Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: trickies schooling on Britomart make mocker of bag limits

Re: trickies schooling on Britomart make mocker of bag limits

There are acouple of issues raised by this thread.

#1. Ya realy gota know your current regs and bag limits and be able to correcty identify your catch.

#2. Ya have to be able to keep a track of what you are catching.

Ignore the two above and you might as well stand on the boat ramp wearing a sign saying "kick me".

Now there are a couple of solutions to the problems too.......keeping a couple of fish in a live well is are reasonable strategy........I and most people will have no problem upgrading by throwing back live and healthy fish.

But "high grading" by throwing back perfectly good dead fish is very bad form.

But there are solution

You could eat one or two......quite a lot of bigger boats have a stove..... lots of people carry one of those small $20 gas stoves and a frypan.
    Fresh cooked just stopped flippin' reefie......mmmmm... does it get better than that.
    If you are into raw fish.....off you go and sushimi.

If you've had a full on session you could probably do with a feed.....after you've had some lunch, maybe there has been a shift change downstairs and there is something different to catch.

remember you are allowed one legal fish " being processed for bait" that isnt counted in your bag limit.....chopping up prime reefie for bait is a bit of a waste but a long way better than just chucking overboard.

Oh and for peetes sake... if you are going to do the wrong thing.....keep your mouth shut

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    mate thats a bit harsh.....obviosly most people on this site have never made a bad call while fishing....as for the green zones quote its in now so everyone just deal with it...plenty of places to fish if you know what to look for....where all so call fishing fanatics so surely its not that hard to find new spots......i too have lost alot of places i fish but have already found new and better spots.....am sick of readin posts about people spewing bout the green zones...i remember a post i put up the other week while someon here where on the protest through the city and i coped flack from it....anyway had my say...no doubt i will cop some flack but so be it......cheers rosco
    I apologise for being a little harsh mate, i fish for a feed to and im not having a go at anyone who does so, but i cant see how throwing away a good fish just because you got a bigger one makes any sense.

We bag commercial fishos for what they kill in their nets as a bycatch and ill continue to winge about anyone who bags out then throws good fish overboard.

Please dont post things that give the greenies any more reason to hate rec fishers.

Quote Originally Posted by cammo79 View Post
    I apologise for being a little harsh mate, i fish for a feed to and im not having a go at anyone who does so, but i cant see how throwing away a good fish just because you got a bigger one makes any sense.

We bag commercial fishos for what they kill in their nets as a bycatch and ill continue to winge about anyone who bags out then throws good fish overboard.

Please dont post things that give the greenies any more reason to hate rec fishers.
    no probs mate......but i also stand by my comments on people make bad decisions...am sure nearly everybody on this site has made one in there fishing life.i agree it was a bad thing to do and after the ribbing he has got on her i dont think he will do it again.....didnt mean to offend was just my opinion....
    cheers rosco

ha suzy I read your first post the day you posted and instantly knew you would be drilled. And yeah bag for trickies is 8, remember that next time.

I guess I won't be mentioning the trout/mixed reefies we cut up for bait while we're out there. Just give another reason for the righteous to feel moreso.

Boys and Girls,

The question was asked somewhere here about why the RTE (Trickies) are there in the first place, well here's something interesting. There was another huge influx of RTE in these waters about 10-12 years ago, right after Cyclone Justin ran up and down the coast. For those in the know, it's pretty rare to get Red Throat much further north than Townsville except after a major cyclone has run through the fishing grounds south of Townsville ie Cyc Justin and now Cyc Hamish. The first reports and catches i heard of were about 3-4 weeks ago and they are thick as thieves out there now, even right up in the shallows where thay shouldn't be.

This has stuff all to with the too and fro about bag limits etc but is very interesting for people who fish the Lucinda to Cns area, look out for more of these tasty fellas in upcoming trips.

Cheers Matt

Quote Originally Posted by revs57 View Post
    SGS1000, I do have some comment on a couple of aspects of this thread

To say it crap that anyone would throw back a bigger fish than others they have caught, even a 30kg trophy fish means you are running everyone through your own personal values filter, please don't bag me or those I fish with up in that statement. There are some of us around here, in fact quite a lot of us who don't do that.

We personally (my crew and I) have thrown back snapper @ 7kg when we've bagged. Yep, you cry in the moment, and remember all the fishless trips, but it makes for a good story later. And there is a proud kind of feeling that comes from both boating a good fish and then seeing it swim away and you know you've done the right thing.

