I love it, thats a great setup that'll blow the "oars" off the other yaks
some of the best places in moreton bay, are a bit beyond an arvo paddle from russell. the pin, peel, etc are all a bit far for a spontanious fishing trip in the yak. also, trips of any distance must be measured against tide currents and direction, which also limits the distances covered in the yak.
so the tempo 2 was sitting there with its transom crying out for some use and a bigger motor.....so i sold the kingfisher for $400, bought the tohatsu with 25 hours use and still under warranty for $450, and the tempo has legs again. pretty fast legs at that!!
after some mods to the transom to get the motor at the right angle (stopper taken off the bottom of the transom) i got the motor and yak cruising along at about 20kmph....! at half revs....
at speeds above this the yak becomes a bit unstable, and the extra burden on the motor doesnt equate to a much higher speed anyway.
the tempo is a great, stable fishing platform, with plenty of floor space. rod holders, storage hatches, seats all come as standard. ive also added an anchor..
i bought the motor from roydsy, here on this forum. cheers mate! motor is everything you said it was.
I love it, thats a great setup that'll blow the "oars" off the other yaks
That there is a thing of beauty...I once built a very small boat that looked like a large water ski with basic forward controls and a joy stick for steering (running cable through rollers)...my weapon of choice for the back was a 15hp tohatsu....lets just say it was quick. My brother in law built the same thing with a 25 Rude on the back and it was just insane.
Doesn't that defeat the purpose of a yak?
Just curious
LOL, now there is a thing tha can do serious damage to fishing stock. get you there pretty quick smart and goes silent if the needs arise, no rego no trailer, imagine what you can do around the reef of the goldcoast seaway.
Humility is not a weather condition.
Awesome! what else can you say about that?
Where did you get the idea to fit it up like that?
All I want is to catch MORE legal fish!
haha looks the goods Peter, hope she gives years of enjoyment! Geez half throttle hey.... chuck on an outrigger on and use full throttle like on my basscatcher canoe did?
roydsy
Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!
actually i do have 2 outriggers roydsy. they are part of my hobie adventure island trimaran kayak. not sure how to rig them on the tempo though.....some major pimping would be needed.
motor is going like a dream roydsy. cheers mate. catching lots of sand crabs at the moment. its great being able to use a motor to be able to check the pots during the day. beats paddling!!