Thread: FIJI in May - help

Question FIJI in May - help

I'm spending part of my honeymoon on Denarau for a week.

Will be packing the T-curve Deep Jig 200 & Stradic 8000 in the hope of some land based action. (Gt's etc.) Will this be underpowered?

Can anyone recommend some daily charter operations out of Denarau?

Thanks.

Dan.

Re: FIJI in May - help

gday Dan.
    Haven't been on ausfish for over 12months. Moved to perth from brissie & im missing all the fishing action back east.

Back in january I was fishing every weekend for samson fish. Deep water jigging for sambos from 10kg to 50kg. My outfit was a tcurve deep jig 400 & a stradic 8000 loaded with 50lb braid. My stradic handled the abuse for 6 outings. Bare in mind, jigging abuse is hardcore abuse. I was consistently fighting 30kg sambos with a drag tuned to 9kg.

your outfit wont suit landbased action. tcurve 200 is a jigging rod, so wont accommodate any casting. suggest you consider another rod. the stradic will serve you well. Good value for money reel.

daz.

Cheers Daz.

Have been doing some searches to gain more info.
    There's some promising reports - no doubt. Most are pre-2008.

We are staying at the Radisson Denarau.
    Any one been recently?

Dan.

I would suggest the Shimnao T-Curve saltwater spin as the rod, this is rated from 10-15kg and is designed for casting poppers. Or another option is the Daiwa monster mesh, I'm sure they have a 7-8ft model taht would suit casting poppers.

I have fished the mamanukas and the yasawas off fiji and there are plenty of gts and red bass to throw poppers at on any 1 of the reefs you pick, however there are plenty of expensive charters that operate out of denarau.
    Don`t book theough the hotel as you will pay a premium, just go to the harbour and bust a deal, don`t be afraid to haggle on the price as competition is fierce after the recent flooding and they want your tourist dollar.
    Also be specific about what you want to do or they will just take you trolling for spanish (known as walu) mahi mahi and tuna.
    Try to find another fisho in your hotel to cut cost on charter,con grats on your big day and try to get off the mainland and do a trip to the islands as this is the real fiji. Cheers Edmo

You need help alright Dan! Wife and just come back after 10 days on a resort around the coral coast side of Fiji. Food was terrible i mean uneatable, service was lazy, couldn't swin in the pool cause the kids would cut there feet and expensive, try $7 a stubby of local beer $8 for 600ml of water, only good thing was throwing poppers at GT's, i forget the name of the place, i'll look it up for you.

Hi Dan,

There are plenty of charters available so take edmo's advice & negotiate price with them. I havent fished there, but know people who have. You'll need to specify what you want to target, whether that be poppering, jigging or trolling. Make sure you take a selection of plastics & poppers & fish with a tight drag where ever you are.

Good luck & make sure you let us all know how you go.
    I'm off to fiji (remote ono) next year to target the dogs.

daz.

the t-curve deep jig 200 will be fine, i took it over then last time i went, and threw poppers with it, nothing wrong at all i could easily cast 110mm poppers 50m with it. you shouldn't be too undergunned, i use 50lb over there and i do often get busted on the reef but thats fishing go 80 if you want but it won't make a difference, just use a good quality leader and you will be fine.
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!

Given recent develpments, Pres Banarama and so forth.....a good pair of runnin' shoes would be a wise thing to take.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

I agree. Running shoes & limited fishing gear if you need to run.

This is pretty typical of my luck.

We only booked our accomodation on the 6th.
    On the 10th all hell broke loose.

We can cross Thailand off the list for a plan B.

Hi Dan,

you should be fine with that gear, we run the watersports operation for the entire Denarau Island and there can be a few fish found around the rock wall at the end of the Sheraton beach rock wall, or all the way down to the Hilton. Some big mangrove jacks as well, so you should have some fun.

I have just returned from Fiji to Australia to catch up on some business - there is NOTHING to worry about with regards to saftey, etc - it is the safest part of the world and the political stuff is just typical Fiji style - the Australian and NZ governments would rather people holiday locally rather than going overseas... The Radisson is a great resort and it is great weather at the moment.

Send me an email at ben@adrenalinfiji.com if you want further info or if I can help any other way - we can help you with offshore charters if you want, there are some huge GT's over there on the reef's as well as plenty of tuna to 40kg and last week we got a 32kg Wahoo.

Hey dogman!! i didnt know you wwere on this as well!!just back from fishing comp in suva, we came second golden eagle kicked ass again but they had two sydney charter skippers on board!! nevermind we will get them next time!

marc

hey guys, the stuff you hear on the news is all media hype! forget your running shoes, just bring lots of poppers the tuna season this year has been one of the best in many years! i am in fiji and cant believe the rubbish being reported in the media, the hotels are doing some great deal so hurry on over before the tuna season ends!!