Hervey Bay jacks

Thread: Hervey Bay jacks

Hervey Bay jacks

Its been pretty slow up here, but Ive finally found a honey hole. Heres a cupla 44s that took butterflied herring. Both caught in the daytime too, hmmm. They had 3 big brothers that busted me off and got away, so we will be back there soon. Gee they fight harder near heavy snags.

The creeks off the Burrum and Mary rivers are just riddled with sandbars. Its lotsa fun going out at evening and marking them with gps, and coming home at night in strange waters. Down on the goldy canals, you could always see something from a streetlight or pontoon light. These creeks are just pitch black, so youre flying by intruments only. The Burrums not surveyed either, so nobody but the locals know where the rocks are.....no red and green markers round here mate. Then the spotlight dies....

Still no barra or thready yet, but at least Ive got something on the board.

Re: Hervey Bay jacks

Decent fish there Andrew, well done. Love the colour in that second picture.

Tom

Nice stuff gecko. Might get up there before the season ends yet. Always good to find new spots mate.
    Cheers. Keith

Nice one Andrew, better get together soon, like this arvo about 3pm

Great stuff Andrew, I am yet to find a jack in the burrum and congrats on yours.

Give me a bell over Easter if you wanna go chase threadies at River heads.

Roydsy
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

good fish well done

Hey mate,, Looks like good fun..Glad to see you are getting some hook-ups..My father in law lives up at harvey bay..Lots of new water for you it sounds like.Coming home late must be some fun..Good on ya mate...

Bluebeard

Quote Originally Posted by the gecko View Post
    The Burrums not surveyed either, so nobody but the locals know where the rocks are.....
    When I lived at Childers for a year I found lots of those rock bars I never got any Jacks like that from them. Just lots of prop dings

Pleased your enjoying our backyard gecko.Today and tomorrow look pretty good.
    Paulo

Nice im yet to nail a decent Jack!~! well done mate!

nice jack man

good jacks there andrew

Sam

Nice work there Andrew
    I am sure you will pull those big fish soon enough.
    Nice to see they are still around

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

the jack yoda strikes again nice pair
    figjam :wink:

Roydsy, I’ll take you up on that. Not sure when Im free over easter, but I’ll pm ya mate.

Bluebeard, one of my old jack students, I haven’t heard from you for ages. Are you chasing bass now instead of jacks? I’ll never forget watching you break your cherry with a 52cm jack.

Setthehook, theyre in any of those little creeks between bundy and 1770 if you wanna target em. Maybe we should do a trade…..I’ll take you on a jack hunt, if you take me hunting pelagics…….Im only an hour away from bundy.

CV, nothing here that would interest you mate, better stay put, lol. This creeks not big enough for the two of us.