View Poll Results: Should we be looking at a different date?

Voters
12. You may not vote on this poll
  • should we look at a different date?

1 8.33%
  • 10th 11th 12th

1 8.33%
  • 24th 25th 26th

11 91.67%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 51 of 95 FirstFirst ... 414243444546474849505152535455565758596061 ... LastLast

Thread: SOMERSET SESSION Midyear Muster 25th July

Re: SOMERSET SESSION Midyear Muster 25th July

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    I always participate

As you can see in this photo of the ground cover .....Attachment 48571 Last month was EXTRA DRY
    Ataboy........nice work.

Pete.

Quote Originally Posted by Pete62 View Post
    Thanks Whitto, is it fair to say that all the dams in the area got a fair bit of inflow? If so why has Somerset shut down.
    Also, the emphasis seems to be on jigging, are winter Bass and Barra the same? the fish holding deep are not in feed mode, should we be looking for them up in the shallows, (walmer water)we all see Barra on the sounder holding deep and more often than not these fish are not looking for tucker.

Not professing to know here, just asking the question.

Pete.
    I guess Pete the only other thing I can offer is.......once you find the school and if the Bass are feeding a slash image is obvious on your sounder......usually Bass will hold in about the 20/30 feet mark or very near to the Thermocline......Cheers Whitto
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Cool Re: SOMERSET SESSION Midyear Muster 25th July

Quote Originally Posted by Pete62 View Post
    Thanks Whitto, is it fair to say that all the dams in the area got a fair bit of inflow? If so why has Somerset shut down.
    Also, the emphasis seems to be on jigging, are winter Bass and Barra the same? the fish holding deep are not in feed mode, should we be looking for them up in the shallows, (walmer water)we all see Barra on the sounder holding deep and more often than not these fish are not looking for tucker.

Not professing to know here, just asking the question.

Pete.
    Pete, I gave the shallows a fair sort of work out mate for no return. But what you say is the general school of thought at this time of year when they can't be found in the open feeding on schools of bait.
    The Schools have been good in past years (years past ) you can pick the bait balls with slashes coming up through them when the bass are on the feed. Even this was hard to find. I did get some reasonable soundings of slashes about the place but not the slashes through the bait balls that we search for.
    speaking of slashes and.........
    never mind, How are things Steve?

As Whitto suggested you might think the bludgers would be at the deep end this time of year but I found nothing there. The few hundred meters off the dam wall is out of bounds, I would like to have had a sound around there. I did run the marker line. If they were hanging on the wall when the water went they might all be in Wyvenhoe .

Quote Originally Posted by Whitto View Post
    I guess Pete the only other thing I can offer is.......once you find the school and if the Bass are feeding a slash image is obvious on your sounder......usually Bass will hold in about the 20/30 feet mark or very near to the Thermocline......Cheers Whitto
    Well speaking of the slash there you go.

An old punter at the Dam did suggest it was still bit early for Bass, another few weeks he said . He claimed it was the end of the Red claw run and the Bass should come on soon. Well for what ever reason they are certianly laying low now. But as has been said, this happens after a big influx of water and we certianly have had that. I am hoping now the weather has stabalised they may come back on line in the next few weeks as they should . Theoretically the weather should be warming now although it will still be cold.
    The bloody fish have to eat eventually.

Any way I am committed to Somerset in July. I certainly cannot gaurentee fish, but can gaurentee bragging rights to any one who gets a goodin.

Wyvenhoe is only 20 min down the road if any one wanted to have a go there with the electric. It may be where all the Somerset Bass ended up when they opened the gates for the first time in recent years.

It would not be unreasonable to do the morning at Wyvenhoe and the arvo at Somerset or versa visa if you are keen enough.

I certainly cannot see any reason to be out too early or late.

The beuty of Somerset is you can fish till dark then just pull the boat up on the bank for the night.

Three weeks yet... it can all change in three weeks :huh:
    I hope to be there the Wednesday before and stay for a week .

