need prawns

Thread: need prawns

need prawns

Hi Alll

Happy Easter to you all and hope you all have had a good one.
    I was hoping that someone in the last few during there outings have notice any prawns out and about. I have been rostered on the last few days and i have tomorrow off and i would like to go out and get some of those yummy buggers, If anyone can help it would nice

Thanks gill

Re: need prawns

If all fails Gill.....Coles have Green prawns @ $14.00 kg.....very noice aswell
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Worked the powerlines hard yesterday for ONE prawn lol

Comslie in the Brisbane river has been ok - but you have to work long and hard for a decent catch = if your like me though and 5 or 6 prawns every cast keeps you keen - it may be worth a try for you.

Hey Braddles,

Were you there when the swarm of mixed tinnies was in the channel against Russell Island at the Logan Mouth Sunday arvo around 3:00 PM?

I was in my Sea-Jay 4.85 with 60 Yamaha 4St accompanied by the missus and kids.

I was on my way back to Carbrook from further down the bay when I saw the swarm of tinnies and decided to have a go myself, since I had the net in the boat.

Its the first time I've chased prawns, but it was fun.

First few casts (still can't get my net to open into a circle - more of a narrow oval) I was getting 2 or 3 per cast in up to 8 Metres of water.

The situation was a bit chaotic with boats buzzing around all over the place and had to fend off boats a couple of times.

No actual contact and everyone seemed to be quite friendly. Everyone would swarm over one small area casting almost against the sides of the next tinnie, then move up ahead of the flotilla and start casting again.

The flotilla move up and down about a 300-400 metre stretch a couple of times whilst I was there.

After the first 20 minutes or so, I could only scratchup a single prawn every second or third cast.

Then I didn't land anything except baby jewfish for the next dozen casts.

My missus needed the dunny, and I kept telling her "Just one more prawn, then we go"

It took a few more casts in close to the pack of boats and I finally got my prawn and headed back to the ramp.

I only ended up with just over half a Kilo for close to an hour's mucking about, but it was fun.

Why is it that I can get a decent net spread in the back yard, but when I'm on the water, it all turns to crap?

I saw a Vietnamese couple back at Carbrook and asked them how they went and they said they got around 8 Kg.

Boy those guys can throw big nets bloody well.

It looks like more practise in the back yard again.

I will try a different technique, because the one I'm using involves holding the leadline rope between your teeth.

It wastes too much time washing the mud off the net before the next throw.

Anyhow - enough of a waffle.

Cheers Ross.
    Last edited by Sea-Dog; 13-04-2009 at 11:56 PM. Reason: Spelling

Keep practicing Ross, and i would be finding a new technique to throw the net, lead is very nasty stuff and you should never put it in your mouth. If you have a look at the hints and tips section there is video footage showing how to throw a cast net.
    It gets a bit crazy when you are cast netting amongst the asians, they don't care if there boat hits yours or if there net hits your boat. I was out the front of Nudgee beach a few years ago having a few casts not getting any prawns, and i look up all of a sudden there was about 20 tinnies coming at me flat out, they circled all around me and started casting, i just moved away laughing as i was not getting any prawns anyway.
    Marty.

Hey Ross - nah wasnt us - we were down the pin by then..... Only us and one other boat when we were up by the powerlines (right by the pylon on the right side of the channel closest to the island, when heading north).

As for getting circles - I am OK (average) in the back yard, but with an audiance, - I am making 1/4 moons cast after cast lol.

I had another go yesterday (Sat 18/04/09)

Nothing near the powerlines, Nothing in Redland Bay Channel off the Logan, Nothing near Horizon Shores......

Back to the Logan just outside the entrance to Redland Bay Channel there was about 20 Tinnies.

I had a good look at the sounder as I was approaching and noticed quite a bit of activity from 10 feet below the surface, down to the bottom at 27 feet.

My net rope didn't allow my net to reach the bottom in 27 feet, but I still managed to pull a feed. Best cast I got 7 large bananas without reaching the bottom.

It makes keeping the boat clean a lot easier........

I then attached an extension rope to my net so that I could reach the bottom. I shouldn't have bothered - it took longer to set up and bring in each cast and it also brought up the usual bottom crap and mud.

Lots of baby jew around. Unfortunately not all survived the experience.

Those bloody catfish eels are a menace. They roll themselves up in the castnet and the mesh gets fimly wrapped around all the spikes. I had to "surgically remove" the spines with my pliers before I could unwind the bugger from the net. I still ended up getting a minor spike from one spine I didn't remove quickly enough. Roughly the same as a bee sting.

No more prawns by reaching the bottom than mid-water catches.

I think I will stick with the mid-water shots when I can see them on the sounder up off the bottom.

I ended up with around 2 1/2 Kg and a sore shoulder from cast, retrieve, cast, retrieve...........................

I might have to have a flex day during the week and try again.

sea dog,
    I was one of those 20 boats there and managed to get my bucket limit..only took 4 hours!!...you are not wrong about the sore shoulder/back !!

trawlers where there last night, so i suppose that is the end of that spot!

Hey WhitingKiller,

Did you see the pro there cruising up and down in his tinny?

I wondered what he was doing - I suppose he was just making plans for bringing his trawler to the spot.

Which tinnie were you?

Mine is the SeaJay 4.85 with the 60 4St Yammy on the back.

I had junior in the boat with me.

I think another go on Saturday may be the go.

How far up the river can you find prawns?

I was 1 of those as well- got my limit by 9.30

Michael

seadog,
    i was in the yellow 16ft centreconsole with the colsed in bimini top..
    the pro that u r referring to is a pro crabber and as he is out on the water everyday, he doesn't throw his net unless they are on...understandable..how far up river??...pitts rocks is the furtherest they go up but the water is to dirty at the moment there..
    i have a fishing comp this weekend but will have a look anyway incase they are on..
    mate of mine went yesterday and never caught a prawn as there where 3 trawlerws there....go figure

What sort of nets are you guys using? El-Cheapo BCF stuff, like me or decent quality?

I suppose I will have to lash out and get some Ausfish stickers to help us Ausfishers identify each other.

Cheers, Ross.