Thread: Any up to date info for Yamba?

Question Any up to date info for Yamba?

Hi Guys,

Will heading down to Yamba for a week at the end of the month. Just wondering if anyone can give me an update as to what we can expect to catch around this time of year in the river, off the rock walls, headlands or beaches.

We will be bringing down a boat so all options will be open.

Is there a lot of fresh in the river at the moment?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Chiron

Re: Any up to date info for Yamba?

If you're there for a week maybe you could go a bit further afield and try Angourie. There is a nice long back beach there with plenty of holes & other variations. Beach worms & pippies are usually obtainable.

You can park up at the Angourie top carpark near the beginning of the boardwalk.

At the southern end of the back beach there is a rockly headland with plenty of lettuce (for blackfish) growing on the rocks. There's a few good possies for fishing off the rocks but I'm not sure how that area is categorised these days re: marine / national park status.

If you want some extra exercise and want a good walk, take the board walk (it follows the back beach headland) and when the boardwalk ends....keep walking.
    It turns into a small foot path and leads to some more remote beaches, further south. Off the beaten track in other words but worth a squizz.

Me, I haven't been there for a few years now but the area has plenty of beach fishing potential.

Yamba: Fishing by boat...I used to head upriver a few kms to Goodwood Island wharf. We used to catch some quality flathead in that vicinity (on the drift & anchored) on the low to rising tide using whitebait and/or fresh prawns. The wharf is on the Nth side of the river.

A little bit further up and on the opposite river bank is Durringtons Lane (you drive past the turn off on your way into Yamba, its next to a small school).

That's also worth a drift past as I've got some good flatties there too - and whiting. It's also possible to launch a boat from the shore as there's an earth ramp to a small sandy beach that the locals use.
    "...a voice in my head keeps telling me to go fishing..."

At the top end of goodwood near Iluka ther is acuople of houses. Also the collis wall starts there. Around the wall and near the bank are good for whiting on a rising tide preferably early morning. flatfaces are there also. I personally always take down fresh bloodworms from brissie for the whiting. Good yabbie bank opposite the tavern also.. Cheers Inlike...

Waters still insanely brown. Bring down some heavy gear and big hardbodies and throw for jew.
    Bream have been going off their heads in the lower reaches of the river on cut baits. Just keep the weight minimal as the stingrays are still out in force after this fresh. Not a whole heap of whiting around, but still a few flathead kicking about. Again, concentrate your efforts around the lower end of the river on the high tide as this is when you'll get your cleanest water (if any);

Quote Originally Posted by Inlike View Post
    At the top end of goodwood near Iluka ther is acuople of houses. Also the collis wall starts there. Around the wall and near the bank are good for whiting on a rising tide preferably early morning. flatfaces are there also. I personally always take down fresh bloodworms from brissie for the whiting. Good yabbie bank opposite the tavern also.. Cheers Inlike...
    I will be staying at Yamba in a couple weeks. Can you provide more info on yabbie banks plse. What tavern are you talking about?

Gunna, there's only the one tavern. Ask at the local tackle store when you get here and he'll let you know where. you can't miss it.

A mate just got back from 10 days in Yamba. he fished the estuary with little success. the water was brown and too much fresh. he did get a few bream off the rocks with nippers, and some whiting off the beach on worms. he reckons the beach was loaded with small dart.

lots of stingrays about. got one run with a livie (probably a jack) but it mauled him.

I been gettin heaps of bream up the river and some good flatties as well couple from Saturday just gone pictured below got over 50 bream in two days all released. Heaps of the fish have red spot disease too.
    Attachment 44962
    Attachment 44963

Thanks for the help. Water was a similar colour last time I went down, nearly 12 months ago now. Won't be heading down till This weekend so hopefully a little more salt will make it into the river.

Will be bringing the heavy gear as well in search for a jew. Where's the best place to catch some mullet. Might spend some time around middle wall letting a mullet have a swim. Never know.

Anything happening around the inclose offshore areas? Might venture out if the conditions are right and there is something to be caught. Will be a good week fish or no fish. Although catching a few will always be better.

Whats the best beach down there to try and get some sandworms? Never tried catching them myself but wouldn't mind giving it a go.

Any luderick around at the moment?

If anyone living in the area wants to spend a night on the wall chasing some Jew between the 27th and the end of that week let me know.

Chiron

Quote Originally Posted by coucho View Post
    I been gettin heaps of bream up the river and some good flatties as well couple from Saturday just gone pictured below got over 50 bream in two days all released. Heaps of the fish have red spot disease too.
    Attachment 44962
    Attachment 44963
    Red spot disease. Is that some type of parasite?

What area is up the river? I have never ventured up passed the tavern. Might do so this time though with a little more time to have a look around.

Weber,
    Red spot is uglie red ulcerations on fish some form of infection I believe. Comes around after any fresh or flood in the river don't eat any of the fish with it.
    Fish are up as far as Maclean
    Try oyster channel good fish around there atm
    Luderick are around in the washes off the head lands not in the river thick as yet.
    Has been very quiet on any of the off shore reefs as of late with Mack tuna the only thing on the chew but things have to get better out there sooner or later so if the weather is good give it a blast you never know your luck hey!

coucho, Oyster channel is where exactly? Up passed the tavern?

What is the channel called that leads up to Calypso caravan park?

Chiron

Mate thats the one oyster cannel is the channel that the bridge you go over as you get into yamba goes over! does that make sense lol. But yes it is up past the tavern.
    I am headin done this weekend for an offshore run

Quote Originally Posted by coucho View Post
    Mate thats the one oyster cannel is the channel that the bridge you go over as you get into yamba goes over! does that make sense lol. But yes it is up past the tavern.
    I am headin done this weekend for an offshore run
    I must not have paid much attention to the sign last time down. Will go for an exploratory run up there and see what we can find. At the moment I am just happy to get away from work and have the opportunity to wet a line.

Let me know if there is anything happening offshore. Although I will be leaving early Sunday morning so may not get any report before I get back.