Thread: sailfish 5 mtr 2003

sailfish 5 mtr 2003

have found a sailfish 5 mtr for sale, can anybody give me any info about them?Am considering buying it and would like some feedback plz. Danno

Re: sailfish 5 mtr 2003

Try a search on here I think someone was comparing Sailfish to Kevlacats but not sure if 5metre Sailfish was one of them. There was someone who preferred a 5.5 metre Sailfish to the KC 5.2. Also try a search on Sea Media I think that there is a test on there.

Maccas

Is it the ex charterboat from Hervey Bay with the twin Hondas? I think that boat is in a different league to a 5.5. Macca may have been thinking of Perko who went from a 5.2 KC to a 5.5 Sailfish. Was mostly the Sailfish sat more upright than the KC and didn't dip and dive and I think the KC sat up better than an equivalent NC as they also had a couple of them in their family as well.

Had a look at Sea Media website, they have done a test of the Sailfish 5 metre and thought it was pretty good. Here's the link www.seamedia.com.au

Maccas

thanks for the link, i am still unsure if i should hang out for a 5.5 to come along...

although I have never been a fan of Alloy Cats (I owned one for a long time) I reckon the 5.5 will be ten times the Boat the 5M is, that extra bit will make a huge difference

Does anyone have any experience with the 5 metre Sailfish or the 5.5 metre Sailfish as it would be interesting to get their thoughts.

Maccas

I have been in a 5.5 and it was OK, pretty good finish and lots of built in "goodies" but they seem to be a tad expensive, and they tend to have quite small Motors on them, a bit like 5.2 Kcats I suppose

yes alot of the 5.2 kcats seem to have small o/boards on em, must not need much to get em running quick enough. My old 2400 had twin 140 zukis and they seemed plenty.However, was looking at a 5mtr sailfish, with twin 50 evinrude/zukies, fours ,and im wondering if thay may be a tad on the light side...

there is this one thats been for sale for a while: http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-fo...aspx?R=2955813

a bit exy for a 5.5m boat (and Etec's), but apparently they are quite sizable for 5.5m

I had a look at 6 metre Sailfish ( might have been 6.2) before I bought my KC 5.2 and it didn't have as much fishing space as the KC 5.2

Maccas

maccas what mod is ur kc? from the avatar she looks like a hardtop. I also know of another 5.2 kc for sale but methinks she is older than most, for she has no wavebraker in the guts... does anybody have a idea what year models the kc started using the wavebraker in there hulls? and if so , did the hull shape change with the introduction of the wavebraker? so many questions !!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    I have been in a 5.5 and it was OK, pretty good finish and lots of built in "goodies" but they seem to be a tad expensive, and they tend to have quite small Motors on them, a bit like 5.2 Kcats I suppose
    come on mate i have 180 hp on my 5.2 mtr k/c how can you put that down to under powered he he he

sorry mate had to have a go

back to the subject i think for serious offshore crazy not to look at the 5.5 in the sailfish range deck space in the 5mtr in my opinion is very limited

wayne

My KC 5.2 is a 1990 model and the hardtop looks like it was done aftermarket. Wasn't sure I liked it at first but apart from being a bit hot when I go up north(mainly when stopped as it has a hatch that you can open in the hardtop) it has great visibility and is really dry on those cold wet days or when its crap on the way home. BTW my KC has got the wavebreaker

Maccas

Quote Originally Posted by insideout View Post
    maccas what mod is ur kc? from the avatar she looks like a hardtop. I also know of another 5.2 kc for sale but methinks she is older than most, for she has no wavebraker in the guts... does anybody have a idea what year models the kc started using the wavebraker in there hulls? and if so , did the hull shape change with the introduction of the wavebraker? so many questions !!!!!
    Hey mate 5.2 KC's were born with wavebreakers. All 5.2 KC's have em, if it hasnt got one its not a 5.2 KC. 6.2 KC's are a different story tho, I think they recieved the wavebreaker in about 1990 roughly. Have you got a pic of the the boat?? Cheers..