Thread: more crabs

more crabs

took the old man out yesterday to set some pot overnite.....took 4 of crab and gears pots and 4 cheap import pots from b#f to compair there catch rates.....went to my spot x and some1 else was already there so used common sence and didnt put my pots there.....dont like share farmers......anyway went to try a spot i havnt crabbed in 15yrs i recon.....spot i use to crab with the old man as a youngster.....set the pots there....went out this morning to pull them up the 1st 4 pots where crab and gear pots we got 17 keepers out of them..the next 4 pots we got 11 keepers out of them....so 28 all up with the crabnear pots catching the more.....cheers rosco
    ps they where sandies

Re: more crabs

Sandies or muddies?

Well done ! ! ! , any tips on how to find my own spot X ?, as in depth, distance fr banks, just like to know what to look for, 28 crabs !!! I have some cheapies and good ones, will have to pay more attention to which catch more cheers

sorry shoud of mentioned they where sandies....cheers

Quote Originally Posted by dreemon View Post
    Well done ! ! ! , any tips on how to find my own spot X ?, as in depth, distance fr banks, just like to know what to look for, 28 crabs !!! I have some cheapies and good ones, will have to pay more attention to which catch more cheers
    g'day
    we set them in about3.5- 4.5 mtrs at low tide...they where in about 6 mtrs on high tide.....had some just on top of the bank and some bout half way down the drop off.both spots seemed to catch well i though...think they are everywhere at the moment....a mate went on the inside of green and picked up 24 on tuesday...had 3 people on board so use 12 dillies done 3 checks......he also tried somewhere in the rous this week and got bout the same...hope this helps.

cheers rosco

Yer
    there is a plague of sandies in the bay at the moment. some big buggers to, ive been eatin crab for two months now and reckon there great for the diet, lost around 4 kilos. havnt visited the butcher for two months. problem is drinkin more beers while cleanin and coookin em.

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    sorry shoud of mentioned they where sandies....cheers
    you did, thanks for the comparsion on catch rates,around 30% in favor of local pots(approx for all you budding mathematicians) not being sceptical would like to try an alternating string for better stats, at 30% increase would buy local pots, but in saying that we have all had strings in which catch rate varied even though all pots and baits where the same. cheers alex

yeah tell me bout it...we seem to be eatin them a couple of days a week.willl have to start fishin seriously now as the fillets in the freezer are gettin low