0419 020697
Call sign..............ReBait
6.2 mtr
white alloy centre cab
PS620Q
0419 020697
Some items for consideration for the overnighters (last year we stayed out for 3 days):Probably need other stuff, too, but get over it, I'm drunk as a fish.
A little gas burner, the $20 camping type that run off aerosol type butane cans and a frypan.
A designated dirty bucket for those necessary "movements"
A good supply of seasick tablets, even the strong stomach people fall for it out there as there's absolutely no light on the horizon unless the moon is up.
A decent first aid kit, you are a long way from help.
Plastic jerry cans, don't underestimate your fuel use out there as you move from spot to spot.
Think about what food you are going to take out with you, what preparation it is going to need and how you can store it until you need it.
Sort out your basic tackle with your crew, if there is to be a number of you on the boat for a couple of days then it starts to get a bit tight on stowage room. Gets a bit hard if all want to bring their big tackle boxes and 2 or 3 rods.
Sort your bedding, despite best efforts everyone will need sleep or they will break, being on your feet out there for long periods does tire you out.
2 good strong torches or spotlights in case you have to come back in over the bar in the dark, no time for the driver to be mucking around you will need one of your crew shining a light out each side to safely align between the rocks and the sand bar.
- Darren
CARNELPYA
NK350Q VMR No703
1982 BERTRAM 35 Flybridge. White /blue trimmings
NEWBY
Havin said all that Tim, I am already a member of VMR up here so dont bother getting me a number mate. Enough problems remembering logons and passwords etc. Dont add anothe number to my very confused brain space mate.
I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
NEWBY T.G.
I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
NEWBY T.G.
I know some of you guys are going to have trouble comprehending this, but we don't take much out with us.You forgot PI$$ bean. Lots of PI$$ cause its a bloody long way back to port if ya run out and Chongy charges too much to bring you a spare bottle out.
Soft drink and plenty of bottled water but not much piss.
For us that's mainly a shore based activity which we enjoy when the weather is crap.
- Darren
NEWBY T.G.
Bait update:
Squid - After recovering from fainting on being told that we need 140kg of squid, the trawl guy said he will do what he can but has suffered some damage and will have his boat on the slip for a month. He will keep all he gets, but can not guarantee 140kgs. So we can either do it one of a couple of ways - those that ordered first get their squid first and if there is not enough, then those at the end of the list miss out OR we do a prorata thing, where if I end up with say 70kgs, then everyone gets half their order. Up to you!
Alternatively, I can source it from other trawlers but the price they want could be $3.5-$5/kgs. What do you want to do?
Mullet - no problems there. Still $3/kg. Do those that want this please confirm their order.
I think pro rata's fine, but don't accept any more orders! I still want full weight, so if it costs a bit more, it's still cheap enough.
Can I get 10 kg of the mullet? They are whole, aren't they?
We'd be picking up on the way through on Friday 11th, or do we need to pick up sooner?
Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.
I'm with you Darren,
( not the 4am rising.... although I was up at 4.30am yesterday to go painting down Tweed Heads ).... but in regard to no piss.
My deckies can take a couple of cleansing ales, but for any trip out on my boat where I am skipper, I do not take grog. Without sounding toooo " stringent ", as skipper I am responsible for the safety of my boat, my crew and myself.
I do have another rule, no beer until the first fish is in the esky... that is a " day trip " rule.![]()
Steve,
I think your suggestion of a pro-rata system is fine. Just do the best you can and we will all accept that.
Please let all that have ordered bait know when it is in and we can send some $'s your way asap.
NEWBY,
I have been hearing that your fishing prowess has improved recently. What I haven't heard is all the taunting and bravado about how you're going to kick butt with bucket loads of red fish ????
I am going to lay it on the line right here and now.![]()
Carnelpya Vs ReBait.
Biggest Coral Trout.
A bottle of single barrel is up for grabs !!!
Rules:-
1. Weather permitting
2. Coral Trout or Islander Trout are acceptable
3. Must be caught within the dates of the M & G
4. A photo showing measure is acceptable
5. Measure from lips to fork
Let me know if ya up for this challenge ?????![]()
How many sleeps ???????
FYI >>>>>>>>>>
.>>< ><> ><> ><>
All this talk of overnighters and I still only have my little centre console, can't you bigger boat owners talk of something elseor perhaps find a vacncy for two
![]()
Steve I'm with the majority on bait, so do what ever.![]()
As far as drinking grogg on my boat, or any boat for that, it takes me too long to make sure my gut's are going to stay in place as it is without alcohol![]()
Not that I will be out wide with you lot, but
ALLYCRAFT 4.75 C/C White
500000N
Will probably use RT as call sign?
AAAANNNNND
GO THE BLUES![]()
Rob T![]()
Rob, on a good day, you will get out wide.....
Tranter, for a start mate stop complaining and buy a bigger boat. Bloody Blues supporters just can't see the simple solution, just want to complain.
I'm same on the tub. As Skipper, I am 100% responsible for the twits who are silly enough to come with me, and I can't do my job with grog in me. You can have a few, but if you get pissed you're going over the side!
I might have a gold or two, but that'll be it. Possible exception could be if a bunch of boats are tied together at Fitzroy...
61 sleeps I reckon. TOO DAMN LONG! Bruce and I (well, mostly Bruce) did the bearings today and greased up the brakes. I am soooo ready!!!
Anyone watch the MIGHTY CROWS last night??? W00T!!!
![]()
![]()
![]()
PHIL, What a REDICULOUSLY STUPID, RED NECK, RUM INDUCED question to ask.
"Let me know if ya up for this challenge"
How could I possibly resist a challenge from you like that???
You bet your arse I am in. 1 thing here though, my fishing prowess has not improved lately at all, in fact its the fish who are now deciding to play ball. I have always been a brilliant fisherman.
A little competition variation or however....
1) Pic to be taken of Trout on Brag Mat and varified by other fisherpersons on that boat (notice the political corectness of the term "fisherpersons". I did this just to show you all that I can be if I choose to be but never choose that option)
2) I am happy to include the mighty RED EMPEROR if you wish with the proviso that both boats actually land one of legal size.
You do realise that your cutting into my trolling time here Phil. Bottom buncing is too easy. Happy to extend the challenge to you for Pelagics if you have the BALLS mate.Its amazing what a FREE bottle of single barrel will do to influence my decisions.
Now onto the drinking thing. ANYONE who has ever been on my tub will vouch for the fact that I DO NOT DRINK when at sea. When in the safety of a sheltered lagoon or similar, YES I let the hair down and have a few. OK OK a lot then. And to add to that, any boat that was hooked up to Carnelpya last year, best not throw rocks when living in glass houses.
60![]()
to go
NEWBY T.G.
Your implication is that all attendees will be "people" as opposed to bottom dwelling mud suckers, bush turkeys, and so on. I contend that this is quite definitely NOT so.
I present as my irrefutable, undeniable and perhaps even bleeding obvious evidence, the fact that bottom dwelling mud suckers and bush turkeys (otherwise known as New South Welshmen) will be attending said Meet & Greet.
To class such creatures as "people" is a deeply disturbing precedent. As a punishment, your Human Rights should be roundly violated.
Thus, to come to my agonizingly slow and perhaps only slightly amusing conclusion, you should use the word "Anglers". Any other word is simply not the catchall you desire.
Kind Regards,