Thread: crabs aplenty

crabs aplenty

took the pots out on friday with my son and oldman...went to my spot x and someone else was there again ...owell just set them in random spots again....set 12 pots
    went out on high water on saturday with no great expectations just hopin to get a few as i had volentered the crabs for the get together on sunday.....anyway the first string of pots we ended up with11 keepers so set them again...next string we got 9 keepers.....the next was the best string we got 16keepers for a total of 36.

sunday we went out again to check them 1st string we got 14 ...the next string we got 11....then last lot we only got 3.....so we got 28.....we set them in my spot x for the nite......so was a great feed for lunch 64 in total and only had 4 left after everyone ate.....

so we went out today to check my pots again and work them a couple of times on the run in tide with fresh bait...also took 4 dillies......checked the 1st string for 11...the next string got 11...the last only got 9.......but its now where it went nutts........did 3 runs of the 4 dillies for a total of 22 keepers and 1 run of the potts for 22....so ended up with 75 crabs today .....what a weekend...
    cheers rosco
    ps all pots where rebaited daily

Re: crabs aplenty

Bloody hell, well done!

How big is the crab cooker?

lol.....can cook 10 in one pot and 7 in the other pot...gettin them near the last beacon again
    cheers rosco

Need a bigger pot mate, good 'ol faithful last beacon eh?

good work mate am going to take the young bloke out tomorrow he has only caught a handful of crabs in a session.how far out do you go and where do you put the boat in sorry for the questions but he is totally spun out over your report any help would be great thanks and enjoy the crabs mate well done.

mad matt...how big a boat you got...cheers

4.5 m tinny with a 40 yammy live on northside i will drive over bayside cheers matt

have herd there getting them in bramble bay at the moment.....or out from wello point.....just about anywhere at the moment...read the posts on here from the last few days...all gettin them around wello and ormiston, cleveland.... i put in at manly...cheers rosco

wow that heaps of crabs, yum

The bay is absolutely pumping with sandies at the moment, you guys down that end are on FIRE
    Geez i am sure it hasnt been this good for some time!
    Cheers Jay

nah mate it hasnt...this is my best season for 2 years now...dont know whats changed....there sure is plenty out there....have just finnished pealing out kilo of meat....fr**zing it...still got bout 15 crabs left....have givin lots away to family and friends.....keeps them happy

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    nah mate it hasnt...this is my best season for 2 years now...dont know whats changed....there sure is plenty out there....have just finnished pealing out kilo of meat....freezing it...still got bout 15 crabs left....have givin lots away to family and friends.....keeps them happy

Careful what you put up on the net. What would a reasonable bag limit on sandys be?

Quote Originally Posted by hondaguy View Post
    Careful what you put up on the net. What would a reasonable bag limit on sandys be?
    g'day
    dont think there realy needs to be a bag limit....if you where in the know of crabbin you would realise they only really run thick for about 8 weeks a year...3 weeks in october and 5- 6 weeks this time of year...the rest of the time you barely scrap together a feed.....so whats wrong with givin family and friends a feed when you do get them and freezing them for the winter months.....how do you think the fresh seafood shops keep crab meat in the off season they fr**ze it when te crabs are plentiful.......dont see many people bag others when they take home more than a good feed so dont bother startin that crap with me....
    cheers rosco

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    g'day
    dont think there realy needs to be a bag limit....if you where in the know of crabbin you would realise they only really run thick for about 8 weeks a year...3 weeks in october and 5- 6 weeks this time of year...the rest of the time you barely scrap together a feed.....so whats wrong with givin family and friends a feed when you do get them and freezing meat for the winter months.....how do you think the fresh seafood shops keep crab meat in the off season they freeeze it when te crabs are plentiful.......dont see many people bag others when they take home more than a good feed so dont bother startin that crap with me....
    cheers rosco
    You tell,em rosco, regards , roy.

Not shit stiring mate. Look on page 31 on the march 2009 DPI fishing regs booklet. Just a little hint that you may want to edit your post.

Been getting my share as well so all is good. Was just putting up a suggestion about bag limit on your post as it has been an exceptional year for the bay.

See you on the water.