Thread: headlights ? fixed spotlight

Re: headlights ? fixed spotlight

I just have a cheap set of car spotties mounted under the bow....no need for expensive ones. These do the trick fine..Mine have cracks in them from bumpin into trees etc. They look a bit daggy but they are the best thing I have ever added to the boat when your coming home on a black night at Monduaran....the darker the better.

I will try and post some pics over the weekend

cheers Steve

Daryl Daryl Daryl.....You know Im a man of few words on this forum.....but really do you think you should be meandering in wild confusion on Monduran at night.......Let me take you back to the Inaugural Muster of last year and remind you of your crashing into a tree causing a widow maker to end up on your boat (enough fire wood for a week) and was that before you fell in the water or after Im not quite sure....and this was in broad daylight.....You with me.......Imagine the carnage destruction to ecology and life as we know it if you entertain night fishing.......NNNNaaaaahhhh only joking Daryl, buy a good handheld light you can't have it on for too long with all the insects......besides we want you to be around to recite your rendition of how Monduran's bay/area lettering was compiled......mainly for the new people who will be in attendance this year and the rest of us will enjoy hearing it againin our various states of enebreation........On a serious tangent don't think for a moment when you hit the Basin your fairly clear and up the revs a tad or two......3 trips back my brother Silverback and I were steaming along near the cement ramp and decided to have a scan with the powerlight and there was this idiot on a Yak as they call them happily paddling along for very nearly the last time in his young life with not a light within a bull roar to be see on him or his yak....I gestured to him that if he had another brain it would be lonely as we steamed by......Ill have to go and buy a "Grumpy Old Man" T-Shirt nowyou won't be safe till the boats on the trailer and your back at the camp with a beverage in hand
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

-set of 1 spot and 1 flood won for $80 on eVil-bay
    -detatchable aluminium bracket welded up for a carton of beer
    -may look a bit odd but works an absolute treat

.......Ash

Lightbulb Re: headlights ? fixed spotlight

Well I just spent 20 minutes typing a great shpeel and the bloody site logged off lost the F'lot

Some great ideas thanks.

Whitto you probably have the best suggestion, what was I thinkin out at night? . This trip I confined my after dark piscatorial exploits to A Bay
    SO I COULD AT LEAST FIND MY WAY HOME.

It was amusing to see a parade of lost souls picking their way home through the sticks. Four boats dodging trees and each other, quick slow, slow, quick. and the last boat had a bloody big spot light shining on the others. That's right the boat at the back of the field.

I made some comment back at camp to be met with
    'careful that was us' (trev Awoonga)
    'good spotty hey' (Tony of The PEARL)
    'couldn't see s#it' Nagg (prospect Queenslander?)

Never mind. Some good ideas here.

I have led strips in the boat under the gunwales (blue of course) and they are great providing some low light inside. I am considering them as suggested.
    I have two small ones in the shed (from E Bay of course) waiting for an assignment
    I don't want any more glare on the boat the nav light already reflects of the Minn Kota, which until now hadn't bothered me.

Nip how did you go with the nav lights facing up

I do have a bow rail with rod holders, good idea there.

Plenty of good ideas. The though of a fixed flood easily turned on and off from the captains seat appeals to me. Off course a spotty is still essential and I do have one.

Thanksfor your input keep 'em coming. We will have an impressive night parade next trip and everyone will be cursing the others lights .

And yer Whitto I have come close to cleaning up idiots at night with no lights :angry:

I reckon you are entitled to swamp them basards

TO THE SHED!!
    Last edited by darylive; 24-04-2009 at 08:07 PM. Reason: change stuff

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Single flood up the front, been there for nearly two years now and good as gold. Flood is better than a spot especially when you just run one light. I'd prefer two angled out a bit to the side but not sure the alternator on the 30hp would run them.

The light is an absolute must on the river where you only have a couple of metres grace in between snags and avoiding cumbungi clumps free floating on the lake. Make sure the light is well forward to avoid the glare reflecting back. Night vision is still essential for the periphrals. A light and GPS track makes your night trips routine, not a game of Russian Routlette

It's certainly an option I am considering but to date I am yet to find anything that will fit the bill

I have plenty of on deck/under deck LED lighting....boat looks like a floating house of ill repute at night The deck lights have certainly saved me walking straight off the deck on a dark night when nature calls.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Any tractor mob or earth moving mob would have some rubber encased work lights.
    They'll takae a bump or seven and with a bit of a rummage in the shed some stainless or alloy mounts could be made
    http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/w..._525434_525434
    Sealed beams too so no worries about water inside the light
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Pics as promised.

Wired thru to console, flick of switch and away you go.

cheers Steve

Hi Steve,
    Thanks for that mate, one more question? Do you run them off your outboard battery or do you have seperate batteries??

John.

Quote Originally Posted by Obi _ Wan View Post
    Hi Steve,
    Thanks for that mate, one more question? Do you run them off your outboard battery or do you have seperate batteries??

John.
    John, I run them straight from the outboard battery. My opti has a 60 amp charger, so I figure it would be charging quicker than the lights use....and I only use the spotties when travelling.

cheers Steve

Roo - purchased my LEDS from:

www.bluewaterled.com

Mike, the owner is excellent to deal with. His customer service is awesome.

They are fairly cheap and they also sell packages which are even cheaper. Paul, Dale, Frankoo, Craig and I have all got the deluxe Bass package but Mike can do you any size strips and in any clolour.

The single 60LED strip I got cost anout $40 so not exxy at all considering they are waterproof and very slim line.

You can source them in Aust (Jaycar etc) but they not as good and a lot of the time, you have to wire them yourself.

As mentioned, a combo of LED and spottie mounted under bow sprit is perfect.