North-West Report - Garths Fishing

Thread: North-West Report - Garths Fishing

North-West Report - Garths Fishing

Gday all, just a quick report from the west side.

Left home around 4am and after getting fuel and supplies the call was made we would head to Garths Rock. Anticipation was high as the forecast was for around 5knts all day so we expected the rock to be somewhat crowded. Surprisingly it was empty. We were on the rock by 5 30 and begun our usual routine of fishing the bottom and wait for the sun to come up. We managed a few species, all only small though, including this one, any idea what it is?

As the sunshine eventually crept over the cliffs the lure collections were raided and we began spinning. Signs were good, weather and water clarity was spectacular and bait balls could be seen being smashed up by HUGE predators, I mean some of these fish were barrels, leaping 8ft in the air! It really was an impressive sight.

It wasn’t long before I hooked up on the first hit of the day on the trusty 70g gold twisty. The 850 started to scream and this thing wasn’t stopping. After 30 seconds of line being ripped off I was down to about half of my 600yd spool and I managed to turn it and gain back some line, pump, wind, pump, wind, slack! F***! It turned out the mono leader was frayed, bad enough for the fish to get away so that was that. Anyway schools of fish were busting up all around the rocks so I grabbed the camera and watched Della fling his metal at the nervous bait schools. Second cast he was on and the fight panned out very similar to the one I had fought previously, screaming drag as the fish took off, violent head shakes, enormous weight, the only difference was that his bust-off was unexplained as he was using wire. Both fish were suspected Spaniards and it would of been great to land at least one but it was not to be. The rest of the day resulted in numerous hits but no more hook-ups.

Apart from the weather and some awesome footage, it turned out it wasn’t such a great day due to chipping an eye on my Ugly Stik, snapping the handle mount on my 850, cracking the tip of my new Nitro and bending the handle on my new Luvias on the walk up!! This was the first time I’ve used the setup and a Charlie Court was all it and I caught all day.

Here are some pics.

We dropped in to another spot on the way home in search of the GT with no luck so back to town and back home we went.

Some pics from the G spot.

It was probably the calmest day I've experienced at Quobba Station. Funnily enough the fish didn't bite for long and we couldn't even catch a shark! Anyway, enjoy!

Footage still to be edited.
    "holy sh!t, did you see that?"

Re: North-West Report - Garths Fishing (pics now attached)

Pics now attached guys.

Nice pics once again WODF.

Its alway annoying to have an expensive trip with little fish to show for it.

neil

Looks like God's country mate!

Ripper country again mate! I'm sure next trip will bring the goods...can't miss for too long with ledges and water like that! Thanks.
    Cuzza

Awesome scenery there... thanks for sharing

Great looking fishing spot there mate, I think the first photo is a Red throat Emperor,but i have been wrong before.
    Cheers Baz

It is great to see where you fish from. I am originally a rock hopper from Victoria and that looks like some awesome location in your back yard.

Ausfish Platinum Member skipalong's Avatar

beautiful location, even if it wasnt for fishing

justin

Ausfish Platinum Member mattooty's Avatar

Aw man I can't wait to get over there and balloon for spaniards! Got some mates who just got back from Quobba with some jawdropping pictures!
    Always love your reports, top pics!

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Great photos and what a spot to be able to fish at.

Quote Originally Posted by Barry Ehsman View Post
    Great looking fishing spot there mate, I think the first photo is a Red throat Emperor,but i have been wrong before.
    Cheers Baz
    Thanks for that mate. Just got a confirmation, deffinately a Red Throat Emp.

Quote Originally Posted by mattooty View Post
    Aw man I can't wait to get over there and balloon for spaniards! Got some mates who just got back from Quobba with some jawdropping pictures!
    Always love your reports, top pics!
    What are you waiting for mate!? Post em up! I would love to see em.

awsome pics mate!! Great part of the world!!

Re: North-West Report - Garths Fishing

great piccies WODF...fantastic backyard you have ...did you guys get a spear sesh in???...or just fishing off the stones???

Mrs Benno1
    Sunny