Thought you might like to see thi seabreeze chart for central coast guys. This has been the weather pattern forthe last 5 weeks. AWSOME to say the least and unusual. Hope it keeps up for us like this.
I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
NEWBY T.G.
It had better keep up more of the same for our week there, or else !!!!!
Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.
All I have to say is
"damn it damn it damn it............."
Don't worry Chris, we'll send pics by mobile as soon as the piscatoral predators hit the deck.....![]()
.><> ><> >>]]]]}}}:>
14 sleeps to go![]()
![]()
Who's excited !
Seems numbers are a bit down from previous years
It must be the GFC........
Global Fishing Crisis![]()
My crystle ball suggests perfect weather for the week![]()
![]()
![]()
Phill !
Where is the cook off this year, where is the official weigh-in station ?
After 2 years of trying, again my mission is to land a leagal REDMaybe it's a 3rd time lucky thing.
Either way Tranter has a bottle of QLDs finest for me, that we can enjoy together!
Damo
PS: NSW suck !![]()
Numbers only down by a couple......
Cook-Off to be decided once we are there..... maybe at ' Verandahs ". ??
Day to be decided as some folks will not be there until late Saturday night or Sunday. Might make it a night that is followed by high winds. !
No official weigh-in station has been decided, but there will be a set of scales under ' Sunlover " as per last year. So I suppose that is it.
13 sleeps for me......![]()
![]()
phill
><> ><> >><> {.:.} <><< <>< <><
There are people staying at Sunlover. Sunlover's BBQ is known, reliable, and, well, not at Verandahs.
Therefore the cookoff should be at Sunlovers. In the interest of consistency, of course!
Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.
Why is cookoff not at Sundowner????
I have a set of 50kg scales on the boat as well that are brand new.
Cant wait to try out the new Lowrance HDS system. Trials today woohoo.
So accurate I will be able to tell you age sex and species without zoomI mey even be able to tell you the damn things name....
"oh look here, theres a male red on the screen...looks about 3 years old and, wait, oh thats robbie the red"![]()
![]()
Should be able to tell you if theyare legal size I reckoon....
Righto, mate has cancelled......So I will be able to accommodate a few serious anglers over the week. anyone who wants to come out are welcome....first in best dressed...private message me and I will sort it out...cant take more than 2 at a time and keep it comfy and there are a set of absolutely must follow rules that will save your life that. EG If you talk to me about cars/work while I am out on the boat I will drown you where we fish....So no work and you survive....
I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
NEWBY T.G.
Just to make things clear about the RULES, I have put them in writing for any budding deckie that may wish to join me on Carnelpya for a visit over the meet and greet. NON NEGOTIABLE....
NEWBY T.G.
G'day all,
A cut and paste of a great post by Reefmaster.
- Darren
For a good majority of offshore fishermen catching a big Red is the most prized reef fish to have under your belt and an ambition that many will go to great lengths in hope of seeing that red glow rising from the depths. Most think that Red Emperor are the hardest reef fish to capture and that they require extra special attention when it comes to tackle, rigs and bait selection but the truth to matter is that they would honestly be one of the easiest fish to catch. What makes Red Emperor hard to get in the esky is their elusive nature and trying to locate them is enough to drive even the most experienced offshore fisherman crazy. Most fishermen look shocked when I tell them that Red Emperor are complete scavengers and will just about eat anything presented in anyway or form. However there are techniques, which can be applied to better your results and give that advantage of pulling the bigger reds, which could be on offer.
Rigs:
Slowly overtime the popular paternoster rig has been replaced by the floating style rig for it’s ability to present baits in a more natural way has improved catches and quality on particular species. Both rigs have their place for offshore fishing and basically it all comes down to presenting bait’s in the correct way to suit the species of fish you desire to catch. Red Emperor are a bottom feeder and in some cases could be mistaking on sounder as a small bombie showing that these fish roam the ocean and feed very close to the sea floor. It’s for this reason why the Paternoster rig is the most successful rig for targeting Red Emperor as it has the ability to present and hold a bait in the strike zone at all times. Holding baits close to bottom is the most important part of red fishing hence why a paternoster rig out performs a floating style rig but in saying this I have caught a lot of Reds on floating style rigs but the importance in doing this is to use greater weights to get the bait to the bottom and then hold it there. This rig really is no longer a floating rig but more so a floating style rig with a large amount of lead which can be lowered at a fast speed and able to hold baits on the bottom in the strike zone. The only problem with using a floating style rig is making sure that the bait sits on the bottom and this can become a problem in strong currents and windy days but in good conditions a heavy floating style rig will work equally as good as a paternoster but if you have any doubts whether the bait is on the bottom at all times then use a paternoster rig.
