ Wan View Post
    Thanks for that Trev, can you explain what we are looking at please mate??

I get the impression that we are looking at a school of bait fish??, but then again i don't know.

Both are left side shots, i assume that the dark shape on the white base (left side of pic's) are shadows, the white shape in the dark right side of the pic's is the actual target, wether it is a single fish or a school of bait?????

Help please?????

Pleased to see you finally got a sounder that works Trev, oh yes and one that does not fill up with water.

John.
    John,

I would be happy and safe to say that is a barra, yes on the left beam...his coverage is 50ft to left of boat.. the arch is the fish, and the shadow is just that. One fish is sitting higher in the column than other...or if its the same fish, its dropped or risen on Trev's second pass....just speculating of course...Trev can add more.

I think Lee had some shots of what a bait school looks like somewhere..bait looks very similar to ordinary sounder readings from what I have seen.

Cheers Steve
    I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!

Yes Steve spot on.... Beam is set to 50 feet left side. Two different fish. The beam is looking at the bank as the boat moves along it.If you have spent years looking at sounders SI can be a bit on the tough side to get your head around. These shots came from Scottys unit..What made me buy a unit was fishing pepper point at Mondy during a comp . We tied up to the tree and just watched as the barra just moved through. Sometimes you would see two fish in the beam as they went past. By using the unit you know whats in the area. And you can target fish .You still have to get them to bite though.A word of advice if you are thinking about buying one. The bigger the screen the better the image . What brand ? Well l went Humminbird only because l have had to many problems with my Lowrance HDS units.Saying that check this site out http://www.fishtec.co.za/downimaging...20downscan.htm

Looking at that link Trev Lowrance was clearly the better image......amazing detail.......both good, but Lowrance was the better......Thanks for that
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Amazing images, wont be long we wont be lookin at a arch or shadow but a real fish....

well worth looking into

Quote Originally Posted by Tropicaltrout View Post
    Amazing images, wont be long we wont be lookin at a arch or shadow but a real fish....

well worth looking into
    Nath You are. not a sonar return but a image even its shadow. Whito yes by that report it says Lowrance is the better unit What l like about the bird units is the service I have had my unit for about a month and its had two updates allready Ask questions from them and you do get answers

Don't blame you going the way you did Trev, enough is enough......I would have done the same, and have done in the past going from Lowrance to Garmin.

These shots courtesy of Roo.
    Its along the drop off at No Secret, back in 2009. The notes are Rod's interpretation of what the shot is sounding.
    For those that havent fished No Secret Point, its a prominent point, a hill that drops down to flats, and then into the main creek channel. When these shots were taken, we were fishing in along the edge of the drop off, casting back into about 6 foot of water still on the flats.
    End result was a couple of nice fish dropped, and a surface fish matted on a Tango Turd

Those shots explain's a lot about No Secret....alway's some sort of enquiry........it will be a different story these days.

The depression in the bank just above the Depth counter (first shot(6.1M)) is approx inline with Tree 2 in the second shot....but taken from the opposite side(in the channel)and passing in the opposite direction. Hows the water temps for a frosty morning . I reckon fish were holding off this edge and coming up onto the flat to see what the fuss was for when Brian's Tango was splashing about. Brian, I think you said most hits came about where the tree is lying on the bottom.... perhaps they used the tree as a safe point to access the flat or even an ambush point. Either way, looking for subtle depressions and hard structure on the flats, with access to deep water has proven the value of the side image to me. I've snooped about a few productive spots but didn't take any shots, might need to whack a big SD card in for the Meeting. The shots above revealed a pattern that would be hard to spot without pulling the plug and going walkabout.

Cheers, Roo.

Quote Originally Posted by Awoonga View Post
    ok have a look at these
    You can even see which way they are swimming

What about going a step further ? l just have ! Mapping the bottom . Most inland lakes the bottom does not change only the depth of water. So the best time to do it is now when the lake is full.The product is called Dr Depth... http://www.drdepth.se/scan.php?l=gb

yeah Rod, there was that one consistant point where most boils and short slaps were coming from.
    I hopped out and walked it in December when she was high and dry (this was when Pepper Tree was right on the water line), the bank flats just dropped straight into the creek channel very interesting to see what you actually cast at when water is there. Would have been an awesome spot to bank cast, but chances of getting fish back thru that vertical timber were about nil.
    I did the same at Pepper, must say those couple of little lie downs on the slope were a treasure trove of snagged jigs and lures lol.

Quote Originally Posted by Awoonga View Post
    What about going a step further ? l just have ! Mapping the bottom . Most inland lakes the bottom does not change only the depth of water. So the best time to do it is now when the lake is full.The product is called Dr Depth... http://www.drdepth.se/scan.php?l=gb

so thats how its done!!

Some of the examples - whoa!