trickies schooling on Britomart make mocker of bag limits - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: trickies schooling on Britomart make mocker of bag limits

Re: trickies schooling on Britomart make mocker of bag limits

Ok, I have done my good deed for the day...
    The righteous now feel more righteous!!

Suzygs1000
    Ingham

Quote Originally Posted by jtpython View Post
    Red throat Emporer are 8/per person 38 cm
    Jt so it is 8?

I also thought it was 5...Damn...

I also used to throw back nannies after 6 for some reason...might have to look at the rules more often then..

Quote Originally Posted by catfishkid View Post
    Gday scott. I am curious about the highlighted bit?I fish with my son who is 15,it was my understanding(And i would like to be wrong)that under the age of 16 kids dont have a bag as such so what they caught was taken under your limit,meaning if we went out snapper fishing,just my son and me the total allowable catch was 5 snapper,my bag limit??
    Like I said I would love to be wrong on this one.

Cheers Craig
    Craig maybe you were confused by the crab pot rules ..which previously precluded kids under 16 from having traps..

bag limits are OK for kids..your 15 years old is entitled to his bag limit of fish(and now also crab pots..)

Quote Originally Posted by suzygs1000 View Post
    Ok, I have done my good deed for the day...
    The righteous now feel more righteous!!

Haha..lol..was mainly thinking of you...

I'm no saint...but I just dont put my misdemeanors in writing on a public forum..

Is this post for real!

Imagine if i posted that i got a hot barra bite and after catching my bag i threw out a couple of 70cm models to replace them with 80cm models.

Even in your post you mention a trip where you caught nothing, well next time you fishing and catch nothing remember this thread you started.

Guys like you are the reason the majority of us have to put up with stupid laws and green zones.

You really come across as a knob mate.

Glad you think the laws are stupid too, cammo... and I am happy that I have made you feel good.

Suzygs1000
    Ingham

Quote Originally Posted by cammo79 View Post
    Is this post for real!

Imagine if i posted that i got a hot barra bite and after catching my bag i threw out a couple of 70cm models to replace them with 80cm models.

Even in your post you mention a trip where you caught nothing, well next time you fishing and catch nothing remember this thread you started.

Guys like you are the reason the majority of us have to put up with stupid laws and green zones.

You really come across as a knob mate.
    mate thats a bit harsh.....obviosly most people on this site have never made a bad call while fishing....as for the green zones quote its in now so everyone just deal with it...plenty of places to fish if you know what to look for....where all so call fishing fanatics so surely its not that hard to find new spots......i too have lost alot of places i fish but have already found new and better spots.....am sick of readin posts about people spewing bout the green zones...i remember a post i put up the other week while someon here where on the protest through the city and i coped flack from it....anyway had my say...no doubt i will cop some flack but so be it......cheers rosco

Quote Originally Posted by disorderly View Post
    Jt so it is 8?

I also used to throw back nannies after 6 for some reason...might have to look at the rules more often then..

Craig maybe you were confused by the crab pot rules ..which previously precluded kids under 16 from having traps..

bag limits are OK for kids..your 15 years old is entitled to his bag limit of fish(and now also crab pots..)

I'm no saint...but I just dont put my misdemeanors in writing on a public forum..
    Thank goodness Scott, in the first place, who today would have that much time up their sleeve to read such an encyclopaedic rec fishing post!

Quote Originally Posted by disorderly View Post
    Jt so it is 8?

You a saint Sheeshus LOL
    It's a species we get here common so you get to know what they all are plus good to keep one of those new cards handy with the pics of the species and there size and limits on them $10 i believe they are but otherwise Scott i use this and printed it out and laminated in the boat
    http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/dp...2_ENA_HTML.htm

We all make mistakes
    Righto i'm off to concrete seeing the weather is suppose to be pouring rain and blowing and now isn't GRRRRRRRRRR
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

I was going 2 reply but.... mum always said if u can't say something nice, don't say it at all!!!!!!!

Yeh, sure Marty,

Are you telling me that if you had your bag limit of just legal snapper on board, then caught a 30 pounder, you would throw it back? Crap!!

SGS1000, I do have some comment on a couple of aspects of this thread

To say it crap that anyone would throw back a bigger fish than others they have caught, even a 30kg trophy fish means you are running everyone through your own personal values filter, please don't bag me or those I fish with up in that statement. There are some of us around here, in fact quite a lot of us who don't do that.