For a paternoster rig the leader material is an important choice as a hard fighting Red will soon show any weak links among the rig and by keeping the rig strong and simple you will have no worries at landing these prized fish. Generally leader material around 60-100lb will do the job fine while using mono main line around the 50lb and upwards and leader material of 80-150lb if you choose to use braided main line. I use 80lb Schneider for leader material as it has great abrasion resistance and seems to be super strong with knots not affecting the strength. Most lines over 100-120lb don’t tie easily and seem to weaken considerably so don’t be scared to use crimps on really heavy leader as this will not put the Reds off feeding. I keep my paternoster rig about 1.5m in length from swivel to sinker and only use one dropper loop of about 10-20cm long. The reason I only use one dropper loop is to avoid two big reds hooking up at once and possibly snapping between loop sets or worse snapping on the top dropper loop knot and loosing both fish. You may say hooking two at once and only raising one doesn’t sound all that bad but when you have driven hundreds of km’s and put in hours upon hours searching only to loose one red which puts all the other reds off in minutes you soon learn that single dropper loop paternosters are a much better idea. Suitable hooks can either be ganged or single but personally I prefer to use ganged hooks to take advantage of the extra hook points whilst using large baits. As a minimum try to use hooks around 6/0 and upwards but personally I use 7/0 and 8/0’s as a minimum while using flesh baits or smaller whole baits but for the large dead baits around 25-35cm I use 10/0 to 12/0’s. The brand of hook is personal choice but I do prefer ganging 7/0-8/0 in the mustard all-round 7766’s as these hooks are thick gauge and reasonably short in length which means you can usually run an extra hook in the bait. For the bigger hooks I run a three ganged VMC in 10/0 or 12/0 but once again it’s personal choice and as long as the hooks are strong and sharp there won’t be an issue. When using large whole fish baits and the hook size is increased you may need to run heavier drag pressures so that the hooks can be set into the reds mouth and for this reason I use a very solid short stroker rod with 80lb Schneider as both my main line and leader line. I’m yet to break this line on any fish and even sharks seem to be no match so I’m able to run big drag pressures and pull those hooks out of the large whole bait and penetrate strongly into the reds mouth. For flesh baits and smaller whole baits then I use 50-55 lb in Schneider or Low Stretch Platypus with 80lb as leader. The use of single hooks and in particular circle hooks works well also but running big whole baits with one hook is really not ideal but more suited to flesh baits. Big circle hooks on deck winches are ideal for reds and even using thinner gauged circle hooks on regular tackle with flesh baits will also work great. If you wish to use single hooks like mustard big guns then it’s better to run two hooks on the paternoster loop and to achieve this you can slide one hook up the loop and hold in position with some plastic tubing/shrink wrap whilst tying or looping the end hook onto the dropper loop. You can even attach the two hooks together with a short length of crimped wire and then loop or tie these onto the end of the dropper loop. This makes the rig super strong with the benefit of having chemically sharpened hooks for better penetration into the fish’s mouth. Don’t think the wire will put the reds off because it won’t make a difference. When attaching the hooks to the dropper loop I like to tie my hooks on using a half locked blood knot instead of just looping the dropper loop over the hook. By tying the hooks on it eliminates the line pinching and breaking on the end of the hook eye where it meets the shank and also gives it double the strength so the fish’s mouth won’t rub through.
Bait:
As I have already said Red Emperor aren’t fussy in what they eat but offering baits in certain sizes can increase your chance of landing the bigger fish. Mullet fillets would be a favorite among most Red fishermen and by using normal sized strips of mullet whilst trying to locate some reds you also have a good chance of picking up other species until you find them. It’s when you locate some reds that you can start using whole mullet fillets to attract the bigger fish but even reds around legal size will eat these large flesh baits so this is when big whole dead baits come into their own. Butter flying large dead baits also is a great option but this also gives the smaller fish a chance to chew the flesh to bits. If your getting nice legal sized reds or even under sized reds then by putting on large dead baits around the 25-35cm mark you will eliminate catching those smaller fish and soon find if any big Reds are close by. Whole mullet, Tailor, Yakkas, Hussar, Parrot are all good whole baits for Reds but I do prefer using fish with a soft area between the eye and mouth area so that hook can pull easily out and sink quickly into the Reds mouth when striking. Hook position in the bait is extremely important to ensure that a solid connection is made and don’t be afraid to have hooks almost fully exposed out of the bait as it will not worry the Reds and ensure a quick solid hook up. When using big baits it may take some time for the red to swallow the bait properly so let them chew on it for 10 seconds or so before striking hard otherwise they will spit the bait very quickly. To sum it up if you use heavy tackle, large baits with hooks in a position to easily pull out and the ability to hold that bait on the bottom at all times then the chance of pulling a large Red Emperor has increased dramatically.
![]()
![]()
![]()
Gees bean.
Woulda been quicker to just say "2 hook 80lb peternosta with 8.0 tuna circles loaded with a cocktail of squid, pillies and hussar wings. Reds and Trout cant resist em"
Oh and as little lead/weight as the conditions will allow.
MULLET PAH.....Heavy weights...PAH.....Wait 10 secs...PAH....
NEWBY T.G.
Hi All,
Have been working very hard and am looking extremely forward to this trip and catching up with you all.
I AM WORTHY!