Then maybe Borumba, then Mondy maybe even Awoonga . No I cannot retire but I have enough long service leave to practice for two months

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Sounds the goods D, besides, we all know bass are just a spikey live bait for barra.
    Stick with Somerset guys, if you dont catch a fish, just pretend its Mondy, will feel perfectly acceptable then!
    Bring on the fire, beer, bundy, camp oven roast dinner.
    Be even better if I was staying the nite to drink the beer, bundy and eat the camp oven roast dinner............

Fair call ..... particularly 3 weeks out .. anything can happen - The fish are there just someone needs to crack the pattern.
    Regardless of fish .... it will no doubt be a memorable occasion

Smokey Daryl

I hope to catch but that will make a change for me on the bass hunt... Still nothing like a tent a fire and a boat on the water... throw in a few drinks and is a ripper trip... So Somerset it is... Sure we will all take back something for the pool room.. Lets just hope it's not a blacken tent from a NAGG extreme Bonfire !!!

Cool Re: SOMERSET SESSION Midyear Muster 25th July

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Sounds the goods D, besides, we all know bass are just a spikey live bait for barra.
    Stick with Somerset guys, if you dont catch a fish, just pretend its Mondy, will feel perfectly acceptable then!
    Be even better if I was staying the nite to drink the beer, bundy and eat the camp oven roast dinner............

You really need to get your piejorities right bro,
    what could be better?
    })))*>

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Quote Originally Posted by stevelcqld View Post
    I hope to catch but that will make a change for me on the bass hunt... Still nothing like a tent a fire and a boat on the water... throw in a few drinks and is a ripper trip... So Somerset it is... Sure we will all take back something for the pool room.. Lets just hope it's not a blacken tent from a NAGG extreme Bonfire !!!

Nothing like the distant glow of a Nagg fire ..... or smoldering tent

Fire & Ice ..could be the Sessions theme song

Quote Originally Posted by darylive View Post
    what could be better? })))*>

dont forget

I like the sound of BP no thats new ground for most of the muster crew??? this somerset sounds very bait related (redclaw and nothing else of late) Boondooma is a bit far for the southern folk... anyhow whatever the case we will still be a show

i agree stick with sommerset challenge is what fishing is all about and if ya defeated before ya even there you may as well stay home. i gunner give it a red hot go if i get one then bonus if i dont then oh well im sure the camp fire and camp cooking wil make up for it like they said they could fire anytime you just got to hit it and try
    it up too yous but if ya move im staying so yeah it doesnt worry me one bit

Quote Originally Posted by darylive View Post
    what could be better? })))*>

yeah, I know mate, but commitments, plus Noels missus runs a school for aspiring beuty therapists, so the scenery will be a lot noicer than the usual crew - cepting you Kimmy of course - rose amongt a paddock of bindi eye with this mob. Its a costume party, and Debs is up me to go as a couple, and she keeps suggesting me as batman, I cant get it thru to her that theres something not quite right with that! See where this one leads to lol........
    And thank you, no Batman jokes from the mob!!
    Re the fish, we could all bring a tray of worms, I know a good fresh water jewie spot up near the twin bridges, but thats not why we do it. Only a crazy man keeps casting a bit of plastic on the off chance he could fool a fish into having a crack, but who here hasnt doubted their sanity some time??

yeah, I know mate, but commitments, plus Noels missus runs a school for aspiring beuty therapists, so the scenery will be a lot noicer than the usual crew - cepting you Kimmy of course - rose amongt a paddock of bindi eye with this mob. Its a costume party, and Debs is up me to go as a couple, and she keeps suggesting me as batman, I cant get it thru to her that theres something not quite right with that! See where this one leads to lol........
    Re the fish, we could all bring a tray of worms, I know a good fresh water jewie spot up near the twin bridges, but thats not why we do it. Only a crazy man keeps casting a bit of plastic on the off chance he could fool a fish into having a crack, but who here hasnt doubted their sanity some time??
    I can see it now

Attachment 48615 .... Holy catfish Brian - do you want the net?

Nah mate , i'll just go the lip grip !!!!

holly taledo batman stop the bus

Regardless of the location I have to say fishing will be a second this trip... Just going for a laugh... bloody bass pfff who cares!

Nagg love those piccies, be careful though????