Thread: Where to take a young fella fishing.

Where to take a young fella fishing.

Mate of mine has a little fella who has been asking to go fishing lately. I offered to take them out on my boat, but would like to stay within the bounds of a river/creek as he only young. I was hoping to find a place where I can be guaranteed to catch a fish, even if its only small. Any thoughts?

Should mention I am northside brisbane, but southside is ok too.

Re: Where to take a young fella fishing.

g'day andy.Mate it is pretty hard to go past the bribie passage and the creeks that run off it.Get the young fella out and pump some yabbies,kids seem to love the bait collecting almost as much as fishing.The big sandbank opposite mission point just past donnybrook has always been good for bait and then fish the same area for whiting,bream and flathead.very good chance to score a few fish.Just be aware of green zones.

Cheers Craig
    If you always do what you've always done
    You'll always get what you've always got

I suppose it depends on where you are. Today I took my little girl down to the spit & fished the inside area opposite seaworld, it's calm, theres plenty of sand, shade under the trees. Using yabbies she caught some bream & whiting & topped off the morning with a 42cm whiting.. pretty pleased with herself as it equals my best ever & that took 47 years to get..

I take my kids down the pin - Bribie would be similar.

Quick fang in the boat to make them think they're somewhere special, then straight onto the sand for shell collecting and catching bream on bread. Picnic on the beach etc.

My kids (4 & 2) don't last long in the boat so I don't make it the focus of the day just yet. Just getting them used to it.

Quote Originally Posted by catfishkid View Post
    g'day andy.Mate it is pretty hard to go past the bribie passage and the creeks that run off it.Get the young fella out and pump some yabbies,kids seem to love the bait collecting almost as much as fishing.The big sandbank opposite mission point just past donnybrook has always been good for bait and then fish the same area for whiting,bream and flathead.very good chance to score a few fish.Just be aware of green zones.

Cheers Craig

Exactly the spot that I was going to mention. If you put the boat in near the Bribie bridge, it's a good fun drive to get to Mission Point. The young bloke (and old ones) should really enjoy it!
    Leigh (Kero).

Take LOTS of food!!! This is very important. I personally would go and buy some bait jigs and find some bait to jig up. That will make him happy. If you do use bait, don't bother with great live baits like yabbies, they get picked off too qiuickly, I would go with a hardy bait like chicken gut or squid, gives him a chance to actually feel the bite.

Good luck, oh, and did I mention, take heaps of food!!

Quote Originally Posted by catfishkid View Post

Cheers Craig
    Craig is on to it.
    This is a great option. The kids can also have a swim at the beach at Mission Point when they get bored.
    Give it a couple of weeks for the fresh water to go. I was up there last week and the sandies were on fire in the lower reaches of the passage. So take a few crab pots. Beware in the passage to double float and put a brick in them as they will float off in the 3 knot run. I was using 20m of rope in 10M of water as well!

Another option is the Pine river.

What other people think about me is not my business: Michael J Fox.

Is there anywhere nearby where you can use one of those 6 hook bait jig thingys for the herring? Pulling in 6 little wriggly fish at a time is great fun for kids.

Catfish is on the money, Bribie
    Off the bank ... Banksia Beach for whiting on yabbies or worms.

The mouth of Ningi Creek is the shot drifting from the yellow marker up to the old racks. Good whiting flathead and parrot to be had there using worms or yabbs and enough action to keep any youngster busy. Boat ramp at spinnakers is about 900m away or toorbul about 1km away.

A good kid spot boat free is the new woody point jetty.
    There are railings so they can't fall in and plenty seats ,shade and lots of little fish.
    And for the big kids a few mackeral were caught there a few weeks ago as well as the odd taylor at night.
    soon will be squid season

depending on what boat,I take my kids to the pearl channel and get them used to fishing a little deep,also heaps of airtails and small sqiure,thenzip to tangas for a swim