Agree with Ronnie.. would expect him to be helpful. Most likely he hasnt seen emails.
Mindi probably one of these:
http://www.biasboating.com.au/c-53-i...ion-ports.aspx
Sorry Mindi, same as those in FNQ's link.
I open them up when we it goes into the shed. Shine the tourch around inside and see if there is any water laying there and dry up as much as possible.
These will save your timber floor for years. It's down the trick on ours. We've got about 4 in our boat.
Pazz
I was talking to a dealer today and questioned them on the type of ply that formosa use. He informed me that they were using imported ply up until 2 years ago but changed to a locally supplied ply due to quality issues with the imported ply
Geez guys
I don't want to get out of sorts for this but ----------With all this talk to other dealers about Formosa don't you think it would be a better idea if someone actually talked to Duncan and got the real facts from him. This is getting me abit cheesed as i can only praise those guys for the excellent work and service they provided when we ordered our boat. It didn't matter what we asked there was always an answer and a good result-- Our boat is testimony to the care and effort they put in for us.
Please phone Duncan -- I will even give you his number if that will help.
Ronnie
Mate have a thought of using Celuka will depend on how far apart your frames are but 12mm would cover it. It is great stuff. Most large ply places will have it.
FISHING FISHING AND MORE FISHING. IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE TO DO?
PVC Celuka Foam Board
Is an ideal material to replace some timbers, Celuka board has a 0.3mm external skin over a solid foam core and is extremely light weight, water resistant, has low thermal conductivity and is widely used in the graphics and building industry. Sheets are available in 10-25mm thick in white and black but may be painted to match internal/external colour schemes.
The smooth, silk gloss finish is ideal for printing and photographic mounting and is very workable. Applications include advertising/display signage, interior fit outs to caravan, boats, partitioning, bulletin boards and cool rooms.
FISHING FISHING AND MORE FISHING. IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE TO DO?
I had the same thing happen with my Stessco, after 1 month I noticed the floor felt a bit soft and flexing more than it should so I lifted it and found lots of rot with big fungal growths on it.
I went back to the dealer and to his credit he got on to Stessco and they authorised it's reaplacement by a marine fit out shop and picked up all the costs, very good service I thought.
When the guy pulled it up it wasn't sealed, but this isn't unusual as some do this to prevent warping. But he put in some hardwood ply and sealed the whole lot, haven't seen any issues in the last 2.5 years.
You'd have rocks in your head to use marine ply, the only difference is usually the marine grade stuff has a "good face" with no knots, splits etc. Exterior and CD have the same glue.
Hope you get it sorted out, it seems fairly common I remember another guy on here stating he had an issue with his Brooker floor.
Crooked, marine ply can be very different to standard CD ply. Though the marine ply you get from the likes of bunnings will be no different other than a thin maple veneer over the pine to give 2 dressed sides. Generally a decent quality marine ply is maple, but you can also get it made from cedar and even spotted gum, though you do have to look hard for it.
Other than the types of timber, everything else is the same, the H2 treatment (termite treatment) right down to the methods and glue used to bond the sheets.
CD Ply will always have one good side and as long as it is properly sealed and fixed solid to the stringers, it will not warp and last a very long time.
Any amount of moisture that penetrates the timber will eventually cause rot, no matter what the quality of timber, or make of boat. Once the moisture gets in and the rot starts then there's no stopping it going right through the panel.
OK lets lok at some plywood facts.
both marine ply and CD ply are "A" bond resourcenol bonded material, all ply rated as exteriour will be "A" bond. same glue
CD ply has a good face and a bad face, unfilled voids are permisable in the rear or bad face and in the intermediate plies, filled voids are permitted in the good face, some brands the good face voids will simply be bogged the better brands the voids will be punched and patched.
there are two standards for marine ply we see.
Australina standard marine ply should have at least a "B" grade face with no voids and no voids thruout the material.
most of the luan ( meranti) ( hardwood exterior) asian ply is british standard marine and may have "some voids" usulay cracks in the intermediate plies but none on the faces.....a lot of people look down on this stuff, but I have seen it left out in the eliments for over 12 months with little more than bleaching and raising of the grain.....it will rot with standing moisture.
Now regardles of the type of ply, if it remains moist and unsealed it will rot and somtimes very quickly......the pine bassed plies may rot very redily because of the possiblity of the starch and sugar content.
In many cases ply will fail and delaminate, due to failure in the timber and not in the Adhesive
I have a real problem with carpet over plywood floors exposed to water/ moisture even when sealed.
Oil will provide very poor protection against moisture and little or no protection against mould unless it has some sort of inhibiter in it
if you are going to replace your floor make sure it is well sealed bothe sides and double on the end grain.
then seriously consider removable mats.
the last floor that came out of my boat, came out as a delaminating mess the last few trips with a dustpan.....previous owned failed to seal the floor properly.
Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.
I spoke to a dealer today about the ply used in the formosa boats. He informed me that formosa were using an imported ply but changed about 2 yesars ago to a local supplier because of quality issues with the imported ply.
Disorderly quote : Isnt part of the reason Formosa's are affordable is they have the cheaper option of a ply floor...??
To lay this to rest whoever the dealer was you spoke to has his information totally wrong. We have spoken with Duncan and he gets his ply from the same place now as he did ten years ago but the quality now is of higher grade.
I would like to see this problem solved for the bloke who started this thread and everyone get the right story so I think at this stage the best option is to consult with Formosa and have it resolved.
Ronnie
Or was doing what dealers do best and lying about the competition... bet he wasnt a Formosa dealer. Dont bother asking why I am a cynic..just read the thread....the dealer is inviting the enquirer to believe that they had a problem and had to change supply...and by implication thats why the guy's floor has rotted. They just cant help themselves....given Duncan's reply to Ronnie this supply story can only have come out of his imagination.
Ronnie there must be some reason why the owner wont contact Duncan so give up on it I would reckon..? Maybe there is more to the story than we are seeing.
For the record I dont own a Formosa but have seen the operation and met Duncan and rate both highly.