This is not a value judgement on your stuff, nor is it intended to be a "saint" statement. But to say its crap that anyone would do it means you are running everyone through your own personal filter, again I have to say "please don't bag me or those I fish with up in that statement". I just can't allow that to be said publicly on this forum without a rebuttal, particularly when rec fishing is under so much scruitiny at the moment and there are those who are looking for any advantage to remove the privileges we currently have.

The lot I go out with are responsible. That's why I fish with them. Yes, I've been known to cook up a nice legal fish for a chew while fishing on the odd occasion but that suppliments the sandwhiches over a long day and is quite legal.

If I reckon a fish is good enough to end its life and put it in the box, the least I can do is honour it as a gift sacrifice and follow through to offer it to my family rather than feed it to the sharks. They get enough of our legal catch as it is anyway.

Matey, I'd encourage you to think about best practice models when it comes to your fishing - keep what you catch up to your bag, release the rest, take your keepers home, give thanks to whoever you like and enjoy, laugh about those you catch once the bag is reached, try not to take those moments too personally or seriously or just pull up stumps when you've reached your limit and head home satisfied you've had a good day. As it stands, you could have kept another 6 RTE's but never mind. You'll have another purple day one day.

Some days, we have kept fish alive in the kill and upgraded, releasing live fish, but if they perish in the kill, into the esky they go. Once we reach our bag, thats it - fish for another species or head home. Its gonna be real tough if the authorities ever bring in the 2 fish bag limit on snapper, hopefully common sence will prevail, but if it happens, so be it, we'll adjust our fishing plans accordingly.

We all like to see posts about successful trips, bag limits being reached and people having a great time in our sport. Not many here are too keen hearing about a possible exploitation of our fragile resources while some of us are fighting tooth and nail at the legislators table to try and get us all a better deal.

I'm not saying we cant express our frustrations as you have done, each of us will have a whinge from time to time. Nor am I meaning to come across like the post police, my main concern is that you don't lump me and a whole bunch of my mates who do do the right thing up in a suggestion that all fishos bend or break the rules when it suits them. Many of us don't.

Rhys,

You must be reading someone elses thread. I never said anything about it being crap that "anyone" would throw back a bigger fish...that was aimed at Marty, as his photo shows him holding a large snapper, but he has said he would throw them back, so be it. Please don't put words in my mouth, and use them to act saintly whilst denying you are.

I also, as it turns out, have never kept any illegal fish, or taken more than my limit, ever!

I would like to hear from you how you figure it is legal to catch and eat a fish on board your boat on a day trip??

How do you get around 40 cm min fillet size, skin to be left on, and fillet not to be divided into portions? You must have a pretty big frying pan to cook that fillet, like your reef fish with skin on, and eat it all in one big mouthfull.

It appears to me that, even tho my intent was shady, in fact, I acted legally. I don't think the same can be said for you and the "lot you go out with" when you fillet, cook and eat fish on board your boat on a day trip. Gee , you could be eating barramundi cod!!

If however, you can point me in the direction of the regulations that allow you and your lot to act in that manner, I will waste no time in apologising humbly to you and your lot, and will take my little gas stove and frypan with me next time I go out.

It may well be that, while you are fighting with the regulators at their table, you are privvy to information hidden in the legislation that we run of the mill mob aren't, and if that is the case, please share!

Suzygs1000
    Ingham

As far as cooking and eating onboard....I think you will find the words... "unless for immdiate consumption" pop up from time to time in the fisheries act.

there is lots of stuff that does not make it to the "published guides"..... such as the one fish for bait rule, the size limit on 3 spot crabs and quite a few other things

I will be having a real good look thru the acts and regs shortly.....so I'll post some details then.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

G'day Dave,

Its the “IN POSESSION” thing. I am not aware of any regulations concerning those fish immediately consumed. But for your information and because you raised it, it has probably only been twice in all the trips we have done, one was a legal sized yellowfin tuna we sushumi’d with wasabi and soy, we kept the rest of the body for steaks, just removed the shoulder from the frame, left the skin on the frame, the other on a subsequent trip was a pan sized snapper – minimum size 35mm, and it was humbly and legitimately consumed. Both times we were well within our bag limit, we did not eat fish to make room for more. Besides, I prefer to share my catch with my family. But if you can show me an error in my understanding and interpretation of the regs then be my guest.

