Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Keeping fish cold in the Esky

Re: Keeping fish cold in the Esky

Thats what I do Pazz as thats what I feel is best for the flesh.

Scott, I think that you can taste the difference in the fillet if you do not gut them especially if you are doing an over nighter.

Like I said , I only normally keep Trout but with more ''meatier'' fleshes like Nannis, Red Emps, Reef Jack , Snapper ect I feel that they would benefit even more as like ScottNorthQLD and the ex Pro Snapper fisherman said straight into an ice bath is somewhat ''Snap Cooling'' the fish and they stay alive for a very short while sending blood out of the flesh into the organs.

I guess an opposing critic could say that you dont want to stress the fish in any way , and that cutting the throat is the quickest way to ensure no acid build up ect.

Who knows, I just do what tastes best on the plate!

Good luck on Friday Disordely. I hope you put some away. I think I will get Holly to have a day off work and we might hit the reef aswell. Got my sounder fixed today so back in action!

Nick

scott,
    good luck to you & hope you get onto them!
    mate asked if i wanted to go chase fingers tomorrow night but the $ are a little low, prob wont go until easter. taking the family down to groper creek for 3 days!

you know you have to do a report dont you,LOL.

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

Quote Originally Posted by nickstock View Post

Scott, I think that you can taste the difference in the fillet if you do not gut them especially if you are doing an over nighter.

Nick
    Nick do you really think that if I cooked up 2 fillets of trout you could tell that one fillet had come off a trout that had been gutted ??

Good luck to you as well...I was down the beach at lunchtime and the water was sweet...no swell and just a 5 knot breeze.

cheers Ron..nothing wrong with a bit of creek fishing...I'll do a report if i catch something...lol

Does anyone brain spike their fish, some people swear by it. A charter boat skipper also said that if you stack the fish upright they keep much better, havn't tested it out yet.

[quote=disorderly;994602]Nick do you really think that if I cooked up 2 fillets of trout you could tell that one fillet had come off a trout that had been gutted ??[Quote=disorderly:994602]

If one had it's throat cut and left in a slurry over night compared to one that was prepared the way I wrote in the other post, then yes I think anyone could taste the difference.

With a fish like a reef Jack or Snapper then you could also see the difference in the fillet the next day.

i use 20l square tubs to make my ice, i take 2 of these blocks out for the fish esky, sometimes i make a slurry and other times i dont, these blocks will last me 4-5 trips...the food esky i get the crap ice from the servo, 2-3 bags, have always cut the throat on the fish then gut them when the boys have time...and i still think Coral Trout is very overrated

Quote Originally Posted by trymyluck View Post
    Does anyone brain spike their fish, some people swear by it. A charter boat skipper also said that if you stack the fish upright they keep much better, havn't tested it out yet.
    the big dollar chasing (special order stuff) snapper pro's brain spike and place the fish into an ice slurry upside down straight away

go the blue or black ice cream containers from the ice cream shop leave them whole or you can smash them with the priest or pull them out of the brine and let it drip for a while and put in your drink

with the blocks as mentioned you have to be careful of bruising and a couple of buckets of salt water helps stop this

cheers Murf