Thread: Brissy river grunter,jew and sandies

Brissy river grunter,jew and sandies

Did a trip in the brissy this morning.Set 7 pots on the way out and scored some liveys. Did a few drifts for a couple of nice hits but no solid hookup.
    Went further towardsa the mouth and found a nice hole. First drift and deployed the plastics my brother is onto one straight off the bat, Javelin 48cm(his first). Next drift closer to the rocks and i'm on 52cm jewie(first on a placcie).
    Checked the pots on the way back in for 6 nice,full,tasty sandys and an unknown.? Gave the dolphin a scratch on the belly at the ramp and watched the circus of police,coastguard,port security,ambulance,ch7 and ten news crews scramble around. Top day to be finished with a couple of frosty ones at the pub and a feed of sandys. Ben

Re: Brissy river grunter,jew and sandies

sounds like a fun day in the river. whats up with the colour of the crab?

Its a coral crab

Quote Originally Posted by webby View Post
    Its a coral crab
    thanks webby never seen one before

Nice effort, been watching one bloke all summer , he's been putting his pots out every sat morning and he scores a feed of sandies and off he goes. Those grunter go pretty hard as well. Nice to see a few different species being caught. Well done. Cheers

Nice catch there blooey, wind wasn't too bad in the river today either, there must be couple of grunter around atm, i saw a bloke catch a grunter at the boat ramp on 4lb line as i was packing up, the thing was huge too! Wouldn't fit in his esky properly, i got the scales out for him and it went 3kgs! Are they a common catch for you?

Hey Blooey what was the go with all the media and services?

Coral crab ay thats different.Yeah chief grunter go very well on the line. No not a common catch for me at all saltdoggy ,the feella at the ramp must have been stoked. Spoke to a bloke at the pub and he said a boat hit a wave at the mouth and 4 people got thrown overboard and injured , bit strange as it really wasn't rough. Ben

tangalooma cats wake if you ask me,that bastard flys threw the river at top speed leaves a hell of a wake

Hit the river for a couple of trips lately too mate and nailed a couple of jew round 60cm and plenty of tasty little snaps. It's the only fishable river close by at the moment. Would love a grunter thrown in as well though. Nice work mate.
    Cheers. Keith

Well done on the jewie mate i am still trying to land one of those. Seemed like a good day. Cheers

Yeah heaps of fun. Certainly a lot worse things to be doing.............. like anything but fishing.hehe Ben

Grunter, golden salmon, barramundi.......... just how long before those big lizards come visiting as well .