If you feel I've put words in your mouth I apologise unreservedly. The way I read your post, was that you were implying to Marty if he had bagged out and then caught a trophy fish, that he would upgrade and that it was crap to think differently. That just couldn't be let go on a public forum without a rebuttal. There is too much scrutiny and too much pressure on rec fisho’s to allow that sort of nonsense to go without a clarification from those of us who attempt to do the right thing rather than one by his own admission admits “his intent was shady” and ditched smaller fish and kept larger fish.

By the way, I don't consider myself among the "righteous few" that you would like to label and therefore dismiss any comment not supportive to your position. My words are not meant to appear saintly so please don't insinuate that I intended a double-entendre here. I'm not looking to have you "apologise to me and my lot" at all. I really couldn’t give a rip about your practices, except where reporting on a public forum that you’ve broken the law, which you thought you had done at the time otherwise you would have kept the three fish you ditched, can jeopardise us all.

I'm not the one at the regulators table, but I support those who are, and some are members here - I have nothing hidden to share, just stating the obvious. How dare you insinuate differently?

I must admit an objection to your distasteful suggestion that I would do or have done anything illegal. You don't know me from Adam and I humbly suggest you pull ya head in. Every responsible fisho should realize the barrumundi cod is a no take species and the suggestion you made amounts to a poor attempt at character assassination, that comment was an intentional sledge, totally uncalled for Dave to which I must object.

If you feel like a goose for blantantly admitting on a public forum you think you've broken the law then qualified with an adament statement that you have never broken the law, then in a later post you admitted shady intent, but at the time of your original post you obviously thought you had broken the Law as you ditched three fish, then that is about you, not me, and I strongly object to any suggestion from you that I am in any way a law breaker.

Try and tackle the real enemy Dave ‘cause it aint me, maybe returning to your cave and some more time licking wounds would be in order - your sarcasm is definitely the lowest form of wit I've seen for a long time and totally lost on the majority here

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Ladies & Gentlemen. This is a good and worthy topic of debate. Can we please not let it deteriorate into a personality clash.

mod5

Yes this is a very good post, and many more like this are needed. Believe it or not this is probably the best type of 'education' and 'sharing' of info/wisdom that we fishos are likely to get. None of the governments or their agencies are the least bit interested in investing the amount of money required for a full education program.
    It is apparent from this thread that many are not necessarily 'up with the times' and understanding of the latest regs for your local areas. Brochures are just that, shiny pieces of information that just give a glimpse and not necessarily are correct 'in law' either.

Now I can not answer for FNQ fishing under the GBRMP but before the new MBMP zonings and the latest regs on Coral Reef Fin Fish and Other Tidal Species size and bag limits came out I was straight onto each website, downloaded a copy and then spent many hours trying to decipher them.

If you have a computer and internet then there is simply no excuse with not being up to date. It is mostly just laziness or apathy on the individual's part.

If you have a problem with the understanding of the regs, then I suggest you post a question here on Ausfish regarding that. I am currently doing that with identifying Jewfish/Mulloway in another thread because I have exhausted my avenues of info.(even after speaking with DPI directly)

I also believe that when someone errs the wrong side of what we 'personally' expect or 'do' then don't bag and degrade them, help in the 'education' of the said person. If you can quote the regs or paste a link so much the better because it eliminates the 'personal' from fact. As has been stated, we are probably all guilty of 'not playing the rules' etc etc in all facets of life.
    Yes I know it is hard at times and I may even have a little too zealous at times as we are all passionate of what we have but many of us have tried to keep it real and factual.

Bag limits, size, in-possession, immediate consumption and all of the other catch phrases are in the regs, you just have to dig for them.

Shane

Size and bag limits:-

http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/dp...2_ENA_HTML.htm

Skin, fillet and pectoral fin removal

In relation to coral reef finfish, a recreational fisher:
    • must not possess, on board a boat, a fish other than in any of the following forms-whole, gilled, gutted or filleted
    • may possess, on board a boat, a fillet of a fish other than a blue spotted coral trout (Chinese footballer) trout as long as the length of the fillet is at least 40 cm, and the skin and scales of the fillet are attached to the fillet
    • must not return fish to a boat that have been taken ashore from a boat and filleted, unless the length of the fillet is at least 40 cm and skin of the fillet is attached to the fillet
    • must not possess a dead coral reef fin fish unless a pectoral fin has been removed from the fish
    or
    • must not possess a live coral reef fin fish unless the person or fisher intends to immediately return the fish to the sea or to dsiplay the fish in an aquarium.
    In relation to fin fish (other than coral reef fin fish) a recreational fisher must not:
    • remove the skin from a fish on a boat until the fish is brought to shore
    • bring a fish ashore and remove its skin and return the fish to the boat
    • divide a fish into portions other than in a way that allows an inspector to easily count the number of fish possessed by the fisher
    • possess a dead Spanish mackerel unless a pectoral fin has been removed from the fish.