We personally (my crew and I) have thrown back snapper @ 7kg when we've bagged. Yep, you cry in the moment, and remember all the fishless trips, but it makes for a good story later. And there is a proud kind of feeling that comes from both boating a good fish and then seeing it swim away and you know you've done the right thing.

This is not a value judgement on your stuff, nor is it intended to be a "saint" statement. But to say its crap that anyone would do it means you are running everyone through your own personal filter, again I have to say "please don't bag me or those I fish with up in that statement". I just can't allow that to be said publicly on this forum without a rebuttal, particularly when rec fishing is under so much scruitiny at the moment and there are those who are looking for any advantage to remove the privileges we currently have.

The lot I go out with are responsible. That's why I fish with them. Yes, I've been known to cook up a nice legal fish for a chew while fishing on the odd occasion but that suppliments the sandwhiches over a long day and is quite legal.

If I reckon a fish is good enough to end its life and put it in the box, the least I can do is honour it as a gift sacrifice and follow through to offer it to my family rather than feed it to the sharks. They get enough of our legal catch as it is anyway.

Matey, I'd encourage you to think about best practice models when it comes to your fishing - keep what you catch up to your bag, release the rest, take your keepers home, give thanks to whoever you like and enjoy, laugh about those you catch once the bag is reached, try not to take those moments too personally or seriously or just pull up stumps when you've reached your limit and head home satisfied you've had a good day. As it stands, you could have kept another 6 RTE's but never mind. You'll have another purple day one day.

Some days, we have kept fish alive in the kill and upgraded, releasing live fish, but if they perish in the kill, into the esky they go. Once we reach our bag, thats it - fish for another species or head home. Its gonna be real tough if the authorities ever bring in the 2 fish bag limit on snapper, hopefully common sence will prevail, but if it happens, so be it, we'll adjust our fishing plans accordingly.

We all like to see posts about successful trips, bag limits being reached and people having a great time in our sport. Not many here are too keen hearing about a possible exploitation of our fragile resources while some of us are fighting tooth and nail at the legislators table to try and get us all a better deal.

I'm not saying we cant express our frustrations as you have done, each of us will have a whinge from time to time. Nor am I meaning to come across like the post police, my main concern is that you don't lump me and a whole bunch of my mates who do do the right thing up in a suggestion that all fishos bend or break the rules when it suits them. Many of us don't.

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Ok, might just go and lick my wounds for a while....
    Suzygs1000
    Ingham

Dave ,

I'm sorry you're feeling wounded, that just adds insult to injury, I hope your next trip out you nail a good bagful and can laugh about those you throw back

rhys
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

This thread is getting funnier all the time...

Although I havent actually heard Suzy actually cast aspersion upon anyone in regards to their philosophy on upgrading....he has only admitted to it himself...and facetiously thanked those who judged him for it..

Quote Originally Posted by FNQCairns View Post
    Thank goodness Scott, in the first place, who today would have that much time up their sleeve to read such an encyclopaedic rec fishing post!

and who said beer didnt make me smarter..

Yeh, sure Marty,

Are you telling me that if you had your bag limit of just legal snapper on board, then caught a 30 pounder, you would throw it back? Crap!!

I don't have a problem with catch and release. I don't go fishing just to catch a feed.
    Yes Dave i would throw it back after i got some good photo's.
    Marty.

Ausfish Platinum Member levinge's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by catfishkid View Post
    Gday scott. I am curious about the highlighted bit?I fish with my son who is 15,it was my understanding(And i would like to be wrong)that under the age of 16 kids dont have a bag as such so what they caught was taken under your limit,meaning if we went out snapper fishing,just my son and me the total allowable catch was 5 snapper,my bag limit??
    Like I said I would love to be wrong on this one.

Cheers Craig
    Now I'm confused, please state a reference to where this is in print against the DPI Regulations. As it reads on the site its state "an individual" and does not make mention of age.

Also the age for use of a Crab Pot has been removed, so you would think an Individual could be ANY age...
    Fillet and Release Squad

A child of any age can be part of the possession limit as long as they are able to catch fish also applies to adults so if you take a oldie fishing and they are unable to use the fishing gear they cannot have a possession limit. So if you have young kids get them a rod or handline and teach them early. Was shown this by a fisheries officer while on a course. As we have seen the brochures can be vague but if you have any reg queries make sure you ask a fisheries officer or even a fishcare volunteer if you see them as that is what they are there for.