Attachment C: Filleting of coral reef fish at sea

Users

Category Coral reef fin fish Blue spot trout Commercial RQ licence holder All fish must be kept whole, live or gutted and gilled unless the holder has a filleting permit. Must be kept whole, live or gutted and gilled unless the holder has a filleting permit allowing the filleting of this species. Restricted Fish must be kept whole or gutted and gilled. However a fish may be filleted if the fillet is >40cm. The entire skin unscaled must remain on the fillet. Must be kept whole or gutted and gilled. Recreational Fish must be kept whole or gutted and gilled. However a fish may be filleted if the fillet is >40cm. The entire skin unscaled must remain on the fillet. Must be kept whole or gutted and gilled. Charter boats < 48hrs Fish must be kept whole or gutted and gilled. However a fish may be filleted if the fillet is >40cm. The entire skin unscaled must remain on the fillet. Must be kept whole or gutted and gilled. > 48hrs (extended trip) Fish may be filleted. However each fish (2 fillets) must be packaged and labels individually. The entire skin unscaled must remain on the fillet. Must be kept whole or gutted and gilled.

and here is the Regulation covering our waters.

It's a nice little 552 page read.

Read it carefully, there will be questions soon ???

http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LE.../FisherR08.pdf

Now , where were we ????

phill

Some more info:-

150 Extended number for regulated coral reef fin fish

(1) Subsections (3) to (5) prescribe the number (the extended
    number) of regulated coral reef fin fish that may be—

(a) taken, during an extended licensed charter fishing trip,
    by a recreational fisher who is on a boat and taking part
    in the trip; and

(b) possessed by the fisher.

(2) However, subsections (3) to (5) apply only if the trip is
    conducted for a continuous period of at least 72 hours.

(3) Subject to subsections (4) and (5), the extended number of
    regulated coral reef fin fish of a particular species or a group
    of species is twice the regulated number of the fish for the
    species or group.

(4) If the trip is conducted for a continuous period of more than
    72 hours and less than 168 hours, the extended number of
    regulated coral reef fin fish of all species or groups of species
    is a total of 40 fish.

(5) If the trip is conducted for a continuous period of more than
    than 168 hours, the extended number of regulated coral reef
    fin fish of all species or groups of species is a total of 60 fish.

MORE:-

171 Recreational fisher possessing fin fish for bait

(1) This section applies if a fin fish is regulated by form or
    number.

(2) A recreational fisher may possess 1 fin fish that the fisher has
    processed or is processing to use as bait for recreational
    fishing.

(3) However, if the fish is spanish mackerel or a regulated coral
    reef fin fish, the fisher must ensure the pectoral fin of the fish
    has been removed.

and:-

170 Person possessing fish in regulated form for immediate
    consumption

A person may possess a fish in a regulated form if the person
    possesses the fish in that form for immediate consumption.

What this means is, if Fisheries take you to task, quote Fisheries Regulation 2008 item 170 " for fish for immediate consumption ", and item 171 " for regulated fish for bait ".

Haven't found the " regulated " age limit yet.

Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 05-04-2009 at 03:39 PM.

Best I can come with:-

Division 1 Regulated persons

32. Regulated persons for pt 4

Any person is a regulated person.

Phill.

Iwasn't going to post anything but the more I read of ur posts the more I realise how rude, arrogent and inconsiderate u really are, its not just the legal aspects of what u have done, Its more the moral aspects, u complain about rules regs and bag limits but the truth is we wouldn't need such harsh limits if people took from the ocean in moderation in the first place! Every action has a reaction, u have thrown back 3 dead fish thats 3 fish that will not reproduce, it may not seam like much but ur breaking the chain! So look after wat we have now and we can reap the rewards in th future, If not we will all be fising on a little patch of lifeless ocean surrounded by green zones. Or worse yet surrounded by lifeless green zones! The choice is up 2 us!!!

I think daves coped enough, if anything the reaction to his post shows how passionate most fisho's are about there fishery and the regulations governing them.
    If only the EPA's of this world would listen to us the same ...